80 Reviews and Replies for XOOM Energy

XOOM Energy Logo
DC PSC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.98
Order Experience 2.09
Customer Service 1.85
Billing Quality 1.85
Likely to recommend? 1.63

Washington DC Energy Ratings Score:

( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of XOOM Energy
XOOM Energy is a retail energy provider that offers electricity and natural gas service in select states. Service areas include California, Ohio, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Rhode Island, Texas, Virginia, Washington D.C., Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and New York.

Horrible Website. Constantly "Broken"

(1 / 5)

  Really amateur website, constantly unable to respond.

Lori
July 15th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Xoom energy is great!

(5 / 5)

  Im so happy to see my bills lower. I never knew about we shop around until someone contacted me and over this last year my bills have been lower than ever. And the customer service has been good too bc I had one minor problem I made while signing up and they fixed it immediately- thought I'd include.

Alicia
April 15th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambushed With High Rates Without Notice

(1.8 / 5)

  I was on Auto Bill. My contract expired. Didn't notice. Finally after 5 months I logged onto my account, just to find XOOM had more than doubled my therm rate. I called to see if they would backdate my charges to what I was originally paying. I was basically told tough luck and to suck it up. They had the right to change my rate WITHOUT notice. Of course I did not renew.

WDF
April 1st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GREAT SERVICE!!!

(5 / 5)

  Xoom energy is awesome! My rate is great and Ive seen long term savings over the last 12 months! Will for sure use this service again!

Cole
March 15th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STRESS FREE

(5 / 5)

  I have over 15 accounts as a family for the past 3 years now. I like how simple it is to get service with xoom & how easy it is to get a hold of customer service for whatever reason, unlike other companies. OVERALL my bills are decent & there is NO hidden FEES. Pay attention to your BILL! Sometimes going the "CHEAP" route becomes an EXPENSIVE route in the long term.

XOOM
March 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst

(1 / 5)

  The least transparent company Ive eve worked with. They charge you fees and claim they had no idea about it, but also claim lowest rates. When you call to ask about it the manager has no care and says they have no idea of the different rates the theirs parties cost. How do the managers not know what the third parties cost of the company they work for?

Dont do it
February 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worse just like infinite

(1 / 5)

  Theses gas companies are criminals they offer you low rate and once they get you in and you pay regularly they increase the thermal rates and accuse you of over usage when my usage has not change they said because it's cold but I have space heater that are electric. And we don't really use much heat got natured.

Jean Hereford
February 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy Customer

(4.6 / 5)

  Ive been with Xoom for 5 years now and havent had any issues at all. My bill has always been what I expected it to be and the customer service is great for the most part. They arent perfect but compared to the other companies Ive used theyve been the best.

Julie
January 25th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service never initiated and no follow up

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for a 12 month plan in September. Received confirmation of my order along with notice could take up to 60days to turn over. Followed up and was informed AGL did not take action to turn on Xoom service. Customer service offered I re enroll now at a much higher rate. No assistance or attempt by Xoom to resolve. Cannot recommend this gas service provider---the obviously have systemic issues within CSR department in aquiring new customers. Do not select this company for your gas service!!

Customer Service failed to turn on service
January 12th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Diastrous!!!!

(1.2 / 5)

  You will be duped into signing up with low wattage rates, BEWARE!!! That will be temporary! In a few months, BAM!!! Your light bill will shock you beyond belief. I have 1 month left in my contract and I will be running for my life. If your are looking for a new provider, keep looking. Do not sign up, don't even think about it! Just RUN...

Horrific Light Bill!
January 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dissatisfied customer

(1 / 5)

  Xoom Energy double charged me two months in a row n basically blamed me for the outdated website that they have. I had to wait 10 business days to get a refund, never had a late payment n when I called got worst customer service ever...Do not sign up with them the only way they make money is to take money out of ur acct when ur bill has already been paid. They dont give a dayum bout their customers. I switched providers to get better service n tried to get them to waive the $150 cancellation fee but of course they said no because I switched providers but why would I continue to stay with an electric company that steals from me. 2 unauthorized charges got a check sent out for the one in Nov 2020 n waiting on my refund for double payment for Dec 2020 of course it has to be a check, theyre prolly stealing from someone else to pay me....AGAIN...DO NOT USE their service....

Dissatisfied customer
January 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Improper Disconnect While in Covid Quarantine

(1 / 5)

  I'm a single father of two girls who always pays bills on time. Xoom emailed me a bill on December 3rd which went to my spam folder, so I was behind by $67.54. They disconnected me on December 30th with no notice. After they disconnected, I received two identical bills in the mail showing a past due balance of $67.54. I explained to Xoom that they disconnected with no notice, and during a time when my children and I were in isolation because they were exposed to Covid by another family member. Xoom asked me to prove the covid isolation and I emailed 6 documents from my pediatrician office and the DPH. Xoom said these were insufficient and even after speaking with the president of customer service, they refused to reverse their mistake. Beware--they have no regard for human safety or customer service.

Jonathan R
December 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEVER use this company

(1.2 / 5)

  I found out in June that xoom had processing error with my automatic payments. it added up to 6 months payments while i was getting email confirmations that payments processed. my total eventually added up to over $2200 once i finally get a cancellation bill in the mail. I told the company i understand i owe the money and i'd make a payment plan, the company forced me to pay 50% even though it wasnt my issue it wasnt processed, and also put a lock on my account from transferring to another electricity company. after i paid the 50% they put the remaining balance into 6 installments. today (10/20) I called the company which had another system error that showed my balance to be a $1234 credit. If i didnt call to clear this up, it would have gone towards my bill and eventually it would have added up to me owing another significant amount of money. Im extremely frustrated and wanted to report the less than par business practices. after I cleared up my balance to my "real" balance i paid off the remainder and changed to a different company. EXTREMELY FRUSTRATED i had to do all of this just to pay my electricity bill. I also reported this to BBB and posting it everywhere I can.

Spencer
October 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer Beware

(1 / 5)

  I enrolled on-line 09/08/2020 but then changed my mind and immediately canceled both by phone through Xoom's customer service 800# and also on-line, within 15 minutes from enrolling. The customer service rep stated that I must pay the $100 termination fee, even though no service had ever been provided and would not commence until 09/24/2020 if I did decide to use them as my supplier.

Gail
September 9th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(2 / 5)

  I understand people have to pay bills even during hardships but good luck trying to work anything out with this horrible company! We are in the middle of dealing with a pandemic and layoffs, so I called to get a payment arrangement on my bill. They offered me nothing! Just an extra week to pay the whole bill or get disconnected. Then when I review the bill there is over $100 in EXTRA fees. $10 twice for a disconnect notice but I only received one. Late charges twice. No slack at all for things we have no control over. Hell even dropping the $100 in extra stuff would make it easier to pay the bill considering I have paid my bill for over 18 months and am in good standing with the company. My bill steadily increases from $280 to $480 every month but I was duped into signing a 24 month contract "for a better rate"! Horrible company with no care for their customers. Definitely would not recommend. Not even a pandemic will stop them from getting their money on time.

Christy
August 21st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away!!

(1 / 5)

  From one month to the next my bill doubled. Sorry....nothing we can do. I have been with them for years and obviously something was read wrong. All the summer months are comparable to last year until now and nobody seems to think that is a problem. I was told to call someone else but I pay them so why should I. Not going to stick around anymore. Another lost customer.

Dont do it
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Could not answer basic questions

(1.4 / 5)

  I tried to sign up with XOOM energy for natural gas in Georgia. I could not even get what should be simple questions answered from their customer service. I am glad I had questions during the signup. If I had to deal with their customer service after signing up I would have been sorry I switched.

GAGAS
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No happy at all they Charge to much

(1 / 5)

  I was with zoom for 6 years and was happy but now my bill is $110 for electricity and $74,09 just for delivery and I dont recommend this company anymore and never want to pay lots money go with zoom

Over charge
August 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever, i regret going to this company. The price is high and no system, I cancelled My account with them, every week they keep on sending bills. That is crazy. 0 will be a score for them

Grace
July 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Initial rate is good then gotcha at renewal

(2.2 / 5)

  First, their website is not very user friendly. The initial 12 month price was the lowest so I signed up at $.39 per therm. At renewal, they offered $0.34 per therm online, but informed me that was for only new customers. The lowest they could offer an existing customer with an excellent repayment history was $0.46 per therm so I moved to Infinite at $0.37 per therm.

Jimmy
July 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions