48 Reviews and Replies for Verde Energy

Verde Energy Logo
DC PSC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.73
Order Experience 1.94
Customer Service 2.08
Billing Quality 1.79
Likely to recommend? 1.77

Washington DC Energy Ratings Score:

( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Verde Energy
Verde Energy is a retail electricity provider that offers service in Connecticut, Illinois, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

So Far So Good

(5 / 5)

  I was looking for green energy and the rates were good. I haven't had any issues with billing or customer service.

Anonymous
July 30th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verde Energy Just Slammed Me - Signed Me UP Without My Permission

(1 / 5)

  I just got a letter saying that I was now a Verde Customer. I didn't have a clue who they were or how I got switched. I have filed a complaint with the regulators.

David Baraff
July 17th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

POOR COMPANY, AVOID LIKE A HOT STICK IN YOUR EYE

(1 / 5)

  They offered a $50.00 debit card, but refused to send saying they received our request a day after the offer ended, but we had sent it out 2 months before. How convenient for them. We will be changing suppliers and telling everyone to AVOID!!!

TS
June 30th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

confirmed email that enrollment confirmation but they DID NOT process

(1 / 5)

  I received an receipt email from Verde last July that my enrollment was processed.
I assumed everything went thru and did not recheck until a few weeks ago. Verde was not on my bill!! I called them. They said there was some issue so it was never processed. I have changed suppliers many times in the past and never had an issue. I TOLD THEM THEY SHOULD HAVE SENT ME AN EMAIL THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE. So, I payed a higher cost for all those months. I have learned a lesson... YOU CAN'T TRUST THEM!

Pat
June 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good move!

(3.8 / 5)

  Ok

Sam's change of supplier.
March 9th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Huge Rip off.

(1 / 5)

  I was charged in December 465.00. supply charge in January the supply charge went up to 765.00. This was not for usage just as third party supplier. It was for a beach house which had no one staying at it during these months and all electric turned off

Eugenia Hosbach
January 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Did not even know

(1.8 / 5)

  Apparently I started this service April of 2019 only to be screwed over after June 2019. I have been charged upwards of $130 a month. This company is useless what is it you do. Why screw the little guy over, it's a Pandemic!? Furious I wish I could give negatives

Plus note customer service was very helpful considering I was irate that was 10star customer service. The company could learn from them.

Robert
December 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Doubles and Up again

(2.6 / 5)

  Watch out for this company. As soon as your promo rate expires BAM they cut deep to get as much meat as they legally can. My rate DOUBLED and within 30 days it went up even more. I switched as fast as I can to lock in a 18 month rate under 7 cents. These good folks were going to charge upwards of 14.

Cuts Deep
December 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never got my $50 Promo offer.

(1 / 5)

  Verde never sent my $50 Promo offer so I switched service. Rates were HIGHER than PSE&G rates. Now Verde says since I switched, I no longer am eligible for $50 Promo. Promo says I get $50 after first month of service with copy of my bill. I honored this agreement but VERDE doesn't. BEWARE!

Sad George.
November 2nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Account

(3.2 / 5)

  I tried to create an online account and was unable to do so.

Larry Herren
August 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammy Communication

(1.8 / 5)

  The contract for my energy account expired and my account converted to month-to-month. Fine. I understand. Verde Energy sent me a notice that my variable rate was increasing. Again fine. However, the letter says "Effective no sooner than 30 days from the date of this letter." The letter was dated July 8. The envelope was dated July 8 - not by the USPS, but rather from their own Pitney Bowes postage meter. .043 - first class mail. I received the letter August 6. It's obvious that the company created the letter, "postmarked the envelope," and then purposefully delayed mailing it until the last possible moment where it would arrive just one business day before the rate increase. Also, nowhere in the letter, signature, letterhead, etc., is the phone number printed. NOWHERE. They deliberately delayed notification and excluded the phone number to make it difficult to contact them in a timely manner. Super scam-y. I cancelled my service and will discourage anyone from using their services.

Sarah in PA
August 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love Verde Energy

(4.6 / 5)

  I really like Verde, But in April 2020 , Someone switched me to another company, when I received the notice, I call and told the representative in Florida that I like my company Verde and I never gave permission to switch me. I said we are in Quarantine who came to my house? The the lady said it was over the phone. So I said I want the recored conversation. Today is May 28 2020 . Still waiting. But Im going back to Verde Energy. Thank You for your service

Mati
May 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$50.00 FINE TO CHANGE RATE WITHIN ONE YEAR

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a customer for years. I call every few months to see what the current rates are. I have never had a problem changing the rate per kilowatt hour if the rate was more favorable. Today I called to check on the latest rate. I was told that I would be charged a $50.00 fee if I changed because I changed in September 2019. I have never been charged anything for changing at any time, even within the year. I have searched all the literature, and I cannot find a word about this. At a time people are out of work because of the corona virus, Verde is conning its customers.

Con Job
March 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Most unethical company

(1 / 5)

  This company calls u repeatedly to sign with them. Then when contract is up claims they sent 2 notices but never calls u when they receive no response. Who wouldnt respond if they actually got the correspondence. then they put u on a so call variable rate which takes u to 18 cents When energy products r down they justify a rate increase of over double of what u where paying. This is the most unethical company I have ever dealt with. Do not deal with these scammers.

Margaret Stauffer
March 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verde Slammed me and grossly over charged me

(1.2 / 5)

  I never authorized Verde Energy to be my gas supplier. They doubled my rates, without me knowing and Im out about $450.00. They sent me a $25 gift card. Are you serious? 2 days after discovering this, the Philadelphia Inquirer ran a story how PA is fining them nearly 9 million dollars.

Jeff Hassinger
February 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Are Liars

(1 / 5)

  I was suppose to receive money back a month after signing up and did not. When I finally take action about it they tell me I was not put on the account to get the rebate back so tell me why the hell you have random people knocking at my door telling me the wrong information. He probably kept it for himself. The the agent tells me I can't get it and I had her cancely account. I called back to speak with someone higher up. And got put with an agent she then tells me the other agent should have offered a 50 dollar gift card but now that the account is canceled they can't do anything, then says I couldn't sign up for another account because they don't service in Ohio. They are liars n I would double check your bills and plans. Customer agents rude...Thank u for taking all my money dumb Fucks!

Bee
January 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just switched, but the first month was favorable.

(5 / 5)

  Substantial savings over my previous provider. Living on a fixed income I need to save where I can. Thank you.

Rebecca Etter
November 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scama Verde

(1 / 5)

  Telemarketer called me to tell me I was entitled to a $100 rebate due to a recent overage charge from my current provider. Long story short, the rebate is no more than a piece of bait to get customers to switch to them. From what I have researched they are not a very reliable and trustworthy energy company.

Mr. Schep
October 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total liars on the phone call

(1 / 5)

  Received a call from a sales rep that I could barely understand. He went through the switch options and constantly had to get his manager on the phone. I must have asked him 10 times if he worked for PSE&G my normal gas and electric company and he continually said "yes". After continuing and answering their questions I was at the same time checking them out on the internet. Did not like what I saw so I told them that I was not interested in their service and was going to hang up the phone. They tried to stop me but I said, no thank you and good-by. A few weeks later I receive 2 Welcome to the Verde Energy Family letters thanking me for signing up with Verde Energy...HUH??!?!?#?#??! I played along with them on the phone originally because I could tell that I was being scammed by a slick rep that thought he was smarter than me...uhhh sorry buddy but I just told your company that you should be fired. So they are cancelling everything but told me if I do receive any charges because of course they already requested the necessary changes from PSE&G that they would reimburse me with a gift card to cover the cost. Really!?!? How about you just make sure that I don't get charged in any way. At least they want to make good on that but will believe it when I see it. Do yourself a favor and don't take the call. I will say that their customer service rep was good and then I spoke with another person that said she would follow up with me next week about the cancellations so apparently they do take that seriously. But they might want to actually train their sales reps to be honest when answering a prospective customer's questions. After reading more reviews about their bait and switch tactics, I am glad that I am smart enough to have investigated them online while on the call. Good riddance to them and their sales rep or what I would more accurately call a lying SOB.

Slick reps
October 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible providser

(1 / 5)

  harrasing phone calls - 2 to 6 calls a day

disgruntled in Pennsylvania
September 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions