Should have stayed with Reliant

(1.4 / 5)

  Had spark about 2 months. I'm about a week late on one payment and they disconnected my electricity! This ridiculous s*** never happened with Reliant and I'm definitely switching back. Run far from Spark Energy cause they don't care about you or your family.

Charlette
March 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you are considering switching away from Spark Energy. We'd like to assure you that we do care about our customers and we do provide a disconnection notice with 10 additional days to make a payment after the initial due date. If you were disconnected prior to the disconnection date on the notice, we would definitely like to investigate. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disfunctional company

(2.4 / 5)

  Despite agreed upon electricity pricing they charged me more than twice the agreed number. Multiple calls, every time a different person with a different story. Horrible!

Ara pat
January 17th, 2018

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the issues you have encountered. We'd like to review your account to see how we can improve. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information and more details?

Spark Energy Responds January 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric supplier

(4 / 5)

  I went on line to find another delivery company for my electricity. Sparks was the cheapest so I enrolled for 6 months. Its ridiculous that my electrical use is cheaper than my delivery charge

Sharon Gazdzicki
December 15th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you found our rates to be the lowest. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to servicing your electric needs.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to lower mmy rate

(5 / 5)

  Switching to a lower rate was easy.

switching to a lower rate is easy
December 12th, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that your switch was easy and hope that our low rates will keep you as a satisfied customer for years to come.

Spark Energy Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over charged

(1 / 5)

  I made the wrong decision to use Spark Energy as my energy provider. This company had charged me in the term of two months the total of two one year or more. They did not send me a renewal agreement and just triple the rate in the plan. Then I tried to call them and find out why of the charge and they gave me a non-sense answer. In one month my bill went from $45.00 to $885.97, so please be careful with what energy provider you pick. This company its obviously not honest and just after stealing from its clients.

Over price-stealing to it's customer be aware of this company when looking for supplier.
October 10th, 2017

Good Afternoon, First, we would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in response to your review. Second, we would like the opportunity to review your account to investigate what transpired and follow up with you accordingly. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? We sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HUGE SCAM RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM SPARK

(1 / 5)

  I made the foolish mistake of answering a phone call from this company, they promised me a lower rate so I said ok and gave all my info. Fast forward one month and I don't get my normal bill of $150, I get a bill of $450. Immediately called my former provider here in pennsylvania PP&L. They looked into my bill and said I was given the low rate fir one day then SPARK tripled my rate. I immediately went back with PP&L and everything is getting back to normal.

Dee
October 6th, 2017

Good Afternoon Dee, Thank you for your review. We are so sorry it has taken us so long to reply. What you have described regarding your billing concerns is definitely alarming and we would like the opportunity to further investigate. Would you please email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark energy rips off customers

(1 / 5)

  I've been a customer of Spark Energy for 4 years. This kind of bad experience happened to me twice. Spark Energy automatically switched my plan to the most expensive one at the end of my long-term contract and charged me more than $800 in the last three months.

Recommend everyone to avoid this greedy company.

Xiaomin
August 27th, 2017

Good Afternoon Xiaomin, Thank you for your review as well as your long-standing loyalty with Spark Energy. I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your review. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we can investigate what took place in your account? We would like to follow up with you. Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE... AVOID THIS COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy has done everything in their power to price gouge me for the final month of billing. They charged me 3 times the amount I was previously paying. AND charged me MORE "fees" AFTER they had already agreed to a payment plan for their $562 dollar final bill. I cannot express enough how unethical this company is. Please read the reviews, be aware! This company is the worst company I have ever encountered.

Beware! Read the reviews! Educate yourselves!
April 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Customer Service Orientated.

(4.2 / 5)

  Have been using Spark's services for many years now and have always found them a good value, costing much less than Clearview and other power I have purchased in other locations. Rates go up now and again, but that's no surprise as long as rates are still lower than competing power suppliers. I have been so impressed with Spark's customer service over the past few years that I looked for somewhere to say thank you. Health issues have made it difficult to keep my bill paid on time far too often. No excuse for not paying on time, yet a reason for having difficulties. I always call feeling awful and somehow they make me feel better before I hangup! Kudos!

Brianna
March 8th, 2017

We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying our lower rates for several years. We aim to keep our customers happy and look forward to doing so for many more years to come.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service only talkable point

(2.6 / 5)

  The energy service provided were honestly not up to standards. Billing was confusing not to mention their non-existent Plans and Promotions.
The only professional aspect was their customer service, they were very understanding and acknowledging although that is no excuse for their other shortcomings.
Would not recommend as a first-choice but they aren't not the worse.

Christina Consiglio
January 10th, 2017

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. We hope that your issues were addressed. If they have not been, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account information.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!

(1 / 5)

  I changed to Spark Energy based on the promise of reduced cost and continuous service. I have received anything but a somewhat reduced cost!

Spark Energy appears to be a company (possibly operating out of a garage somewhere in Houston, TX) with an "Office of the CEO" Secretary running the company (her name is Jennifer Lewis).

I called Spark Energy in August 2016 to file a complaint regarding consistent Voice Mail messages my bill was due and I would loose Service if it wasn't paid on time. Please note, at the time I received this message it was over 106 degrees in Plano, TX at the time and as a 62 year old retiree I received this message creating severe Emotional Distress considering the implications of a lack of electrical service especially considering my bill had been paid as Due.

I attempted to call for a conversation with Spark Energy's CEO to discuss why my electronic payments from Bank of America (schedule and paid on the "Due Date" proscribed by Spark Energy) were not being applied to my Spark Energy account. I ended up at the desk of the "Supervisor, Office of the President" (Ms. Jennifer Lewis) of Spark Energy.

Jennifer, is obviously nothing more than an Executive Secretary, specifically indicated I would not be able to talk directly with the CEO of Spark Energy. What CEO refuses to talk with his / her Customers? I pushed for a conversation with the CEO of Spark Energy to no avail.

At this point, it wasn't about being charged for "Late Fees" of which were inappropriate based on the fact Bank of America had documented the fact my bill was indeed "paid by Bill Date", my disgust was based on the fact I believed Spark Energy was nothing more than a Scam (as perpetuated by Ms. Jennifer Lewis).

Spark Energy produces a billing with a fifteen (15) day "payment window". Spark Energy has in VERY SMALL PRINT on their Invoices a statement that you must pay your Invoice (proscribing payment 2 to 3 business days PRIOR to the "Due Date") to avoid "Late Charges". This allows the Consumer a total of approximately twelve (12) Business Days to pay their bill without being charged Late Charges, as I have now been charged, and amounts to as much as $9.32 / month eradicating ANY benefit of utilizing Spark Energy as a cost effective alternative!

This IS a SCAM! The CEO of Spark Energy refuses to take Customer Phone Calls (can you believe it), his "Watch Dog" (Jennifer Lewis) is nothing more than a Secretary, and the Company still remains charging customers for discounted energy rates of which are at least questionable!

I am interested in pursuing Spark Energy through a Class Action Lawsuit including Emotional Distress, unethical Business & Collection Practices and a variety of other issues. IF you are interested in adjoining with me please alert me related to your interest at PMorlan01@Yahoo.com.

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!
December 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service - Liar

(0 / 5)

  I have been using Spark Energy since 6/2015. On 9/2015, I referred a friend. Then I called Spark Energy for my $25 credit of referring a friend, they told me to wait after 3 months, to make sure that my friend would pay her bills for 3 months for me to get the credit. I said ok, but why you don't say anything about that waiting after 3 months anywhere on the website or in the letter you send me about my ID of referring a friend. After 3 months, I called them, they said they could not locate the referral, and asked me to asked my friend for their account number. Then I called them again this morning for the account number, a guy picked up the call and asked if at the time of the referral, if I sent my friend a link, and he said everything should have been done through the link and the referral would automatically applied. I told him I was the one that opened that account for her through online and put in my referral ID, and about the specific step of the link, I can't remember, and it would be too much for me and my friend to open her email to make sure that she received that link through her email. Then he said that was the only way. I asked my friend for me to check her email and it was an email of the link, and the email was read, it meant that I really used the link to open the account for her. Then I called Spark Energy again to tell the fact, and the lady ask me to have my friend with me to verify the account. Are you insane? How if my friend is living far away from me? Representatives of Spark Energy just provided different instructions and explanations every time I called them and avoided paying me my referral.
I would switch to another company whenever my contract ends and will never refer any friend to Spark Energy again.

J
March 7th, 2016

We are sorry to hear about your experience with getting your Refer a Friend Credit. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with you and your friend's account information so that we can review and assist you as soon as possible. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SUCH A SCAM

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy is horrible! They came to my door to sign up and talked about comparable rates and saving money this winter. My last 2 bills have been increased 4x. I paid $400 versus my neighbors on just Nicor variable rate of $100. That's .25/therm versus mine which was 1.25/therm. I have a large family and can't afford this type of bill. They are unwilling to help out in anyway other then sending me some "valuable coupons in my email" - WOW. THANKS!!! I have cancelled and filed reports with the ICC. Nicor has said they get complaints about them ALL THE TIME. Customer service sucks and of the 4 times we have talked to them so far never has anyone been understanding or have we been able to talk to a manager. Even if I signed up again they would not help out my high bill in anyway. I will do everything to let everyone know what a horrible company they are and to STAY AWAY. They shouldn't be able to sleep at night charging people this much! Not sure how they sleep at night.

Danielle Shannon
March 2nd, 2016

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We hope your account concerns were addressed in your escalation to the ICC. Please let us know if you have additional concerns by emailing our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a Spark customer for two years. I called to renew my plan. One of the choices is the Sure Saver 12, which claims you get a $60 monthly credit if your usage is above 999 kWh. The representative figured out what my bill would be on that program and it was quite a bit cheaper than the Price Protect Plan. Well, he put me on hold and when he got back on the line, he informed me that the $60 was INCLUDED in the price and there actually is NO CREDIT!!! In other words, it is a wash. Very deceitful practice, if you ask me. FALSE ADVERTISING!!!!

Linda Lutich
February 22nd, 2016

We apologize for any confusion. We would be more than happy to review your current product and products that we have available. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may assist you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE!!! DO NOT USE!!! BORDERLINE CRIMINAL!

(1 / 5)

  I am the kind of person who understands that bad moments happen. When I read review I always disregard the 5 stars and the 1 stars due to "bad moments". On this company please take into account the 1 star ratings and poor reviews because they are 10000% TRUE!!!!


I have had Spark energy for almost 2 years now. Had no issues with my main residence. When I went to add my daughters apartment as a secondary service location is when all hell broke loose.

For the first 6 months of a 6 month contract they never billed me. Called every couple of weeks asking for my invoice but the person on the phone argued that my account showed a zero balance. Must have called at least ten times. Finally i got a hold of someone that had a higher IQ than a cupcake and they went digging in the account to find that Centerpoint was billing them but they never billed me. The bills were astronomical for a small one bedroom apartment. I had to pay close to $1000 in bills. Then the delivery charges started hitting. I was being charged $200-300 just in delivery charges! Paid it all but was stuck in a contract. Then the bills went to normal. $60-80 a month so I just let it go hoping that it was finally done. Then I get December's bill. For 484 kwh the electricity portion of the bill was $20. They were also charging me $127 in delivery charges!! So out of a $216 electricity bill only $20 was actually for electricty!! Called in and was told once again that there was nothing they could do about it because Centerpoint charged them that. What s BS line!!!! Had them cancel service for my secondary service location effective immediately. As soon as my main residence contract is up in March I will be changing service providers then.

David Norman
January 4th, 2016

I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to review your account and make sure that everything is being properly billed. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further review and better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds February 2nd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

save your time and money

(2 / 5)

  i'm all about supporting new smaller businesses but i don't think data information is managed well here. i don't think i've had so many issues with a provider since i've been on my own.
issues since jul 2015, we are in dec 2015 as i type this out:
1. since i joined in july i was promised a 25 credit after 90 days and each time i call after this time frame, they say, i promise, the next invoice you will see it. this is with every rep i talk to. my neighbor who referred me can't get her 25 either. we still have not rec'd the credit.
2. 1st billing i got, there was a charge for underusage when clearly i was just switched over and had a shorter statement cycle - why would i be penalized? they waived it but for it to appear automatically tells me the customer setup/billing system sucks if they blanket apply to all statements regardless of when a new customer was switched over.
3. i've received messages from their IT system about how their system was down and/or there were billing errors
4. after point 2 above, i've received 2 additional statements with billing errors: one in conjunction with the above point 3 IT system issue (per rep) where they charged me a late fee when i'm on autopay? and another where they gave me a credit (not the 25) and then took it back.

save your time and money folks. they are too much of a hassle to deal with considering all the phone calls you have to make. i don't know where the issue is? the reps are nice enough and they put in the notes and all but it appears to be a system issue? i don't know. i'm tired of making notes about who i speak to and when and what they say. ridiculous.

jason h.
December 21st, 2015

I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and assist in the best way possible. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds February 2nd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading, lying, criminal

(1 / 5)

  Encouraged me to sign up for a new plan with a very low rate. Did not disclose TDSP delivery charges. A 3-4% rate is actually more than 11%

Moore
December 7th, 2015

I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and enrollment so that we may investigate, as this is not normal practice. We make an effort to disclose all terms of service at the time of enrollment so we would be more than happy to review. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may better assist. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds December 23rd, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sucking Money out of former customers

(0 / 5)

  After moving out of state a letter arrived with the incorrect address of my former home. Spark Energy is wanting an even 50.00 or they will go to collection. Called the number and the person who answered put me on hold for 5 minutes only to get nobody on the phone. Another company that does not produce any energy sources, but love billing people for no service. Stay far away from this company, it like extortion give me 50.00 dollars or else.

m grey
October 19th, 2015

I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. I am not sure if the person on the phone was able to fully assist you but we want to resolve your issue. This matter will require further review. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may try to assist. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 26th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Sales Pitch

(1.6 / 5)

  This has been one of the most unethical experiences while dealing with an electricity supplier. I signed up a sixth month plan where I was told by the sales representative that I would be charged 9.9c for the period. Two months later I was being charged 13.3 c. I didn't notice this for 4 months (Spark never informed me either) and when I call I am being told that it was a flexible rate and not a fixed rate. This was NEVER COMMUNICATED to me before signing up and now when I call I am not being comped for this nor will they drop the ridiculously high rate (30% above market rate) till the next billing cycle

A very dissatisfied customer,
Zahid

Zahid
September 1st, 2015

The experience being described is not one that we are proud of but we would definitely like to make it right. We are concerned and want to resolve your issue. This matter will require further review. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may assist you with this matter. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 16th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy... Price Gouging?

(1 / 5)

  We were long time customers of Spark Energy for a number of years and never experienced any problems until recently. Our rental home became vacant earlier this year and while we made some minor repairs, we decided to go back to Spark Energy for a 6 month contract at 6 cents per kWh. Things were great, bills were low until the contract expired in July. Being close to putting the house on the market, we didn't want to get stuck with a cancellation cost so we decided to go on month to month (variable rate). Boy o Boy was that a mistake, the rate jumped from 6 cents to 21 cents per kWh :0 Really???? I called the customer service number hoping there was a legitimate reason or a mistake in the billing. How can the rate jump 3 fold in the course of 1 month? No luck, they responded with their standard response of... it's a variable rate and we use the rate of what we buy it at market? Really?? We have a different electricity provider in our primary residence and it just so happened our contract expired at the same time our rental home did. Our 'variable rate' in our primary residence was 7cents per kWh? How can one company have a variable rate of 7 cents and Spark Energy have a variable rate of 21 cents per kWh? This does not sound right at all..sounds more like Price Gouging... I also reviewed my invoice and under Plan Information it lists Residential Evergreen, expiring on 9/14/2015. Why can't I find the Residential Evergreen plan anywhere on Spark Energy's website? Help?? I'm looking at a $575 bill for a vacant house :0, this is almost double that of my primary residence.

E
August 27th, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Please be advised that , for fixed rate contracts we hedge the energy, which means we purchase it in advance based on the fixed rate price and consumption history. When an account is on a month-to-month variable product, we purchase it on the spot; therefore the price is volatile depending on market conditions. We would still like the opportunity to further assist you with your concerns. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further assist. thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 1st, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions