Thorough and Helpful!

(4.2 / 5)

  I just spoke with BB in customer service and she was so helpful. My mother in law passed away recently and I was making sure her account continued to stay paid until the property was sold. BB walked me through all of the areas making sure that everything was updated including e-mail, phone notifications, etc. I probably would not have remembered to update all of the information. It was so helpful for her to prompt me on each of the areas. Thank you BB and thank you Spark Energy!

Sheri
February 25th, 2019

Please accept our condolences on the passing of your mother. We are glad to hear that BB assisted you with ensuring everything is in order as we can understand it is a difficult situation.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric supplier

(4 / 5)

  I went on line to find another delivery company for my electricity. Sparks was the cheapest so I enrolled for 6 months. Its ridiculous that my electrical use is cheaper than my delivery charge

Sharon Gazdzicki
December 15th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you found our rates to be the lowest. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to servicing your electric needs.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Customer Service Orientated.

(4.2 / 5)

  Have been using Spark's services for many years now and have always found them a good value, costing much less than Clearview and other power I have purchased in other locations. Rates go up now and again, but that's no surprise as long as rates are still lower than competing power suppliers. I have been so impressed with Spark's customer service over the past few years that I looked for somewhere to say thank you. Health issues have made it difficult to keep my bill paid on time far too often. No excuse for not paying on time, yet a reason for having difficulties. I always call feeling awful and somehow they make me feel better before I hangup! Kudos!

Brianna
March 8th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying our lower rates for several years. We aim to keep our customers happy and look forward to doing so for many more years to come.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.2 / 5)

  I've been with Spark Energy for 8 years and have been very satisfied. Not big on the auto pay, but I never missed a payment. Price is mid-range and I've had good experiences with customer service.

Dave
September 13th, 2014

We are so happy to hear that you are not only satisfied with the Spark Energy service but that you are also a valued customer with tenure. Thank you for entrusting us with your supplier needs. We look forward to many years of continued business with you.

Spark Energy Responds November 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rate Change/Billing Issue Resolved

(4.4 / 5)

  I've been with SPARK for 8 years. After our latest 1 year contract expired, our rate went from 8.9 cents per kilowatt to 12.69 cents per kilowatt in March. I experienced a $300 bill instead of a $205 bill which is a big difference. We were not aware of this rate change for three months because we were not notified. I called customer service in June and renewed it for another year at 9.1 cents per kilowatt. New customers get a $75 gift card and I asked for it. I was countered with a $25 credit. Also, they did send us an email on February 27 and we must have missed it or thought it was spam. When all is said and done, I am almost completely satisfied. The customer service rep did an excellent job on her end when I called. However, I suggest the following to SPARK ENERGY: 1) Post a customer's contract ending date and rate change on our online account because it is easy to do and can be automated. 2) Offer the same specials to your core customers (existing) for renewing as you would for a new customer.

Jack Gamble
June 28th, 2013

We want you to know that we appreciate your comment and always welcome feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how were doing and what you feel we should work on.

Spark Energy Responds July 26th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased with the experience

(4.8 / 5)

  Have good website, billing, and email communication... and saved a lot of money compared to my previous provider. Never had any issues. Don't know what it's like to call them, because I've never had a need to do so. I'm going to try another provider for a lower rate now that my contract is up, but I'll return if my experience doesn't match up to Spark.

Daniel
March 25th, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the renewal plans available for your area. We are always happy to hear from all of our customers.

Spark Energy Responds May 17th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

never had a problem

(4.1 / 5)

  i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since

gerg
March 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

never had a problem

(4.1 / 5)

  i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since

gerg
March 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been Good to me

(4.8 / 5)

  Been with Spark since about 2007. No horror
stories, no weird billing/meter issues. This
seems like it should be a given, but it's not
these days.

Competitive rates, also enjoy the credit card
auto pay - not everybody has that, you know.
If you simply read and understand the
difference between fixed and variable rate,
are a person of average intelligence, etc., you
should have no issues with Spark sign up and
service.

The one time i needed an email response for a
question, I got a satisfactory answer in a day
or 2. It seems they really cared.

Been a happy camper. My only concern is that I
think Spark's Residential service may be coming
to a close for my Zip code (website only
returns Commercial service hits now on my Zip).
Hence I may need to find another provider that
can give me *everything* Spark has given for
the past years. Hard to do...

One Co. might have good rates but no credit
card auto pay. Another has cc auto pay but
consumer horror stories... and so it goes.

Greg
October 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Simple, Cheap, No Problems

(4.3 / 5)

  I've had Spark a couple years over the past
several and I like them very well. Their plans
were easy to understand, competitively priced, and
they had competent customer service, not that I
needed much. Their website has improved since the
last time I used them and they got auto-billing
set up right away.

MYOB
September 17th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Consistant Excellent Service

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been with Spark Energy for a long time. I don't even know how long. But they have worked with me on billing and I have even had an single individual work with me via email several times over email. Always very responsive and very helpful.

I am currently comparing prices now that my contract is to expire with them on 10/13/11. I have noticed now that they are way down on the list on "Power to Choose" because they are higher than a significant amount of other copmanies. In the past they have always been consitently at the top because they had the lowest prices. I am disappointed that I will be leaving them. :( Who knows...I might regret it later and wish I had stayed with them.

Nina
September 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Convinent but not the best price

(4.1 / 5)

  No issues for 2 years. They charged my credit card once a month and sent me email statements about my bill. The web site was also well done and provided me all of the information that I needed. I would continue using them but they no longer have the best price.

blb
September 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not sure if I should keep them

(4 / 5)

  I have had spark for 2 years. I noticed if I renew that I have to pay $8.99 a month when I use less than 1000 kw. This would be 9 months out of the year. Why should I be penalized when I don't hog electricity and keep my house freezing, etc. Not sure who to switch to since I had no problem with their billing or service.

Anonymous
August 5th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

spark energy

(4.4 / 5)

  Spark energy is a good electricity company!

Anonymous
June 15th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service - check prices

(4.2 / 5)

  I've had two separate contracts with Spark and find they deliver what they contract to. Never a bad billing, but you must deal online and by credit card, unless you have an occasional question via phone. Don't believe the price hype on how low they are without comparing. I quit them once and am about to do so again.

Larry Lineberger
June 8th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company and great rates

(4.5 / 5)

  One thing I have liked about this company is that they value their customers. They provide a lower rate to their current customers. WOW what a concept.

Kyle A.
April 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solid Energy Company

(4.3 / 5)

  Solid way to save some money. Easy to sign up, no early termination fee.
Pretty good overall.

George
April 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shopping for Energy

(4 / 5)

  I came on here to look at reviews from real people about different energy companies. I have been with Spark for over a year. I've never had a problem with them, their service, or billing and they sent me a notice to renew my contract with them recently at an even better rate. I am moving into a new home and wanted to weigh all my options before going with Spark again. I would stay with them, but they have recently added a $8.99 monthly service charge if you don't use 1000kwh that month. I looked at last year's bill and I only go over that amount in the 2 hottest summer months. They said the other companies are charging this too, but I have yet to find it true. A few charge a $5 or $6 fee if you don't go over 500kwh, but not $9 for staying under 1000. I'm still on the fence because Spark does have good customer service and I've never had a problem until this little extra fee popped up. I don't think we should be punished for using LESS energy.

Energy Shopper
April 11th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Haven't had problems

(4.3 / 5)

  Can't say i've had any problems with spark... my
bill is about 10% cheaper now that i've switched
after deregulation

John Armstrong
March 6th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliable

(4.4 / 5)

  I switched to Spark and have begun my third contract. They are competitive but like many there pricing does not guarantee renewal. I will buy from another Company if it is 10% better.

Deregulation screwed consumers in Texas.

Peter J Sawyer
February 21st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Was Never a Problem

(4 / 5)

  Although we have not had Spark Energy for the past 2 years because we switched provider with a lower rate. We were with them for 2 yrs. prior and never had a problem with receiving billing statements via mail at the time and the bill was paid via auto-pay. Switching to Spark Energy was not a problem either. We were very pleased with them when we parted. I would recommend Spark Energy, my son is still with them, and I referred him 4 years ago! Everyone, including businesses are prone to hardships in this economy. *A note to Spark Energy, there are way too many thumbs down for your company regarding customer service and billing departments. 1st impressions are everything. The "reception" I first receive when I call any office with a problem or question will define whether or not to continue doing business. Make the changes that are needed to give the customers the courtesy and professionalism that is expected and win back past customers and help to retain the one's you already have!

bamm
February 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

(4.7 / 5)

  Never had a problem with Spark for the past 3 years. Switch was easy. Billing/payments are automatic and easy to set-up. Never have needed to contact customer service.

G in Houston
November 12th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy

(4.4 / 5)

  I have has Spark Energy for two years with no complaints. Easy billing process and the best rates with no promotions or gimmicks. I would recommend Spark Energy to my friends. Easy renewal process and I used a promo code to save even more.

Jim Simon
October 29th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service and website

(4.6 / 5)

  I used Spark Energy for 2 years, recently changing
to another provider for a lower cost. I have
regretted my decision. I received excellent
customer service and never had any problems with
Spark. I wish that I would have renewed my
contract with Spark.

M. Dover
August 9th, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the rate plans available for your area when your current provider's contract nears the end.

Spark Energy Responds September 28th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.6 / 5)

  I have had Spark for over 3 years and love them. Great rate, easy auto pay and courteous customer service. I am paying 9.9 pkwh!!!!
Spark kicks ass.

Sharon Philips
July 28th, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Spark Energy Responds August 24th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good experience for a first time customer

(4 / 5)

  We are nearing the end of our first 12 months with Spark. The rates were good and we have had no issues with billing. The website is easy to navigate.

Paul
January 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Jim Simon

(4 / 5)

  Have had no problems. Easy access to my account.
Prices are very comparable.

Jim simon
September 11th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions