Good two years

(3.8 / 5)

  I signed a contract with Spark and was satisfied. They elected not to offer power in my area so we parted ways. I signed up with them because they were one of the last companies not to charge a monthly fee but they've joined in the collusion now. They even refunded a charge for the short time I was with them after the contract expired and the switch to someone else occurred.

RA
May 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The "Spark" is Gone

(3.2 / 5)

  Concur with earlier poster about the changes Spark has made. Have been a totally satisfied customer since 2007 using the totally paperless internet plan . They had reasonable rates and no additional fee if you didn't use "enough" electricity.

That has all changed - now rates are higher than other companies and they change a whopping $8.95 if you use less than 1000kw/month.

Can't see any reason to stay with just another greedy provider.

krancmm
November 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased customer

(3.6 / 5)

  I never ran into problems with this company. Cancellation went smoothly (I moved to a location where they did not service). I don't have any complaints.

Jisel
September 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Time to move on...

(3 / 5)

  I have been with Spark since 2007. Flat rate, no minimum monthly fee. Then they started with the monthly $5.00 fee and I shopped around. Golly gee, everyone jumped on that bandwagon. Then they went to $8.99. That combined with the meter reading charge is around $13.00 of my current bill.

You have to watch your email VERY carefully to find a notification that your contract is set to expire.If you get one at all. Yes, I should put it on my calendar but I don't. Miss it and you automatically go to a variable month to month plan - and not one that is advertised on line - but to one that is like "You forgot to re-sign so we're charging you a 150% rate, Sucker" - and you don't realize it until you get that next bill that's already like 20 days into the NEXT cycle. Ouch.

I have found it very annoying that Spark will quote a better rate if you go into them blank. Better rates than what they offer you directly to continue service with them. This time around the rates are about 13% higher and they do NOT meet competitors prices or even try to offer an incentive to keep you. So guess what? I'm tired of shopping with my same company after 4+ years and am shopping others. I'm tired of doing this every few months. But it looks like I must because loyalty is no longer a factor in these greedy tards minds.

I have always been on their autopay plans and generally have no complaints about their service reps. Its all about the MONEY. Sound familiar, Spark? It works both ways.

I will change providers every 3 months if need be. There's plenty of 'em to go around.

Uncle Joey
May 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Think twice before you buy

(3 / 5)

  I had service from this company for about a
year and everything was good up until 2 months
ago. Since then, I have cancelled their service
and gone with another company. It started out
great with my bill being about $40 for my first
month (I'm in an apartment). I was paying about
9.8 cents per kwh, which is good. Well 2 months
ago they knocked the rate up to 14 cents per
kwh with no explanation when asked for one. The
following month they knocked it up further to
17.8 cents per kwh. After talking to someone on
the phone, it appears that I was on a variable
rate plan and if you are on that plan, your
rate can go up at any time for any reason at
all and they dont have to let you know it
either. I immediately cancelled them. Buyer
beware.

Jenna
October 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used to have best price, but not any more

(3.4 / 5)

  I've had Spark Energy for the past few years, and have no complaints. I have no idea what their customer service is like because I never had a problem that required contacting them. IMHO, the best customer service is doing the job right the first time, so the customer doesn't need service.

Having said all that, I've decided to switch this year. When I first signed up for Spark, their prices were at the low end of the spectrum, but now they're in the middle of the pack. To add insult to injury, they offered to renew my contract at a "special reduced rate" higher than what they're offering new customers.

I put together a spreadsheet and ran the numbers, and I should save about $200 over the course of the year by switching to another provider

John
June 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sad to have to leave

(3 / 5)

  I have had a very good experience with Spark for several years, but noted that when my 12 month period was up (and they did notify me by email) that there was a new monthly service fee of $10 plus they had instituted the graded system. I have a pretty efficient house and rarely go over 1,000Kwh/mo. so will be penalized by higher rates/Kwh for trying to conserve energy. Too bad. Will have to look elsewhere. MR

Mart Rich
May 4th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great but for billing

(3.3 / 5)

  About to complete my second 12 mo. term with Spark. I'm on the avg.
billing and email statements/charges have been like clockwork.
However, online access to statements mysteriously stopped 6/10. I
have however kept the download copy of the statement for my records.
No bill for 12/10 has been sent by email either (charge to CC occurs
the 8th of the following month). Phone contact was of no help and I've
now sent an email inquiring as to my billing status. I'm tempted to
change next month however ratings are better for this company than
those other companies which I would consider. FYI, online information
before signing up showed avg. billing availability. When I requested
same I was told that it wasn't possible though contract terms said
otherwise after three months. After pointing this out I was magically
able to avg. bill. If this is a good company I don't know that I want to
see a bad one. Never had issues with TXU, except for cost.

Teasip
January 9th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problem so far

(3.8 / 5)

  I lived in a house and have used Sparks
for 1 year. The account set up was a bit
messed up at first, but I was able to
cancel the duplicated account eventually.
There has not been a problem as far as
billing is concerned. I have set up
automatic pay and so far my electricity
bill has been around $60 for winter, and
no more than $130 during summer.

Sophia
November 23rd, 2010

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any issues while enrolling. If there are any other issues, please contact us - https://www.sparkenergy.com/Customer-Service Otherwise, we appreciate the feedback!

Spark Energy Responds February 28th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good service, good price

(3.1 / 5)

  I have been with them for 2 years with no problems

Robert
August 7th, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Spark Energy Responds August 24th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What happened to the low rate?

(3.7 / 5)

  Spark is fine, has a fully functioning website (ie account details, history etc.), accepts AX, had the lowest rate for a company I thought would remain in business, but when second contract with them came for renewal they where significantly higher than competition, so had to bail.

Anonymous
January 10th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Review

(2.9 / 5)

  Everything seemed satisfactory. The prices were OK when we started, but later they were no longer competitive so we switched.

Matt
May 23rd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions