66 Reviews and Replies for Mega Energy

Mega Energy Logo
DC PSC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 2.17
Order Experience 1.71
Customer Service 1.55
Billing Quality 1.45
Likely to recommend? 1.47

Washington DC Energy Ratings Score:

( 2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Mega Energy
Mega Energy is a privately owned retailed electricity provider operating in the Texas marketplace. Mega Energy was founded in 2007 and provides retail and commercial electricity to consumers throughout the state of Texas.

MEGA Energy electric

(1 / 5)

  I never signed up for this service, IT IS FRAUD! WAS unauthorized, @ they took $45.61 from my Liheap assistance program help. I am @ alwats been w/Commonwealth Edison, being a cancer patient w M.S. They never contacted me to change my services, but to fill out a survey!!!! DO NOT DEAL WITH MEGA ENERGY! IT HAS ZERO RATINGS, @ BAD REVIEWS! WARNING OTHERS

Marianne T Romito
April 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They slammed my account and changed my provider without my consent

(1 / 5)

  They called my 87 year old mother with dementia and somehow extracted data. You can clearly tell by talking to her she is not in her right mind. Horrible company. We are on a do not call list

Angry
March 19th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely Rude Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  I've gotten two calls from this company, after speaking to the representative and telling him I need to speak first with my husband and ask around, he kept on insisting I just "verbally agree", I continue to state I was NOT going to agree to anything, he repeated over and over how they could save me SO much money, I repeated myself that I needed to review the company & ask around since I never heard of them. Towards the end of the call, I repeated myself once more I was NOT going to verbally agree to anything, his politeness came out and told me to "GTH" and hung up, if that isn't top notch customer service not sure what is. I'm really hoping he placed my number on the do not call list LoL.

Extremely Rude Customer Service
February 16th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off and fraud

(1 / 5)

  My elderly mother was not aware that she switched to Mega Energy for a 12 month contract in November 2018. She was charged 7.0 Cents kWh for 12 months. After 12 months, the rates went up to 17 Cents kWh. When I called to ask why, they said "the contract expired so we now charge you variable rates....". We have asked them for a refund. What a bunch of crooks.

Son in Chicago
November 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total SCAM

(1.4 / 5)

  First of all, I don't know how did I get with them. I read some reviews that "they switch people based on a cold phone call". I don't have any supportive documents for me choosing them.

Second, they supposed to have "fixed rates for 12 months" (at least that's what I have on my electric company page as a note). However my rates changed a few month ago from 9 cents to 11. Without any notification...

And lastly... I decided to wait for their contract to expire mid August (to avoid $50 SCAM fee). And you know what? They silently moved "end of a contract" to mid of October. Again, with NO NOTIFICATIONS.

PS. They are not BBB accredited, but I think they have a rating of "F". Avoid them...

SCAM!!! SCAM!!! SCAM!!!

Mike @ CT
August 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total SCAM

(1 / 5)

  Not sure how I got there... Was unable to find any "official confirmations". Rates are 2-3 cents more over other suppliers in our area. Plus "cancellation fee" and "automatic extension" (with cancellation fee). Again, SCAM...

Mike @ CT
August 4th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company ever!

(1 / 5)

  They harassed me relentlessly to try to get me to sign on with my second home. Sometimes calling 20 times within 2 minutes. They lie and say they are with eversource. They have hidden fees and it does not save you money. They are still harassing me with daily phone calls, they wont stop. I canceled my service with them and will never consider them again.

Dee
June 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Employs unscrupulous telemarketers

(1 / 5)

  I will never choose this company even if they offer 1c a KWh because of the fact that they have hired unscrupulous telemarketers that call at least twice a day using spoofed caller id to make it appear they are calling from a local number. I have asked them several times to remove my number from their calling list but to no avail.

My response to this daily harassment is to black list Mega Energy even if they are a genuine company. Do everyone a favor and please don't buy energy from this company.

Paul
December 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible, it will cost you money and time in the long run.

(1 / 5)

  Terrible, they are supposed to notify you when your term expires, they didn't and they are charging me a $50 cancellation fee well after my term expired. Can't fight it because no one there answers the phone!

Unhappy Customer
November 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Falen answered my question

(4.8 / 5)

  I called about KH charges. Falen was very helpful. I am very happy with Mega Energy right now.

Jayne Bailey
September 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shady Comapany/Rude

(1 / 5)

  -10 Stars; My experience with Mega Energy has not been favorable. I am not a customer, nor do I want to be. I keep getting 5-6 calls per day, these calls appear to be cell phone #'s and some of these are numbers belonging to people that have no idea their numbers are being used for telemarketing. Spoofing is the correct term. I had one call that is the emergency gas leak # for my energy company and the individual on the other end insisted he was calling from Mega Energy. I have repeatedly asked to not be called anymore, which has turned out to be a waste of my time. Nor am I appreciative of the argumentative person on the other end.

K. Martin
March 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Non Stop Phone Calls

(1 / 5)

  This company in NO WAY should represent Duke Energy. They call my home 3-4 times each day with a different phone number listed. Have asked to be removed so many times and they just hang up. Duke needs to pull the plug on this company. FTC is my next stop.

robert daley
February 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Robo calls to customers on Duke Energy do not contact list

(1 / 5)

  I receive between 2 and 4 phone calls daily from someone identifying themselves as a Mega Energy employee. They call using a fake telephone number (local residential #) so you can not trace their call. I have asked repeatedly to be removed from their list to no avail. Some reps are pleasant, apologize and state they will remove my number. Others simply hang up when I ask to be removed. On occasion I receive a call from a local residence asking why I called. I guess Mega Energy has utilized my number when performing their scam calls. I would never do business with a company that drums up business this way even if they cut my rates by 50%!

Robert
January 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mega Energy is a Slimy Scamming Company

(1 / 5)

  I am called 2-3 times daily from Mega Energy India outsourced call center, Mega Energy is cheap crap company and there India call center representatives will not take no for an answer. There so-called representatives will lie and claim they are from Duke Energy they are not and now they are Caller ID spoofing local area phone number to get you to answer your phone. Caller ID spoofing is the practice of causing the telephone network to indicate to the receiver of a call that the originator of the call is a local number not the true originating India outsourced call center. It's time to take a stand no more outsourced call centers! What ever you do never give these or anyone your energy account number because the next thing you know you will have changed energy providers. I will never understand why Ohio permitted this BS to go on, do not switch to Mega Energy they will raise rates they are nothing but lying scum.

Laura Bullion
January 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

how to stop robo calls from Mega Energy?

(1 / 5)

  They call using fake local phone numbers 3-4 times a day.I've asked them to remove me but they just keep calling.Reputable companies don't use fake phone numbers

mj
January 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely Happy!

(5 / 5)

  Every year when my energy plan is up for renewal I dread looking for the best rate pit there. A neighbor of mine referred me to Mega Energy and so I bit the bullet and called. The customer service rep was very polite, patient and helpful. I ended up signing up for 24 months in stead of 12 because the rate was a very decent rate. I access to online billing, auto draft, etc.
It was pain free. I have not had any issues with billing which was my main concern.

I would definitely refer this company to friends and family.

Alicia V.
November 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

#1

(5 / 5)

  Love the company, excellent rates and great customer service. I would highly recommend this to my friends and family!!!

Anonymous
November 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Questionable

(1.8 / 5)

  These people called today offering to "save" us money on our electric bill.
They told me "Obama has declared war on coal" and then quoted me a 5-month rate that was higher than what my utility company is currently charging. I calculated that I'd be paying them $11 *more* per month right off the bat!
They assured me that my utility company was planning a rate increase in a couple months and *then* I'd be saving money!
I can't see much benefit to paying Mega Energy more than I'm paying now for electricity in the hope that I might save money a few months from now, if and when my utility raises their rates, and if their rates go higher than Mega Energy's already higher rate.
My impression is they just piggy-back onto peoples' electric bills, charge more money, and that's how they make a living... off dumb people paying them the higher rates they charge.

No Fool
May 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nasty Unethical Company

(0.2 / 5)

  They sign you up for a certain rate and then switch it after four weeks. STAY AWAY!!!! They try to trick you. My poor husband spent hours on the phone dealing with them. You will regret doing business with Mega.

Lori K.
October 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TOP NOTCH COMPANY

(5 / 5)

  This retail electric provider, in my opinion, has one of the best assets a company can have: excellent customer service. Here is where customers are retained or lost and I certainly intend to keep renewing my contract over the coming years.

CJ
October 11th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions