155 Reviews and 78 Replies for Spark Energy

Spark Energy Logo
DC PSC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 2.14
Order Experience 2.37
Customer Service 2.31
Billing Quality 2.19
Likely to recommend? 2.01

Washington DC Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Spark Energy
Founded in 1999 and licensed to sell electricity in Texas in 2002, Spark Energy is now a national retail electricity and natural gas provider. They now provider electricity and/or natural gas services in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Texas.

Marked down for the first short bill

(4.4 / 5)

  Ordering was easy, hand off to Spark was seamless. First bill was only 20 days, which was small enough to miss the rebate. So if you're switching you may want to time it to be closer to the beginning or end of the cycle.

Fred
July 20th, 2021

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your business and your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds July 21st, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worst company ever

(1 / 5)

  the title says it all. customer for 13 years and paid average 30 cent per
when I called customer service they said yes you are not on a competitive plan and said they had no idea how to help me. average summer bill was 500 for a 2000 sq ft home with new ac unit on 78. total rip off and audacious. companies like this are the reason deregulation should not be choice. 13 years of overpaying by 90% for electric

be informed
June 10th, 2021

We're sorry to hear that you have had this experience and we'd definitely like to review as our agents are trained to assist all customers. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com and include your detailed concerns along with your account information. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds June 15th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy customer for life

(5 / 5)

  Exceeded my expectations.

Happy Customer
April 27th, 2021

We appreciate your review. Thank you for your business.

Spark Energy Responds April 28th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price was in the top 2, but the website/monitoring is lacking

(3.8 / 5)

  I really liked my two previous companies, but switched from both once the promotion of the first year ended. This company had one of the cheaper plans for the energy that my home uses during a year period. I figured that all companies at this point are the same. Who ever needs to call into an electric company? You go online, pay your bill, and view your usage. BUT.... you can't view your usage real time it seems. So my plan that I need to use so much energy before I hit that bill credit, I can't monitor. There are some months that I am below the threshhold, but could easily (as terrible as this does seem to me) turn on some extra stuff, to bring myself up to the 1000kw I need. But I can't even tell this info. Which I have never seen with a company before this. ??? If you are going with a threshold plan, I would maybe avoid spark at this point until they fix this.

Jill Jere
April 22nd, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. Real time usage tracking is not a feature we offer but you can always track your usage by visiting www.smartmetertexas.com.

Spark Energy Responds April 28th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraud

(1 / 5)

  Spake energy have been taking money from my account without my knowledge. Requested to cancel the service and still sending bills for close to $500 every Month. Will see them in court.

Keshari
February 24th, 2021

We're sorry to hear of your experience. Our Office of the President has reviewed your account and already addressed your concerns with you.

Spark Energy Responds April 13th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disgusting Scam AVOID!

(1 / 5)

  Just terrible. Installed my meter on September 16th (today is October 2nd) and still not connected to my account. After 6 calls and 4 hours of lies and buck passing, it's still not connected and the tariff they have provided comes out at TWICE the cost of other companies. Website wont allow me to register and gives an "oops, something went wrong" on which ever day I try. This is truly a criminal scam and fortunately I have recorded ALL of my calls and their lies. Finally, I asked to be switched to a billing account and was told the 'collections' department would be in touch"...surprise..nothing. They never call back and always need chasing and it only ever results in empty promises. The worst energy company ever.!!! Im on hold again as we speak. I wouldn't even give them 1 Star if there was an option!

Paul-S
October 2nd, 2020

Hello Paul. While we are sorry to hear of your experience, we believe that you may be referring to Spark Energy Ltd, which is in the UK and not affiliated with our company here in the United States. We hope that you can resolve your concerns with Spark Energy Ltd and this review can be removed as we are not affiliated.

Spark Energy Responds October 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total mess

(1 / 5)

  Chaos.
Seriously advise against.
12/14 & 17 mins waiting to speak to somebody.
A case of L hand never knowing what the R hand is doing.

Pandulph
May 29th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you experienced a higher than normal wait time. We hope that your issue was resolved. If not, please don't hesitate to reach out to officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds June 3rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hook line sinker

(1 / 5)

  Good rates for a few years,now after checking WOW time to launch them!!

Dave
March 27th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you will be cancelling. We'd love the chance to see how we can assist you before you proceed with cancelling. Please contact us at 1-877-547-7275.

Spark Energy Responds April 8th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Review

(5 / 5)

  Best Electric company I have ever had any

Merylan Ranson
February 12th, 2020

We appreciate your feedback and your business. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.

Spark Energy Responds February 19th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1 / 5)

  This people lie sign with them and ur bills will be higher then ever.They claim to lower ur bill but its a lie u pay double of what u where paying

Scam
January 10th, 2020

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services. We'd like the opportunity to review your account to see what occurred and how we can assist. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your concerns and account details? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds January 14th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Problems with Spark

(1.4 / 5)

  Despite signing up online and receiving an email confirmation of the rate chosen, Spark billed me at a much higher rate the first month. When I inquired, I was told the rate I selected was for new customers, not renewing customers. Why was there a difference? No answer. When it was clear I had the documentation, they refused to rebill the month, but rather credited my account a flat dollar amount for the difference. Absent a breakdown or recalculated invoice, how do I know they got it right? Two years ago, when I originally signed up for Spark, they tried a similar swithch. They tried to stick me with a higher rate that the one I signed up for online. I had to make several phone calls and emails to Spark customer service and eventually go all the way to the TX PUC to get the rate I signed up for. Bottom line, both times, Spark did honor the rate, but it shouldn't be this difficult when I had the proof in confirmation emails.

Problems with Spark
November 22nd, 2019

We truly apologize for your experience. Should you want to review the cost analysis of the bill credit, we'd be happy to provide. Unfortunately, we cannot re-bill an invoice that has already been generated. Also, please be aware that renewals for active Spark Energy customers must be completed by calling in or by logging into your online account on www.sparkenergy.com. Any enrollments through a third party site cannot be completed as our system would detect that you are a current customer. Nonetheless, we'd like to thank you for your feedback as it helps us make improvements to the overall customer experience.

Spark Energy Responds November 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceprive Business Practices

(1.4 / 5)

  Recently a young lady knocked on my door representing Spark Energy. She told me they were offering a $100 gift debit card each for electric and gas. I signed up for both. Well 30 days went by and I did not receive them. Now the company tells me that they don't offer it and that the lady does not work for them, but works for some 3rd party company. This company is dishonest and from what I just learned, trespasses too.
I'm very sorry I gave them my personal information, account numbers and my business. Now I am going to have to file a police report for consumer fraud against them. They have shown me nothing but confusion and total dishonesty. Buyers Beware!

Leslie
September 22nd, 2019

We would like to apologize for your experience and we'd also like to investigate further. Would you mind emailing us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com and include these same concerns along with additional details? Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds September 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company

(5 / 5)

  Easy to work with

Esan
August 30th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business.

Spark Energy Responds September 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good

(4.8 / 5)

  So far it has been good. Just waiting for first bill

Sharon yarbrough
August 27th, 2019

We are glad to hear that your set-up was good. We hope that you are happy with your first bill - don't hesitate contact us if you have any questions or concerns.

Spark Energy Responds September 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark

(5 / 5)

  easy set up, good service, good prices

Lissa
August 16th, 2019

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Spark Energy Responds September 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Rate Gouge

(1 / 5)

  My 80 year old Mother either did not reply to a renewal notice or did not receive one. The fixed rate expired 03/07/19. Spark Energy raised her fixed rate from 9 cents a kwh to 18 cents a kwh. Now that the weather is hot we realized the doubling of her supply rate. I can see that their fiduciary is to themselves and that their ethics are in the gutter. Un Justified Rip Off

Lawrence Dolan
July 25th, 2019

We apologize for you and your mother's experience. We'd like to confirm that your concerns were investigated and address via the complaint filed.

Spark Energy Responds August 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1 / 5)

  Tried to pay a friends late bills because he has been in out of the hospital for the last several months. He was late on multiple bills. I was willing to pay all late fees and the reconnect fee. But they had done a "move out" on him and would not allow me to pay the back bills to get his electricity turned back on. He is currently in the hospital and they will not release him without having electricity due to his condition. The collection rep was professional and apologetic but refused to escalate to a manager to see if we could get it resolved.

Their motto "Empower What Matters" must be talking about their rules, not their corporate or community values.

Concerned Friend
March 27th, 2019

We are sorry to hear of your friend's situation. Typically, when an account is closed due to a past due balance, the balance needs to be satisfied and a new enrollment will need to be submitted. If your friend is able to complete this, he can call us or submit the enrollment online. Once the service is back on and if his condition qualifies, we can also assist with ensuring he is put on a priority list in case of outages. If you have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds April 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Switch to Spark Electric or their subsidiary Verde Energy.

(1 / 5)

  Verde Energy, a subsidiary of Spark Electric, has questionable business practices. The marketing company used by Verde (Spark) allows their associates to tell people they are representing PECO. When confronted with the truth the marketers become rude and abusive. I have asked multiple times for them to put me on the Do Not Call list but they continue to call. If I block the phone number, they call from different numbers. I only learned that the company that was calling saying it was PECO was actually Verde Energy when I received a letter from PECO stating that Verde Energy was now our new energy supplier. Do not allow this company to become your energy supplier, just hang-up. Too bad you can't give zero stars.

LB
March 11th, 2019

We are truly concerned about the details of your review and would like advise you to email Verde Energy so they can assist you and address your concerns. You can email them at officeofthepresident@verdeenergy.com. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy's representives great work

(5 / 5)

  Hi I would like to say that signing up with Spark Energy is definitely saving me some money and the help i received from the representatives was very helpful and efficient I appreciate it when the representatives take time to thuroghly explain to the customer about the services that will be given. Thank You

Great Business
March 5th, 2019

Thank you for your positive review. We are grateful to have wonderful customers like you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thorough and Helpful!

(4.2 / 5)

  I just spoke with BB in customer service and she was so helpful. My mother in law passed away recently and I was making sure her account continued to stay paid until the property was sold. BB walked me through all of the areas making sure that everything was updated including e-mail, phone notifications, etc. I probably would not have remembered to update all of the information. It was so helpful for her to prompt me on each of the areas. Thank you BB and thank you Spark Energy!

Sheri
February 25th, 2019

Please accept our condolences on the passing of your mother. We are glad to hear that BB assisted you with ensuring everything is in order as we can understand it is a difficult situation.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions