Green Mountain Energy Logo
DC PSC# :


Big Fan of GME

(5 / 5)

  As promised, the rate on my bill only increased slightly. I feel better paying my bill each month knowing it is going towards cleaner sources than before.

Five Stars
June 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars

(1 / 5)

  I wrote a review that was detailed and not very flattering. After its posting, it just so happened that numerous customer thought they should right in and share their great experience. All the reviews say is great experience.

Don't you like to go online and disagree with people about their unfortunate experiences with your utility provider? You have not? Well then who wrote them? Do you think it is possible that those reviews were written by employees? I would have hoped that Green Mountain would have trained their employees in writing a credible review before posting a bogus review. (i.e. credible reviews actually mention why their good or bad experience was rather than "its great"). It also interesting how many more reviews were written right after mine. That timing doesn't seem odd.

What do you think...

1. a bunch of people decided to go online and right good, non-specific reviews right after my terrible experience or
2. green mountain is faking the reviews

I'll bet you that they are liars.

Jeffrey G
May 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Company in MA

(5 / 5)

  Ive had many problems with energy providers before. This company hands down has the best price and customer service.

Vivian Aliati
April 1st, 2019

Thank you for the great feedback, Vivian. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable environmentally-friendly energy options. We're always here if you need us.

Green Mountain Energy Responds May 1st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do yourself a favor and select a different provider

(1.8 / 5)

  Run.

I selected Green Mountain in May of 2018. In December 2018, I took a new job with 6 days a week travel and would turn my heat down, everything electric off, while on the road. Despite the change, my bills kept going up. I thought I missed a payment or something because it was impossible for me to be using "more energy". This week while on the road, my neighbor had his electricity turned off. My neioghbor thought he had the best deal in electricity because his bills were so low and kept using more power (well that would explain something). The account that was turned off was mine, but the power went out in my neighbors unit. I called Green Mountain customer service and got a rep.

The rep said I paid Oncor and had to call them. Green Mountain is Oncor's customer, not me. I asked him,"can you see my bank account?" Reps response was passive aggressive non-sense to waste my time. I interrupted,"do I pay Oncor?" 3 mins later the rep said,"Yes" I responded, "I am looking at my bill pay screen and Oncor is not on it. Green Mountain is. Do I pay Oncor?" Reps response is "yes". I followed up,"I just told you I do not pay Oncor, yet you said I do...you are lying". The reps response was more passive aggressive, not-related-to-the-issue-nonsense. Finally, I asked for someone that would not lie to me and would help me with my issue. It took 4 mins for him to write notes before he could transfer me and then it was 8 mins on hold.

I finally get a "manager". I describe the problem where Green Mountain has been billing me for the wrong apartment. The Mgr's response is,"I am looking at your account and the meter number is correct". I tell him that Green Mountain interrupted my neighbors service so the meter is wrong. Mgr,"no, the meter number is right, I can see it right here". The Mgr proceeded to tell me,"I am not trying to call you dumb, but you are wrong...I can see here it is the right account". "I am not trying to call you stupid, but the account here clearly states its the right number". I responded,"If its the right meter number, than why did the power go out in the wrong apartment?" Mgr,"I am not saying you are stupid, but the meter number on your account is correct". At this point, I am longing for a 10-year-old that can add 1 + 1.

I switched strategies and I went through the same conversation with the Mgr about having a relationship with Oncor as the Rep and guess what...the Mgr also said I paid Oncor. It took another 5 mins....because he had to get his passive aggressive banter to waste my time to instead of trying to address my problem...but finally he admitted,"well you pay us and we pay Oncor". Finally, Green Mountain admits that both the Mgr and Rep lied to me when they said I paid Oncor.

But we are not done yet. Now the Mgr starts with,"I have to give you a warning because you are disrespecting me." Really! You got to be kidding me! So I said,"you lied about me paying Oncor, but I don't care. How do I get this fixed?" The Mgr's response was,"the account is correct". I was finally,"I don't want to call you stupid, but what should I call someone that doesn't understand that their system number and my actually apartment are not linked?"

Finally, I was,"look...who do I need to call if, hypothetically, a meter is hooked up to the wrong unit?" Mgr,"you need to call Oncor." I asked,"Can I have that number please?" Mgr,"yes, but I don't want to have to give you a second warning for being disrespectful. If you would..." I had about had it at this point and decided what is good for the goose was good for the gander. I interrupted,"I don't mean to be disrespectful, but could you give me the number?" The Mgr starts up again and I interrupt,"I hope I am not wasting your time, but if it would not be too much trouble, could you please give me the number? I know it must be hard to tell me the number, but I would really appreciate your efforts in trying to tell me the number." He tried his passive aggressive nonsense a few more time only to be interrupted by me with the same passive aggressive, I-am-not-insulting-you-but-what-I-am-saying-is-actually-insulting-language. At this point, the Mgr was not having his fun anymore and he gave me the number to call at Oncor.

I thanked him for the number but had to follow up. "I am in a Lyft getting a ride home and my driver just confirmed that I was very patient, use no demeaning language, and never cursed the whole time. Do you think that you are good at your job when you have to give a respectful customer 1 1/2 warnings and take 30+ minutes to give a customer a number to solve his problem?" Dead silence from the Mgr. I am not proud of that question, but given the silence, I hope it hit home and does some good to his future and future customer experience.

In summary, do not do business with Green Mountain. The customer service get's its kicks by trying to piss you off with passive aggressive behavior. There are alternatives that are similarly priced...even green options.

Jeffrey G
March 29th, 2019

We are very sorry to hear about your experience and we thank you for the feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve our service. We would appreciate the opportunity to look into this issue once more to come to a resolution. Please send us a message with your account #, REF #1801 and additional information to Feedback@GreenMountain.com so that we may investigate the issue.

Green Mountain Energy Responds May 3rd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just make it right

(1 / 5)

  I was a Green Mountain customer for over four years. I just found out they switched my account with my neighbor and I own a tiny house so I overpaid severely for over 3 years. Basically this happened because I owned both houses until 2015. When I sold one house they took me off the wrong account. Oncor discovered this error (they called it an inadvertent gain in electrical lingo) during an investigation and now Green Mountain refuses to correct it. They even reported me to the collection agency for refusing to pay the last erroneous bill. My neighbor said their last bill was 32.77 and mine was 247.00 so I am not paying it I only owe 32.77 (which makes sense because I moved out and turn everything off but the fridge). I think I estimate I have paid about 1500.00 to much over 3 years. And also when I cut off my service my neighbor actually had service cut off instead because accounts were switched and they had to go to a motel in the middle of the night with their 2 year old and then they had to pay a 500.00 dollar deposit to have service turned back on even though I had cut it off. In addition to that my neighbors were told to get an electrician to come out when it kept getting cut on and off. It cost them 800.00 and they will never see that money again. BEWARE YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED about how they do business. I am now contacting an attorney, filing a complaint with the Texas Public Utility Commission, and the Attorney General. Update: Someone contacted me after this post from GM and during the conversation confirmed that they received a report from the December 17th Oncor investigation on December the 26th. They put me on hold to file a dispute for reimbursement then came back and abruptly told me they could not help as it was under investigation with the Texas Public Utility Commission and the other department handling the matter had not concluded or discovered the error yet. Really????? Really???? Will the other department ever discover that error??? I will keep this updated. Its one thing to make a mistake-we all do and the average consumer knows this. Its another not to make it right. I will update this post if Green Mountain comes clean and treats me fairly. I want to be fair but I don't want anyone going through what I have gone through.

A little poorer in Texas
March 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Without Power Freezing

(1.2 / 5)

  There is an overnight freezing warning in Houston- I asked to pay on the 15th. There is nothing they can do. So here my daughter and I sit. Its cold. It is also unlawful.

Cold Mom
November 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be wary of the base charge and their ability to give you a more exspensive plan when renewing!

(1 / 5)

  I have been a customer of Green Mountain Energy for 4 years and WAS pleased until I called to discuss a better rate. The CSM stated a cheaper plan was available and that he would change the contract and waive the termination fee for the existing contract. After placing me on hold, came back on a stated they cannot waive fees, so long story short BE AWARE. Be wary of the base charge and their ability to give you a more expensive plan when renewing! It is NOW obvious Customer retention and customer loyalty is NOT in the Green Mountain Energy vocabulary.

BE AWARE of GREEN MTN ENERGY
October 26th, 2018

Our goal is to always provide our customers with the best possible service. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations and we thank you for the feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us a message to Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF# 1800 and any additional information, so that we may further investigate the account issues.

Green Mountain Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst ever

(1.4 / 5)

  I had been a customer for GME for over 4 years & we recently moved and was told they serviced our area and signed up for a new plan had the date set to switch over to our new house. New owner contacted me to advise my account was closed? Called GME (3rd time) and they then informed me that they dont service our new house-thankfully we could get same day service with the new provider. To add insult to injury they called 5 days later to see if I had received my final bill & would be able to pay for it? Deceived by 2 different representatives and they gave the new owner the run around-bad news for GME new owner is a local real estate agent for a large firm. Sure GME wont get any recommendations from her or her firm.

Dont Choose GME
September 12th, 2018

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience, as this is not the experience we want for any of our customers. Will you please send your account # to Feedback@GreenMountain.com so we may further investigate this issue? Thank you.

Green Mountain Energy Responds September 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies! Do not use Green Mountain Energy.

(1 / 5)

  Was roped in by Ira Josephs. He was very miss leading about Green Mountain Energy!

The billing says it all.

March 0.067, April 0.087, May 0.113, June 0.146, July 0.167 PER KWH!!!

My bill went up by hundreds of dollars with no warning. Pecos rate was around $0.068 per kwh. Crazy they get away with stuff like this.

Ian
September 6th, 2018

Hi Ian, we are sorry to hear about your negative experience. Will you please send your account number to Feedback@GreenMountain.com so we may look into this for you? Thanks!

Green Mountain Energy Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

min5

(4.6 / 5)

  Cost chart was an eye-opener as green mountain energy occupied spots 2,3,4 regarding electricity costs. My bill is about 30% cheaper - NOW, since switching to GME!!! I was motivated when TXU Energy was going to "change" electric rates GIVING ONLY ONE MONTHS Notice. Switching to GME Has proven to be a WISE Decision.

RonCast
July 23rd, 2018

Thank you for your great review! We are here if you need us.

Green Mountain Energy Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed with Green Mountain

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been with green mountain for a few years. When my plan expired, I received no notice. I just received a $425 + electric bill! I called customer service and the man told me my kilowatt price and he didnt seemed at all concerned to keep my business! I asked him flat out, do you want to keep my business. He was quiet didnt say yes. So I went to choose another provider. I went with TriEagle! I already have received notification from them that they will notify me before my plan changes! Wow! Im already impressed! Heres hoping for a good relationship with TriEagle!

Carol
July 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shut off and shut out.

(1 / 5)

  Ive had gmp for years and despite being vigilant in the past with my energy consumption my bills are off the charts high. I have a small 1 bedroom apartment and my bill this winter was 350 a month!! I had a gf that paid the bill i oaid all other bills. She left me with a thousand dolllar bill in March. I paid 640 in 6 weeks and got 2 more high bills putting me almost back where i was in March. I got disconnected a week ago cause i coukdnt keep up with such a high bill. I was met with a tough crap response to fact i have a 15 month old and 4 year old living with me. I called around for non existent assistance and had a state run agency advocate for me explaining my situation and that id pay in 2 weeks and they wouldn't budge. All my food has gone bad. I live by candlelight and flashlights and its not fun. Im extremely dissapointed they are so uncooperative and insensitive. If there was another company i could go with i would. Ive always had issues with gmp. They could never explain why my bill is always so high for so many years.

Robert
May 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long-Time Customer

(5 / 5)

  I don't understand this rating, my experience with Green Mtn has been fantastic! I have used them for many year & have been very happy. I would highly recomend you give them a try because sometime review are just not correct. Thanks, Rickey Allen

Rickey Allen
May 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service

(5 / 5)

  Good service

Joseph
May 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Green light for Green Mountain

(4.8 / 5)

  Ive never needed or contacted customer service. Billing is accurate, payment is automatic, if the price looks good to you then go for it!

Big D Bubba
April 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to sign up, but difficult to get them to honor specials

(2.2 / 5)

  I signed up with Green Mountain under a deal when they promised a $100 gift card. I never received my gift card. I then moved to an apartment where utilitied were included, so I did not have to order electricity service, and had a past due balance with Green Mountain. My intent was to use the gift card to take care of my past due balance, but I still never got it. After that lease was up, I moved back to another apartment where I had to get electric service and I went back to Green Mountain. They still tried to charge me for the past due balance and still would not send me my gift card. Customer should not have to jump through hoops just to get what they are entitled to. For this reason I would not recommend Green Mountain.

Marcus H
April 28th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  My experience with Green Mountain Energy was not bad until 2018. You would think to be their customer since 2015 they would have treated you better. I consistently renew my contract annually to get on their fix rates plan; however, this year I didn't receive an email reminder from them, as a result, I did not sign for a fixed rate and my electric bill was ridiculously high. I recently called Green Mountain Customer service to ask about my billing. They said: "I am currently on a month to month." Which is about 80 plus more per month compared to what I used to pay with a fix rate plan. I asked, "is there anything you can do to help with the previous rate and who can I talk to help address this." Their response was "I can add a $30 courtesy credit on this month account." I asked: "What about the other month?" Their response: " Well, we did send out the letters to your house three month in advance and there is nothing we can do if it is you who didn't take action." I asked, "who in their right mind know and decided to pay a higher rate?" Overall, I am not satisfied how they treat their long-term customer and help their customer solve their problem. I would not recommend this company to anyone!

Nguyet
April 23rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Expensive

(2.6 / 5)

  I have used Green mountain energy services on recommendation from my Apartment leasing for about 2 years. i thought initially its a good plan with cheaper rates but it got a hell lot of expensive i last 1 year and i paid almost thrice the amount i used to pay. i have no regrets on the services but they became really expensive now with other cheaper electricity plans available in the market. SO i would recommend to do search on other plans available in your area.

Anonymous
April 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy til the end

(3.6 / 5)

  The price we received with our initial contract was outstanding. No issues during the life of the contract. However, a letter comes and tells us of a 40% increase in price. Therefore, we switched to another provider. And as a parting gift they hit us with a $200 contract cancellation fee.

BGWatson
April 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Don't

(1 / 5)

  I had green mountain at an apartment that I moved into because the apartment complex recommended them. Their rates were a little expensive but they claim to help the environment, so whatever. The problem came when I moved out of my apartment to my new house. I called to get my service transferred and was on the phone for about a half hour before being told they couldn't find my new address in their system. A month later I find that I'm still being charged at my old address so I called to get it taken care of and the agent I spoke to "Carlos" told me he had no record of a call.. About 15 minutes of me insisting that I called he was able to find the call and stated that since I had wanted to transfer my service and didn't specially say to cancel it they left it running and couldn't do anything about it. I asked to speak to his supervisor and he told me he was the supervisor and no one else was available. About 10 minutes after insisting I was finally able to speak to his supervisor who stated it was a bad situation and understood it seemed like bad customer service to me but she couldn't do anything. Moral of the story, save yourself the headache and go with someone else for electricity. If you're worried about the environment take the money you save by using a different service and donate it to an environment charity. You'll be happier for it.

Freddie N.
April 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions