Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  Tried to pay a friends late bills because he has been in out of the hospital for the last several months. He was late on multiple bills. I was willing to pay all late fees and the reconnect fee. But they had done a "move out" on him and would not allow me to pay the back bills to get his electricity turned back on. He is currently in the hospital and they will not release him without having electricity due to his condition. The collection rep was professional and apologetic but refused to escalate to a manager to see if we could get it resolved.

Their motto "Empower What Matters" must be talking about their rules, not their corporate or community values.

Concerned Friend
March 27th, 2019

We are sorry to hear of your friend's situation. Typically, when an account is closed due to a past due balance, the balance needs to be satisfied and a new enrollment will need to be submitted. If your friend is able to complete this, he can call us or submit the enrollment online. Once the service is back on and if his condition qualifies, we can also assist with ensuring he is put on a priority list in case of outages. If you have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds April 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Switch to Spark Electric or their subsidiary Verde Energy.

(1 / 5)

  Verde Energy, a subsidiary of Spark Electric, has questionable business practices. The marketing company used by Verde (Spark) allows their associates to tell people they are representing PECO. When confronted with the truth the marketers become rude and abusive. I have asked multiple times for them to put me on the Do Not Call list but they continue to call. If I block the phone number, they call from different numbers. I only learned that the company that was calling saying it was PECO was actually Verde Energy when I received a letter from PECO stating that Verde Energy was now our new energy supplier. Do not allow this company to become your energy supplier, just hang-up. Too bad you can't give zero stars.

LB
March 11th, 2019

We are truly concerned about the details of your review and would like advise you to email Verde Energy so they can assist you and address your concerns. You can email them at officeofthepresident@verdeenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy is shady

(1.2 / 5)

  I will not advice anyone to use this company, they are shady. I don't even know how my energy services got changed to them. I live in a two bedroom apartment in Arlington Heights, Illinois and before my energy bill was transferred to them, my average consumption was 699kwh and when they took over it immediately went up to 2155kwh without any change in usage, season or added home equipment. Also, their rate was double from what I was paying before (0.063900) to 0.11870 and so my bill became outrageous. I called them several times but they couldn't explain how they became my supplier or why my consumption suddenly went up. I was happy with my former supplier whose rates were even less than that of ComEd itself. Like I said, I don't know how they were able to remove my former supplier and had their name on my bill.

Remi
February 7th, 2019

We can understand how alarming it is to see a new supplier suddenly appear on your electric bill. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can review your enrollment details and see how we can assist you? We look forward to assisting you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Final Notice

(1.8 / 5)

  I have North Shore gas who handles the bills and receives payment. Spark sent me a Pink bill that said Final Notice. Interesting since I had no previous "notices" from them. Why are they billing me when North Shore pays them?? the Months of service were not even consecutive March, June , and July ; this meant they got April and May, interesting?? This "Final Bill"" also threatened me with taking their bill to a Collection agency and reporting me to credit bureaus if we didn't pay it to them...remember North shore gas pays them and I pay North Shore. Now who should be taken to the collection agency or credit bureau?

Final Notice
October 11th, 2018

We definitely understand how frustrating it may have been to receive a collections notice regarding your Spark Energy account. We would like to take a look at this for you so we can confirm where the balance comes from. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds October 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  We've been with Spark for over 11 years.
Definitely a company to be avoided.
We have always renewed our contract on time... until last month. We were 4 days past our contract date when we first made contact with customer service. Our bill was 3X our normal bill.

First off, this was our fault. We recieved an email regarding the upcomming end of contract, and we failed to renew in time. So life happened, and our contract lapsed for 4 days in the 11 years that we've been with Spark. This 4 day lapse cost us over $300!

We called customer sevice multiple times to see if they would be willing to help us out. We were told each time that there was nothing that they would do to retain us as a customer. We have never missed or been late on a bill. We switched providers after 11 years, and they don't care.

Don't waiste your time with this company.
This appears to be a very common story on how Spark treats their customers.

Tiffany
September 10th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that we have lost your business. We have received your other reviews and as mentioned in our responses to the other reviews, we'd like our Office of the President to review your account to see how we can assist; can you please email them at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details and concerns? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sharp Business Practice

(1.4 / 5)

  Spark had a decent introductory rate - but see that the rates doubled a few months ago. I'm pretty good at record keeping, and would have remarked a doubling of rates if notified. What is the rational for a doubling of rates (to 19.99 cents / kwh- 50% over the basic eversouce rate!) other than to catch sleepy customers (like myself) unaware? If you want to and have the time to go through every bill every month and actively manage your electric bills, then Spark may be fine - if you don't like nasty surprises - avoid them!

Paul D
June 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. Typically a notice is sent before a fixed-rate contract expires. We'd definitely like to research to verify if one was sent and provide you additional assistance; can you please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details? Thank you for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds July 5th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They did not inform me they were doubling the costs of the electric

(1 / 5)

  Once I discovered they were doubling the costs, i call them and they refused to lower it so I found another company that was reasonable and signed up with them. When Spark found out that wanted to negotiate with me, I sand, "no". you had your chance your customer service dept. wanted to see who would blink first.

I didn't care, that is not customer service, just like North American Power. We don't blink.

Customer Disservice
May 7th, 2018

We apologize for your experience and that we weren't able to resolve your concerns on the first call. If you'd like to discuss your experience further so we can review your account and ways to improve, please email our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds May 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should have stayed with Reliant

(1.4 / 5)

  Had spark about 2 months. I'm about a week late on one payment and they disconnected my electricity! This ridiculous s*** never happened with Reliant and I'm definitely switching back. Run far from Spark Energy cause they don't care about you or your family.

Charlette
March 14th, 2018

We are sorry to hear that you are considering switching away from Spark Energy. We'd like to assure you that we do care about our customers and we do provide a disconnection notice with 10 additional days to make a payment after the initial due date. If you were disconnected prior to the disconnection date on the notice, we would definitely like to investigate. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over charged

(1 / 5)

  I made the wrong decision to use Spark Energy as my energy provider. This company had charged me in the term of two months the total of two one year or more. They did not send me a renewal agreement and just triple the rate in the plan. Then I tried to call them and find out why of the charge and they gave me a non-sense answer. In one month my bill went from $45.00 to $885.97, so please be careful with what energy provider you pick. This company its obviously not honest and just after stealing from its clients.

Over price-stealing to it's customer be aware of this company when looking for supplier.
October 10th, 2017

Good Afternoon, First, we would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in response to your review. Second, we would like the opportunity to review your account to investigate what transpired and follow up with you accordingly. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? We sincerely hope to hear from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HUGE SCAM RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM SPARK

(1 / 5)

  I made the foolish mistake of answering a phone call from this company, they promised me a lower rate so I said ok and gave all my info. Fast forward one month and I don't get my normal bill of $150, I get a bill of $450. Immediately called my former provider here in pennsylvania PP&L. They looked into my bill and said I was given the low rate fir one day then SPARK tripled my rate. I immediately went back with PP&L and everything is getting back to normal.

Dee
October 6th, 2017

Good Afternoon Dee, Thank you for your review. We are so sorry it has taken us so long to reply. What you have described regarding your billing concerns is definitely alarming and we would like the opportunity to further investigate. Would you please email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark energy rips off customers

(1 / 5)

  I've been a customer of Spark Energy for 4 years. This kind of bad experience happened to me twice. Spark Energy automatically switched my plan to the most expensive one at the end of my long-term contract and charged me more than $800 in the last three months.

Recommend everyone to avoid this greedy company.

Xiaomin
August 27th, 2017

Good Afternoon Xiaomin, Thank you for your review as well as your long-standing loyalty with Spark Energy. I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your review. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we can investigate what took place in your account? We would like to follow up with you. Thank you so much.

Spark Energy Responds November 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEWARE... AVOID THIS COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy has done everything in their power to price gouge me for the final month of billing. They charged me 3 times the amount I was previously paying. AND charged me MORE "fees" AFTER they had already agreed to a payment plan for their $562 dollar final bill. I cannot express enough how unethical this company is. Please read the reviews, be aware! This company is the worst company I have ever encountered.

Beware! Read the reviews! Educate yourselves!
April 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!

(1 / 5)

  I changed to Spark Energy based on the promise of reduced cost and continuous service. I have received anything but a somewhat reduced cost!

Spark Energy appears to be a company (possibly operating out of a garage somewhere in Houston, TX) with an "Office of the CEO" Secretary running the company (her name is Jennifer Lewis).

I called Spark Energy in August 2016 to file a complaint regarding consistent Voice Mail messages my bill was due and I would loose Service if it wasn't paid on time. Please note, at the time I received this message it was over 106 degrees in Plano, TX at the time and as a 62 year old retiree I received this message creating severe Emotional Distress considering the implications of a lack of electrical service especially considering my bill had been paid as Due.

I attempted to call for a conversation with Spark Energy's CEO to discuss why my electronic payments from Bank of America (schedule and paid on the "Due Date" proscribed by Spark Energy) were not being applied to my Spark Energy account. I ended up at the desk of the "Supervisor, Office of the President" (Ms. Jennifer Lewis) of Spark Energy.

Jennifer, is obviously nothing more than an Executive Secretary, specifically indicated I would not be able to talk directly with the CEO of Spark Energy. What CEO refuses to talk with his / her Customers? I pushed for a conversation with the CEO of Spark Energy to no avail.

At this point, it wasn't about being charged for "Late Fees" of which were inappropriate based on the fact Bank of America had documented the fact my bill was indeed "paid by Bill Date", my disgust was based on the fact I believed Spark Energy was nothing more than a Scam (as perpetuated by Ms. Jennifer Lewis).

Spark Energy produces a billing with a fifteen (15) day "payment window". Spark Energy has in VERY SMALL PRINT on their Invoices a statement that you must pay your Invoice (proscribing payment 2 to 3 business days PRIOR to the "Due Date") to avoid "Late Charges". This allows the Consumer a total of approximately twelve (12) Business Days to pay their bill without being charged Late Charges, as I have now been charged, and amounts to as much as $9.32 / month eradicating ANY benefit of utilizing Spark Energy as a cost effective alternative!

This IS a SCAM! The CEO of Spark Energy refuses to take Customer Phone Calls (can you believe it), his "Watch Dog" (Jennifer Lewis) is nothing more than a Secretary, and the Company still remains charging customers for discounted energy rates of which are at least questionable!

I am interested in pursuing Spark Energy through a Class Action Lawsuit including Emotional Distress, unethical Business & Collection Practices and a variety of other issues. IF you are interested in adjoining with me please alert me related to your interest at PMorlan01@Yahoo.com.

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!

I Consider Spark Energy a Scam!
December 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SUCH A SCAM

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy is horrible! They came to my door to sign up and talked about comparable rates and saving money this winter. My last 2 bills have been increased 4x. I paid $400 versus my neighbors on just Nicor variable rate of $100. That's .25/therm versus mine which was 1.25/therm. I have a large family and can't afford this type of bill. They are unwilling to help out in anyway other then sending me some "valuable coupons in my email" - WOW. THANKS!!! I have cancelled and filed reports with the ICC. Nicor has said they get complaints about them ALL THE TIME. Customer service sucks and of the 4 times we have talked to them so far never has anyone been understanding or have we been able to talk to a manager. Even if I signed up again they would not help out my high bill in anyway. I will do everything to let everyone know what a horrible company they are and to STAY AWAY. They shouldn't be able to sleep at night charging people this much! Not sure how they sleep at night.

Danielle Shannon
March 2nd, 2016

We apologize for the delay in responding to your review. We hope your account concerns were addressed in your escalation to the ICC. Please let us know if you have additional concerns by emailing our Office of the President at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds June 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a Spark customer for two years. I called to renew my plan. One of the choices is the Sure Saver 12, which claims you get a $60 monthly credit if your usage is above 999 kWh. The representative figured out what my bill would be on that program and it was quite a bit cheaper than the Price Protect Plan. Well, he put me on hold and when he got back on the line, he informed me that the $60 was INCLUDED in the price and there actually is NO CREDIT!!! In other words, it is a wash. Very deceitful practice, if you ask me. FALSE ADVERTISING!!!!

Linda Lutich
February 22nd, 2016

We apologize for any confusion. We would be more than happy to review your current product and products that we have available. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may assist you.

Spark Energy Responds March 28th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE!!! DO NOT USE!!! BORDERLINE CRIMINAL!

(1 / 5)

  I am the kind of person who understands that bad moments happen. When I read review I always disregard the 5 stars and the 1 stars due to "bad moments". On this company please take into account the 1 star ratings and poor reviews because they are 10000% TRUE!!!!


I have had Spark energy for almost 2 years now. Had no issues with my main residence. When I went to add my daughters apartment as a secondary service location is when all hell broke loose.

For the first 6 months of a 6 month contract they never billed me. Called every couple of weeks asking for my invoice but the person on the phone argued that my account showed a zero balance. Must have called at least ten times. Finally i got a hold of someone that had a higher IQ than a cupcake and they went digging in the account to find that Centerpoint was billing them but they never billed me. The bills were astronomical for a small one bedroom apartment. I had to pay close to $1000 in bills. Then the delivery charges started hitting. I was being charged $200-300 just in delivery charges! Paid it all but was stuck in a contract. Then the bills went to normal. $60-80 a month so I just let it go hoping that it was finally done. Then I get December's bill. For 484 kwh the electricity portion of the bill was $20. They were also charging me $127 in delivery charges!! So out of a $216 electricity bill only $20 was actually for electricty!! Called in and was told once again that there was nothing they could do about it because Centerpoint charged them that. What s BS line!!!! Had them cancel service for my secondary service location effective immediately. As soon as my main residence contract is up in March I will be changing service providers then.

David Norman
January 4th, 2016

I am sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would like the opportunity to review your account and make sure that everything is being properly billed. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further review and better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Spark Energy Responds February 2nd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading, lying, criminal

(1 / 5)

  Encouraged me to sign up for a new plan with a very low rate. Did not disclose TDSP delivery charges. A 3-4% rate is actually more than 11%

Moore
December 7th, 2015

I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and enrollment so that we may investigate, as this is not normal practice. We make an effort to disclose all terms of service at the time of enrollment so we would be more than happy to review. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we may better assist. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds December 23rd, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Sales Pitch

(1.6 / 5)

  This has been one of the most unethical experiences while dealing with an electricity supplier. I signed up a sixth month plan where I was told by the sales representative that I would be charged 9.9c for the period. Two months later I was being charged 13.3 c. I didn't notice this for 4 months (Spark never informed me either) and when I call I am being told that it was a flexible rate and not a fixed rate. This was NEVER COMMUNICATED to me before signing up and now when I call I am not being comped for this nor will they drop the ridiculously high rate (30% above market rate) till the next billing cycle

A very dissatisfied customer,
Zahid

Zahid
September 1st, 2015

The experience being described is not one that we are proud of but we would definitely like to make it right. We are concerned and want to resolve your issue. This matter will require further review. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may assist you with this matter. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 16th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy... Price Gouging?

(1 / 5)

  We were long time customers of Spark Energy for a number of years and never experienced any problems until recently. Our rental home became vacant earlier this year and while we made some minor repairs, we decided to go back to Spark Energy for a 6 month contract at 6 cents per kWh. Things were great, bills were low until the contract expired in July. Being close to putting the house on the market, we didn't want to get stuck with a cancellation cost so we decided to go on month to month (variable rate). Boy o Boy was that a mistake, the rate jumped from 6 cents to 21 cents per kWh :0 Really???? I called the customer service number hoping there was a legitimate reason or a mistake in the billing. How can the rate jump 3 fold in the course of 1 month? No luck, they responded with their standard response of... it's a variable rate and we use the rate of what we buy it at market? Really?? We have a different electricity provider in our primary residence and it just so happened our contract expired at the same time our rental home did. Our 'variable rate' in our primary residence was 7cents per kWh? How can one company have a variable rate of 7 cents and Spark Energy have a variable rate of 21 cents per kWh? This does not sound right at all..sounds more like Price Gouging... I also reviewed my invoice and under Plan Information it lists Residential Evergreen, expiring on 9/14/2015. Why can't I find the Residential Evergreen plan anywhere on Spark Energy's website? Help?? I'm looking at a $575 bill for a vacant house :0, this is almost double that of my primary residence.

E
August 27th, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. Please be advised that , for fixed rate contracts we hedge the energy, which means we purchase it in advance based on the fixed rate price and consumption history. When an account is on a month-to-month variable product, we purchase it on the spot; therefore the price is volatile depending on market conditions. We would still like the opportunity to further assist you with your concerns. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further assist. thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 1st, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY

(1 / 5)

  Spark Energy continues to utilize a third party marketing plan that is misleading consumers, they encourage consumers to unwillingly sign agreements by stating that they are attempting to lower their current rate for gas services.

Spark promises savings but can't deliver!

Belinda Neff
August 13th, 2015

Please be advise that Spark Energy in no way condones fraudulent behavior. Our sales team is trained to only enroll customer who are over the age of 18 and state that they are authorized to make changes to the utility account in question. We will gladly review your account with you and answer any questions that you may have. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No customer loyalty offer

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Our usage is usually under 100Kwts and Spark was charging us more to use LESS power. They would not offer us a lower price contract. Why should we be penalized to use less electricity...see ya Spark!

Sugar Gal
August 7th, 2015

Thank you so much for sharing. We would like to speak with you and review your account and the options available to you. Please contact us at 1-877-547-7272 1-877-547-7275 between the hours of 7am -7pm CT M-F and on Saturday 7-4pm CT so that we may further assist.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE THIS PROVIDER!!!! HORRIBLE!! HORRIBLE!!!

(1 / 5)

  We switched over to them in Sept of 2014 for a 5.2 cent rate. I did not receive a bill the next month, called, they said they were having a problem with their billing/invoice system; I asked for an estimate, they said could not give an estimate. I paid $200 to the account anyway. THIS WENT ON OF A NUMBER OF MONTHS, and I kept paying $200 a month, BUT EVENTUALLY I GOT A GROSS BILL FOR ALMOST $1000 (YES, A THOUSAND DOLLARS!!!). Luckily, I had been paying something every month, otherwise I would have been screwed. THEY CALL CONSTANTLY. I have had them call over missed / nonpayment of a $13 late fee. Their customer service call center reps are incompetent and do not know what they are doing, obviously due to high turnover caused by low pay. WE ARE DEFINITELY NOT GOING TO RENEW WITH THEM.
DO NOT USE THIS PROVIDER !!!! SHOP FOR ANOTHER !!! TELL EVERYONE!! RATING THEM
ON A SCALE OF ONE 1 TO FIVE 5, I WOULD GIVE THEM A MINUS (NEGATIVE) -1.

Mr. Tony
July 25th, 2015

This is certainly not the experience that we want you to have as we understand how a bill higher than normal can be frustrating. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further assist. We look forward to hearing from you.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark .. Never Again!

(1 / 5)

  After my contract expired Spark rate for month-to-month stated to me was at 8.6c / KwH. Thus, I after being customer for 3 years, I relied on their statements, trusting their business. Due to traveling, I took a month and a half before reviewing Plans and planning to renew contract with Spark. Spark, however, switched me to Renewable plan without asking nor notifying me, and rate went to 18.9 c / KwH! My two bills doubled, and they did the switch in June and July when my consumption is the highest, costing mew few hundred $.
Spark did not bother to remind me to renew contract or review my rates. Being customer for 3 years, paying my bills with by withdrawal from my checking (was never late), did not mean anything to Spark. They were just charging me hoping I will not check rates for few months, so they can rip me off!
After I complained, they called me from office of the president, but did not want to adjust charges nor explain how price per kwh doubles when gas prices are at historic low, and no changes to regulations! The explanation is that plan is just 19 c/ kwh! Spark did not care about keeping my business nor considering any resolution to my complaint. I agreed that month-to-month is pricier, but within the reason. But doubling rate with no changes in the market environment! No excuse!! I will never, ever use Spark and will tell all my friends and colleagues about their malpractice. Be warned!
PS Yes, there is a way to warn people. Reliant forecasts customers bills trending per latest consumption and sends alert emails warning customers of potential high bills (so you can adjust your consumption timely, if you want). I explained this to Spark, but they did not care about this service.

Mark Tanke
July 23rd, 2015

Rest assured Spark Energy never wants any customer to not be aware of the services or rate provided which is why we make every effort to be as informative as possible with renewal notifications that include the EFL for our customer's to review. We certainly value your feedback and if you would like to have your account further reviewed then please do so by contacting us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No loyalty no call back

(1.4 / 5)

  After 8 years with Spark I noticed my rate had increased (Quadrupled). I called to discuss the issue and was told someone would call me in 24-48 hours, that didn't happen. So I had to call them back and after going through the very lengthily verification process of who I am, we finally discussed my issue. Apparently my contact had lapsed and they allegedly sent me a renewal notice, though I never received one. After 8 years of service they could not do anything about the increase in the billing rate unless I signed up for another 1 year term, which is not possible because the home is for sale which I explained. This was also mentioned when I added my new home with Spark, they just don't care, so I will now switch both homes to another provider.

Hopefully I can find a company that actually rewards loyalty, though from the reviews I have read I think that might be doubtful.

Joseph
June 23rd, 2015

This is not at all the type of customer experience that we would want you or anyone to have. We would like to apologize for this inconvenience and at least review your issue to in an effort reach an amicable resolution. When time permits please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Annoying!!!

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with them but the very next day I send in a cancellation letter that they gave me and this was in June 24, 2014 and now it's May 11,2015 and I am still getting billed that I owe but in there computers it shows that I canceled. Now they are threatening to send it to collections, how are they gonna do that when I cancelled a long time ago!!!! Phone calls don't stop!!!!

Cynthia
May 11th, 2015

We are sorry to hear that this has been your experience and we would like the opportunity to certainly make it right. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may further assist. We look forward to rectifying this situation for you.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Call 2 different times and after a wait of approx. 45 minutes I disconnected. Tried to call the Houston office which was the same as cutomer service. Switching providers!

Stephen
March 26th, 2015

Spark Energy would like to apologize for the delayed response to you as we certainly appreciate your feedback regarding your customer experience. It is never our intention to have long hold times, howeve;r sometimes they occur as certain situations require more time to review and resolve. Although time has passed, we would still be more than happy to assist you with any questions or concerns that you may have. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com. for further assistance. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds August 13th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Changes Billing System, Wipes out Auto Pay = Cancellation Notice

(1.8 / 5)

  I signed up for Spark Energy when I bought my town home in Houston. I signed up for their 6 month plan. The agent was professional and courteous. I was very impressed. And, the rate was great. Upon expiration of my 6 month contract, the rates shot up! When I tried to renew on line, the product offerings were confusing. After calling an agent, I was able to lock in a 12 month rate which was slightly better than the online promotions. Slightly. I was set up with Auto Pay, so I was upset when I received two cancellation notices within days of each other. When I called, they had apparently updated their billing system and wiped out my Auto Pay information. I had my last statement from the month earlier that clearly said, "DO NOT PAY"...I re-entered Auto Pay information after learning of THEIR error. The following day, I get another cancellation notice!! When I called collections, Traci, hung up on me after I told her that I was getting cancellation notices because of their system update. POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE and BILLING!

Chris
October 3rd, 2014

Spark Energy would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced concerning this matter. Please be advised that it is never our intention to cause any confusion. In addition, any error on our part is certainly not something that we would hold you accountable for. Please know that your concerns are very important to us and we would like to make it right. So that we may review this incident in detail, please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com. Hopefully in the near future your confidence in Spark Energy will be renewed. Thank you so much for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds November 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEVER AGAIN.

(1 / 5)

  If I could give every rating a 0, I really would. Someone representing Spark Energy came to my door to talk my dad into switching over to their service. He promised my father they'd discount his monthly bill for signing up with them and that it's guaranteed it'll be cheaper than the cost of his previous utilities service. We were infuriated to see our first bill of the month... Not only was it much more expensive monthly, but we were charged $100 for a cancellation fee on top of the bill due for that month? Are you serious? Customer service also sucks. The call representatives sound so smug and miserable, and I've been placed on hold for at least 20 minutes on end for each time I've made a call to them. REALLY do not recommend!! Sign up with The Gas Company or something else!

Unhappy
September 22nd, 2014

I cannot apologize enough for the experience in which you just described. Spark Energy does not condone providing misinformation to gain sales. We have a Third Party verifier for that very reason. This verifier reiterates what the sales agent offered to the customer by going over the rates and the Terms of Service. For added customer security, the verifier also confirms that the customer is authorized to make changes to the utility account before processing the enrollment. We would really like the opportunity to look further into this incident in an effort to clear any possible confusion caused by Spark Energy. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we may assist. We appreciate your patience. Thank you for your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds November 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(1 / 5)

  Signed up for a higher rate plan that promised no low use fee. This was a lie and a scam. Now paying higher rate and same low use fee.

Brandt
September 15th, 2014

We are very concerned with what you are stating has occurred with your enrollment. I can assure you that Spark Energy is not a scam at all. We have been servicing customers from coast to coast for gas and electricity supply for well over a decade. However, complaints of this nature are taken very seriously. We know how important this is to you so that makes it even more important to us. In an effort to review this incident in depth, please contact us by either calling 1-877-547-7275 to speak to a Customer Care agent or you may email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds November 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark does not care about service.

(1.6 / 5)

  We have been working with various people on their team to clear up billing issues which have not been corrected over the last two months. Their custom service supervisor Adam will give you his "direct phone number" and will never call you back. He will make false promises for changes to your account that won't happen. You will sit on hold for hours and get nothing done when you someone.

Craig
September 5th, 2014

What I have just read is very alarming. This is not at all how Spark Energy wants their customer to feel. I apologize for any inconvenience that you may have previously experienced. Please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account and make it right. We can only hope to earn your trust again in the very near future. Thank you for your patience.

Spark Energy Responds November 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

hated it

(1 / 5)

  They were a bad experience. I'm am asking others to find a better provider in electric. The reviews I read are true. Spark energy is horrible.

letra fields
June 26th, 2014

I'm sorry this has been your experience; please contact me at hpena@sparkenergy.com with details so that I can review this and address your concerns.

Spark Energy Responds July 9th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just another number

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been a Spark Customer for over 5 years. Due to auto draft I have never been late on a payment. The three times in my tenure with Spark that I have had to call them for assistance however, has left me just mystified at how lazy and uncaring they are for their customers. You absolutely will be just another number and they will not have any concern over how they feel you are treated by their employees.

Ian
May 23rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer beware - a perfected process to rip you off

(1 / 5)

  I have been a supposed customer for 5 years and I was gullible enough to believe in them as a company by giving my automated billing information. All they had to do was supply a competitive rate and automatically take their money. However........ Spark quietly and efficiently but according to their business strategy and "fine print" increase your unit cost by as much as 25%. They are complete crooks! I hope to break from them as soon as possible.

David King
September 17th, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to bring this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please send your account details as well as your contact information to me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com for further review.

Spark Energy Responds November 4th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Idiotic Billing and Account Management:

(1.8 / 5)

  Following a change of Banks I called to change my new bank debit information. They insisted I must fill out a form and fax or email it back to them. They sent two formsw with no indication which was correct. I chose one printed it , filled it out , scanned the completed signed form, and emailed it back. Today I get another email stating they required a voided check on the new bank before they make the change. My checks arent due for two weeks and my billing date is 12 days away. The email had 6 additional attachments, which I have not opened ??? The other companies just took my new info by phone and made the change. Really Stupid!!!!

John Healy
May 24th, 2013

Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.

Spark Energy Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ripped me off

(1 / 5)

  They were charging me almost double the normal rate per unit. Scam!

James
February 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

High priced and poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  I rarely write reviews and usually only give positive feedback, but I decided to just write a review as opposed to taking more time to mess with the late charge this company tacked on my bill. I paid my August electric bill the way I always do through my bank's bill pay online on the 2nd of the month. The bank sent the payment in on the 4th of the month. On the bank site it said the bill was delivered on the 11th and it was due on the 12th. Last week I received a letter saying the payment was late. I called and disputed this and the person said I would have to wait for my bill to see if there was a late charge, which seemed ridiculous since I had gotten a letter from them about it.

When I recieved the bill of course, they had a $12.44 late charge. I called again and in order to speak to an operator I stayed on the line like the recording said. I was disconnected after two minutes. I repeated this and the same thing happened. The third time I called I chose the 'set up a new account' button and someone answered on the first ring. It was the billing department. I told her the situation and after checking she said I would have to contact my bank so they could send all the documentation, and that was after I had established a year's record of paying my bills on time. This is the first time a company has ever done that. With a great credit history and a record of paying my bills on time, a reputable company, even a credit card company, has always forgiven an occasional error. Both operators were very efficient, cordial and cold as they explained the situation but refused to drop the late fee charge.

In the meantime I had already changed my service to a company with a much better customer service record with a much more competitive price and I will be saving money. I will never use this company again.

So, instead of using my time to contact my bank and go through all the riggamarow of fixing this mistake, I will pay them their twelve extra dollars and use this time to inform others of the practices of this company. In the long run, if people avoid this company, Spark will certainly have received their twelve dollars, but hopefully lose future customers because they put profits ahead of customer service.

Patricia Paker
September 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

direct pay problems

(1.6 / 5)

  Never had a problem until my credit card expired. Spark did not notify and sent a collection letter. I tried to set up new credit card for direct pay but was informed they don't except credit cards for direct pay anymore. I asked them to send statements so I could pay the old way and they did start sending statements but each one has "DO NOT PAY" "FOR YOUR RECORDS ONLY" and "Payment will be drafted on the due date" printed all over the return portion of the statement. Very confusing !!

I've moved on to a company that will accept automatic credit card payments.

anon
September 10th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

overcharged and nothing they are willing to do

(1 / 5)

  When I cancelled-becasue renewing with them would have been higher than anyone else- they overcharged me on the rate, overcharged me on a monthly fee-because it kicked in because I cancelled. Thier customer service plays stupid and really slow-took 30 minutes to get one answer. Disconnected from conversation three times. They offered no promotions and quoted me one rate and charged another.- would do nothing to correct.

mary
August 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

overcharged and nothing they are willing to do

(1 / 5)

  When I cancelled-becasue renewing with them would have been higher than anyone else- they overcharged me on the rate, overcharged me on a monthly fee-because it kicked in because I cancelled. Thier customer service plays stupid and really slow-took 30 minutes to get one answer. Disconnected from conversation three times. They offered no promotions and quoted me one rate and charged another.- would do nothing to correct.

mary
August 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sprk is a Mess - Customer Service Problems

(1.4 / 5)

  Spark has completely messed up our account. First, our account was inproperly terminted by mistake (somone else gave a wrong address). Our power ended up getting cut off and Spark charged us a $250 termination charge when we never terminated. Then when the incorrect switch got switched back to them, they did not reactivate our old account and started charging us double our contracted rate. We have spent hours on the phone with these people trying got get it straight. They say everything will be OK, but it just keeps getting messed up.

Bob
May 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY from this company

(1 / 5)

  Since I received the email from Spark saying that it is time to renew my contract, I made a huge mistake by switching over to StarTex without realizing that my contract with Spark does not end until 4 days later. They charged me $250 for early termination. I called and emailed them several time but they just refuse to do anything to help minimizing this cost. StarTex even offered to help me by allowing me to come back to Spark without charging the early termination fee. Again Spark refused that offer as well. I have been a great customer by doing several referral for them for 6 years and this is the way that they treated their customers. I will not be the only customer that they lose.

D Nguyen
April 9th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very deceptive marketing

(1.3 / 5)

  These folks have very deceptive marketing. Watch your backs or you will be burned like I got burned. I signed up for a 12-month fixed rate plan. After a year it converts to a variable rate plan. No big deal, right? WRONG!! Their variable plan is now at .87 per term, about double that of the competition! What is even more interesting is that once I learned this I called them and pretended to be a new customer. When I asked about the price of the variable plan I was told .535 (still high, but not outrageous). When I told them I was an existing customer paying .87 the rep said he made a mistake on the quote. BALONEY! They got caught and now they're trying to cover their tracks. Those customers ending their 12 month guarantee should give Spark their 30 day notice and run away. This company hopes you will do nothing, and get socked. There are lots of reputable companies out there ... this is not one of them.

Ron B
March 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off artists

(1.1 / 5)

  Signed up with them - rates increased from what I was paying utility.....called to cancel and got big run around.......had to call three times to get it done...NEVER AGAIN ! !

Bob Olson
December 14th, 2011

Hi Bob- Sorry to hear about your frustration, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive for 1st-call resolution, and if you can remember the name of the representative(s) you spoke with, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com so we can address them directly. NOTE: If you attempting to switch providers at the same address, we actually don't have the power to cancel your account. You would need to call another provider and sign up with them, and your account with Spark Energy would automatically be canceled. If you were attempting to cancel your account because you were moving to a new address, it sounds like we dropped the ball and we apologize. If there's anything else we can do for you or any other questions we can answer, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com. Thank You.

Spark Energy Responds January 5th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ridiculous surcharges-new customers, aweful cust service

(1.1 / 5)

  I had to go to another provider (there are many other better options)since Spark has unreasonable surcharges for new customers. All I was doing was changing the name on the account. I lived in the house for 3 years, but still had to set it up as a new service under my name so they wanted to slap on the $8.99 monthly service fee if I don't use 1000kwh per month. Then when I tried to get their customer service to help change the cancellation request my wife sent in, I was told to 'hope' that the electricity is not turned off because the request takes 3 days to process. They didn't really even try to help, they just told me that things coundn't be done. This is what happens when a company is making too much money to care.

Jay
October 27th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates Nearly Tripled

(1.2 / 5)

  Prior to moving to Texas, I set up a six month
account with auto draft for reduced fixed
rates. When the contract expired, I signed a
new for a similar rate plan. Given the bill was
on auto draft and I'd yet to have a problem, I
didn't check the price per kilowatt hour after
the first new bill.
Recently, when I did, I noticed I'd been billed
nearly TRIPLE what the agreed upon rate was for
four months in a row. They were unwilling to
work with me on their error, given said bills
were already paid.
Service is being switched to a different
provider tomorrow morning.
I will go off the grid before I use them again.

Cher
October 23rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1.3 / 5)

  Billing is the worst ever, they cant get it right, send you an email stating one thing and do another, NOT just once every other month. Sent all their customers today a disconnect notice that was an ERROR I cant wait till my contact is up and I can run away from here.

Pam
October 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Taking advantage of homeowner

(1.7 / 5)

  This is one of many Houston Retail Electric Providers (REP) that impose a minimum usage fee on homeowners. If you use 1000 kilowatt's or less per month you must pay this fee of $8.99 ($107.00 year). In a time when we all should be seeking to conserve energy this company is encouraging users to use more electric to avoid this fee. This fee amounts to, a fine for conserving energy.

Philip Lindner
August 3rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Well, better than Abacus...

(1.1 / 5)

  We originally had a contract with the infamous
Abacus. Abacus was so badly managed that they
thankfully folded, selling our contract to
Spark.

Spark IS better than Abacus, I'll give it that.
However, we're obviously being overcharged -
10.1c/kwh isn't terrible, until our 630sqft
apartment somehow started using up over 900kwh
per month - implying an average power draw of
over a kilowatt! Including while we're
sleeping, and AT WORK. Of course, conveniently
for Spark, this sudden spike in energy usage
began exactly when they started billing us.

Now we're trying to switch providers, and
they're being very reluctant about giving up
our deposit. My wife paid the deposit
originally to Abacus almost two years ago, and
Spark acknowledges that it was transferred to
them with our contract. However, they have no
record of it - WE HAVE TO PROVIDE PROOF THAT WE
PAID A DEPOSIT BEFORE THEY WILL RETURN IT.
Maybe they should hire an accountant to keep
track of that. Or maybe buy a copy of Excel.

Ian
July 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitive last year, new monthly fees

(1.2 / 5)

  I give them an A minus on order/billing/service. Thought i would be forever a loyal customer.
12 months later... now they have $8.99/month fee and rates are not competitive either. Had to find another company.

Raj Lal
April 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Harrassing phone calls

(1.1 / 5)

  My account with Spark Energy was set up wrong from the beginning. Throughout the 4 weeks it took to get it straight, I received a bill showing a past due amount and a late fee that I disputed. Before I could get the corrected bill, I started getting harrassing phone calls both on my home phone and on my cell phone - 8 to 10 per day - regarding the past due amount. Explaining the circumstances of the account to the callers did no good. Even with the account paid in full, I still received hourly phone calls for two days after the payment was made. I have two other Spark accounts that I will now cancel. This was the worst experience I have had in years with an electrical provider.

M. Webster
November 8th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Back again? How long will they last this time?

(1.1 / 5)

  Wow how quickly we forget. Well I was one of the Spark Energy good customers a couple a years ago that was dropped and assigned to the Provider of Last Resort without notice when they went "bankrupt" just in the Houston market. Now that the rates are low they are back but what happens when the rates go back up will they drop their customers again?

Mark
October 7th, 2010

Spark Energy has provided electric service in the state of Texas for several years and has not gone out of business, or had the need to drop any customer to the Provider of Last Resort. We believe that there is some confusion or misunderstanding regarding this review and would be happy to review the comments further to clarify the matter. Please feel free to email us at customercare@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds October 18th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Zilch for Customer Service

(1.7 / 5)

  Spark has no phone number to call, and only answers email within 48 hours (they got to me early - 47 hours 52 minutes).

Online info consists of bills only - no contract info, no expiration of term data, etc.

Beware letting your contract expire because they put you on an exorbitantly-priced variable rate plan (50% higher per kwh).

Switching as Fast as I Can
May 25th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gassed by Spark Energy

(1.3 / 5)

  After claiming at least a 5% savings compared to PG&E, charges for gas about the same for first 6 mos. Next 6 mos. Spark began charging about 50% MORE than PG&E (without notice). What a rip-off!

Very unethical company.

Robert Yolles
May 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$660 bill for 1070ft^2 apartment??

(1.6 / 5)

  I am not even sure how I've got this $660 for the month of Feb. I live in 1-bed room apartment and I was told that I used 3500kWh. Even though my heater was set to 65deg. And given my water heater's power rating is 5100kWh/year, something was wrong on my meter.

I explained my situation, but the customer reps. kept saying "No, you used that much of electricity, and you will have to pay for it".
Sure. I did have those people re-read the meter and even re-check the meter, but they kept saying the same thing.

I see another guy complaining about the same thing as I am. I guess they are just busy charging the customer for the electricy they haven't even used. I would recommend you to check the daily usage everyday if you are going to use this company.

S. Park
March 25th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disceptive Trade Practices

(1 / 5)

  After being a loyal customer for years, my bills increased dramatically. Months later I learned that my contract had expired and they had switched me to a higher rate. I never received anything from Spark notifying me that the contract expired. I went from approx $60 a month to $200. I spoke to a supervisor who explained it was my responsibility to log in to their website and look for notifications about the contract expiring. I asked how I would know They sent me two emails a month - I am disappointed they couldn't be bother to email me that my contract was expiring. I aksed to renew the contract retroactively and was told it was not an option. I aksed for the name of someone higher to whom I could write a letter and was told that was not an option; I could only write to the anonymous email account. I feel misled and cheated.

Misled customer
March 23rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Review

(0.9 / 5)

  Spark Energy takes advantage of people just because they can and I have never had my electricity turned off in my life. They were the first to turn off my electric when I protested a bill. Turns out their provider reads the meters occasionally, because I read meter also and it was no where near the correct reading. The readings also reflected the next larger number each time they read it. Only one member in my household and I keep my programmable thermostat on 80, since I am cold natured. Something wrong there. Never had electric bills like the ones I received from Spark Energy.

Anita Henderson
February 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No good.

(1.2 / 5)

  This company treats returning customers terribly. After a year, they switch you to a high variable rate with a monthly charge if you do not sign on for another year. And, if you decide to sign, they will not refun the overcharge for the month you did not realize they had switched your rate. Plus, if you ask to speak to a supervisor, they fill out a request and tell you to expect a call in 24-48 hours. Not pleasant.

Jill
February 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent choice once - No more

(1.3 / 5)

  Careful, Spark Energys notification to renew is in small print and only
once. If you miss it and do not renew your fix rate plan, they'll charge
you at daily rate. No further notifications.
Spark Energy used to be customer friendly: After the first year we
received a renewal email and we renewed. Worked like a charm. This
year no email, a small note on my invoice once, which I missed as I
pay the amount listed in the email notification. Customer service was
not responsive to my complaint: I am responsible to renew. True, but
a questionable business practice nevertheless.
Of course this is a blessing in disguise, because whereas Spark Energy
used to be the most affordable for green energy. Now they list as the
most expensive. I am saving 40%!! by moving on.

Moving on
January 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions