Problems Galore from the Beginning

(2.6 / 5)

  We've been with Spark from the beginning and we have had numerous problems. For the first few years it was always administrative related...wrong address, wrong billing amount, etc. Now our problem is our contract expired the end of December and we did not renew on time. So they took our rate from 6.5cents to 16.9cents. When I called to renew for 24 months and complain about the bill, they refused to make a reasonable adjustment. They offered a $75 credit on a $565 bill. We cancelled our service.

Martha Walker
January 24th, 2019

Hello Ms. Walker. We hate that you had a negative experience with Spark Energy. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can take a look into your account and see how we can assist you.

Spark Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lost my deposit

(2.6 / 5)

  These guys lost my deposit. I was told there would be a $300 deposit when I signed up so I paid it...A year later I moved and had service disconnected and according yo them I never paif a deposit but electricity was turned on anyway...please. The deposit was payed out of a direct deposit card that doesn't generate statements but I can access activities online. Luckily I still have the account and it shows sparks debit for the deposit but according to spark I must fax a statement.....I guess small claims court iy is.
.

Ronnie Tucker
September 21st, 2018

Hello Mr. Tucker. We apologize for your experience and would like to assist you with your account issues. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so we can review? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 3rd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disfunctional company

(2.4 / 5)

  Despite agreed upon electricity pricing they charged me more than twice the agreed number. Multiple calls, every time a different person with a different story. Horrible!

Ara pat
January 17th, 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you have encountered. We'd like to review your account to see how we can improve. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information and more details?

Spark Energy Responds January 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service only talkable point

(2.6 / 5)

  The energy service provided were honestly not up to standards. Billing was confusing not to mention their non-existent Plans and Promotions.
The only professional aspect was their customer service, they were very understanding and acknowledging although that is no excuse for their other shortcomings.
Would not recommend as a first-choice but they aren't not the worse.

Christina Consiglio
January 10th, 2017

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. We hope that your issues were addressed. If they have not been, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

save your time and money

(2 / 5)

  i'm all about supporting new smaller businesses but i don't think data information is managed well here. i don't think i've had so many issues with a provider since i've been on my own.
issues since jul 2015, we are in dec 2015 as i type this out:
1. since i joined in july i was promised a 25 credit after 90 days and each time i call after this time frame, they say, i promise, the next invoice you will see it. this is with every rep i talk to. my neighbor who referred me can't get her 25 either. we still have not rec'd the credit.
2. 1st billing i got, there was a charge for underusage when clearly i was just switched over and had a shorter statement cycle - why would i be penalized? they waived it but for it to appear automatically tells me the customer setup/billing system sucks if they blanket apply to all statements regardless of when a new customer was switched over.
3. i've received messages from their IT system about how their system was down and/or there were billing errors
4. after point 2 above, i've received 2 additional statements with billing errors: one in conjunction with the above point 3 IT system issue (per rep) where they charged me a late fee when i'm on autopay? and another where they gave me a credit (not the 25) and then took it back.

save your time and money folks. they are too much of a hassle to deal with considering all the phone calls you have to make. i don't know where the issue is? the reps are nice enough and they put in the notes and all but it appears to be a system issue? i don't know. i'm tired of making notes about who i speak to and when and what they say. ridiculous.

jason h.
December 21st, 2015

I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and assist in the best way possible. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds February 2nd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service vs Customers Serve Us

(2.8 / 5)

  Requesting that all my billing and communications be on line through e-mail, Spark alerted me to the expiration of my term fixed contract through snail mail and it went unnoticed until months later of them overcharging me by $50 per month.

G Wilhelm
November 11th, 2013

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the renewal notification. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.

Spark Energy Responds November 20th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

"Buyer Be Ware"

(2.1 / 5)

  Spark Energy jacked-up my rate 53% after
original 9 month term expired. Rate went from
9.5/kwh to 14.5/kwh plus Sparks added
additional fees and charges. At time of
expiration average 1 month terms were 10.3/kwh.

I would have understood a slight increase to
current month-to-month or variable rates, but
Sparks didn't do that. I was billed at the
14.5/kwh plus extra fees for over 4 months
until I recently changed to another supplier at
8.99/kwh + PUC tax, 12 month term, with NO
ADDITIONAL Fees or Charges. I had no billing
surprises with the new supplier.

Shame on me for not seeing the end of term
notice Spark Energy sent me. I feel Spark
Energy took advantage of my mistake.

Bottom line, Buyer Be Ware when dealing
with Spark Energy.

Don
June 21st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

(2.1 / 5)

  THEY ARE PRETTY DECENT BUT CUSTOMER SERVICE SUXS !!! I WAS TRYNA GET IN TOUCH WITH SOMEONE AND NEVER GOT AN ANSWER JUST DANG MACHINES AND THAT MADE ME MAD !

MAD
May 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My wallet and my feelings were hurt.

(2.6 / 5)

  My complaint with Spark is that when my contract
expired, they didn't notify before or after so i
could renew at a favorable rate and therefore my
rate skyrocketed for several months before i
noticed. They should have notified me. Because of
this I will be leaving them after my next contract
expires. My wallet and my feelings were hurt.

Gordon Greenleaf
March 27th, 2011

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We do send 2 emails and have a link listed on your online account within the last 60 days of your contract. We do apologize that our notifications may not have reached you. Please let us know what else we can do at customercare(at)sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds April 14th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Jacked Up Price

(2.4 / 5)

  My contract expired and they made no reasonable effort to inform me that my rate would go through the roof if I didn't renew. Despite receiving emailed statements from them every month, they never put it on their bills. The only way to find out was to log into THEIR website and download a pdf file where it was written in very small print. I was paying 11 cents per kilowatt hour, the day it expired they jacked it up to over 16 cents per kilowatt hour, almost doubling my electric bill. After calling customer service, they were unwilling to make any adjustment even if I renewed my contract... so good bye. Very unethical business practices and no loyalty to their customers. Will also be filing a BBB complaint.

Gerald Skiles
March 4th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bills have never been higher

(2.4 / 5)

  I changed from reliant so I could lock in a lower rate. I have changed to all energy saving appliances, have solar screens, tinted windows, new shutters and blinds and my bills have never been higher. I complained once. They re-read my meter and my bill dropped over $500 the next month and then went right back up. I am not sure they even check the meters. It is the middle of winter and I don't use my air and my bill has not gone down at all! Can't wait to change.

Katy Content
February 25th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My experience with Spark

(2.6 / 5)

  I was a loyal customer with Spark for 5 plus years and my contract expired. Instead of charging my the month to month rate or any reason rate they charged me 5 cent above the going market rate.

Anonymous
September 10th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched to MTM Rate > any advertised

(2.5 / 5)

  My fault, but didn't realize when the 2 month promotional rate expired they would charge considerably higher on the MTM than anything they had listed at PowerToChoose. Req'd paperless billing and autopay and the monthly email doesn't state usage and current rate, just net due and due date. I was neglectful and didn't sign on to the website to see my full statement w/the exorbitant rate.
Was generally happier w/GEXA and am now giving Kinetic a try.

Anonymous
July 3rd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions