433 Reviews and 90 Replies for Green Mountain Energy

Green Mountain Energy Logo
DC PSC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 1.74
Order Experience 1.95
Customer Service 1.63
Billing Quality 1.65
Likely to recommend? 1.45

Washington DC Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Green Mountain Energy

Green Mountain Energy Company was founded in 1997 with the mission to change the way power is made. As the longest serving renewable energy retailer in the country, Green Mountain is a green power pioneer.


WORST ENERGY SERVICE EVER

(1 / 5)

  do not go with green mountain energy. I cancelled my services with this company back in may. They sent me a bill and i cannot seem to get a direct answer from this company on the break down of my bill. I called and i talked to a lady on the phone she said that my bill was competely wrong and she would give me a call back a couple days later. She never called and then I called again and I was asking Wanda about the charges on my bill and she started yelling at me because I the charges do not add up because they were continuing to charge me when i cancelled the service. I DO NOT commend green mountain. Their customer service is horrible. I have never been yelled on the phone due to a electricity bill when all I am trying to do is get a break down of my services. WORST COMPANY EVER!

brittnee
July 28th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.

Green Mountain Energy Responds August 3rd, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disgusting

(1 / 5)

  I have been a customer with Green Mountain for over 10 years. When I last called they were very rude and ignorant. They were unable to assist me in any way whatsoever.

I had put a block on my credit card to make sure that no one could gain access to the available credit. It was my fault, as I neglected to make it high enough for them to push through my automatic payment because it is difficult to keep up with my average billing due to the fact that after the winter storm each month it seems to go up $50. When the payment does not go through you cannot establish automatic payments again for SIX months??!!! It very much makes you feel like youre a child and you are in punishment.I have all of my bills set up on automatic payment because I only get paid once a month. Upon explaining this to the gentleman on the phone he stated well maybe you should set it up to come out of your checking account. Clearly that was an issue seeing as I get paid three days after they want my money, which I had explained before his comment was made. At the tune of $360 currently, which is $100 more than it was during COVID when EVERYONE WAS HOME (this is also WITH free nights) its hard to sit on an extra 360 to get ahead of it to pay from my checking. At this point I navely thought that being a customer for 10+ years might make him feel like he should treat me with a little more respect. However I was wrong, when I discussed leaving I was told that it was no problem. Do you need me to cancel today? And Just so you know you have $500 banked that you will receive a bill for because of average billing. I dont understand how banking my overages and racking them up to the tune of $500 is beneficial to me in any way. Their customer service is disgusting. I cannot believe that after being a customer for 10+ years they really just could care less if I walk away. So I am on here shopping and fully intend to change ASAP. THANK GOD I could not find a decent plan with Green Mountain in order to re-up my contract, as once you are in they dont offer you much at all. Because now I am on month-to-month I can just walk away, otherwise I would be hit with a $250-$300 fee to add to my banked FIVE HUNDRED!!! Let me just say that no one told me about the bank when I signed up and I spoke to someone to make sure this was beneficial for me.

Karma081421
July 22nd, 2021

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1845 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds July 23rd, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad customer service, bad company

(1 / 5)

  Really upset about this company and the employees, they are really bad in customer service, they make things wrong and bad bill statements
They put on hold for long time on the phone.

Pita
July 15th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1844 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds July 21st, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest

(1.2 / 5)

  I had been with them for 5 years. The main selling point for me was the electric delivery charge on my TXU bill. After my initial contract I never received any offers, I just got a bill each month. Well this last month I looked at my bill and guess what, the same electric delivery charges. So I went with another provider and now they say I owe a $300 early termination fee? Someone will have to explain because I never signed another contract. So how did I terminate early? They adding this just thinking people will pay? Very dishonest. Sad that a loyal customer gets treated like dirt. Pay your bills and get screwed for being a good customer.

M Ostasewski
July 14th, 2021

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1843 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds July 21st, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(2 / 5)

  Poor customer service last month electric bill was kinda nice $170.00 this month paid $321.00 over $150.00 jump in just one month glad I am going with txu !

Mark
June 29th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.

Green Mountain Energy Responds July 1st, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cutting power without warning

(2.2 / 5)

  Been happy customer until yesterday when they cut power at my address without warning. I moved and they were very prompt to add my new address and switch on power. They were also very prompt to cut power at my old address without warning although house still on the market. When I called to move they asked when power had to be switched off. I could not provide an answer since house was put on the market for sale. They put a date and told me to call to change it if I was selling it. My online account showed both my accounts with end date in 2025, the end of my 5 year plan so was not worried. Well, they cut power without warning. And now they want me to switch to a month to month variable plan, much more expensive. Needless to say, I changed provider. I was on autopay so very low maintenance for them, by definition always paid on time. Unbelievable the lack of care for their customers. I highly recommend to look elsewhere (the only reason it is not one star across the board is because they were prompt to sign me on the first time)

Serge
June 24th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1842 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds June 24th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

liars, and will put on your credit report lies

(1 / 5)

  I had Green Mountian for 3 years. Paid on time every month. The last year the bill kept going up and up every month. When I tried to call CS to find out the issue I was not given a straight answer ever. So I decided to change company after 3 years. I emailed customer service to make sure I was through my contract and was confrimed I had been. I paid my last bill on 11/17/2017, I then got another bill for over $500 due to be paid in December 2017! I changed companied in October. They told me it was due to cancellation fees and last bill. How do I have another bill over $500 when I switched companies in October! Now I have this on my creidt report as an unpaid bill (the only one on my report) and having a negative impact! I have NEVER had a negative impact on my credit rating and now these people after 4 years have me on there! I have tried to call the company and they said nothing they can do. The credit collector says I have to have proof of payment in full. How the crap do I get anything when GM says sorry can't pull up your account so nothing we can do for you! I have all my emails for payment for 3 years but nothing for payment in full account closed, they would never provide me with an account closed statement and couldn't tell me why I had a bill for November when I didn't even use them in November! How do I take care of this! I refuse to pay something I DO NOT OWE

mm
June 18th, 2021

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1841 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds June 18th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad company

(1 / 5)

  We were without power for 4 n 1/2 days with this company. My bill after the freeze was 133. Then 141, then 160, n now. they r charing me 194. It just keeps on going up. N we have the all nighter free nights. It suxs. We only have 1 TV in my 3 bedroom apt 2 bath apt. Everything is disconnect accept the stove n washing machine n dryer I wash at night. This company suxs n I h had major problems with there app. Made some payments thru there damm app. N they would send me conformation n I would call customer service to make sure they got the money n they would say yes n bamm at the end of the month they were charing me the previous month n the current month. Cheap asses. N now I make my payments over the phone with a live person on the other end of the phone. No more dumb apps for me. I cannot wait for my contract be over. This company suxs go somewhere else n get better service n rates. Please.

anna
June 16th, 2021

Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1842 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds June 18th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst provider I have ever dealt with

(1.4 / 5)

  During my 11-month usage plan, I was over-charged for 3 months and double charged for 1 month. The investigation took 3 months and during which I have to make multiple phone calls to get my money back (still in process). Waste of time and money. Regretted that I have recommended the service to my friends. Should never do that!

JC
April 20th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1842 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds May 13th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Average Billing Service is a Scam

(1 / 5)

  I am super annoyed and disappointed with Green Mountain level of service. I switched over from TXU and for the first year my billing was great and managed to reduce my billing to an average of $60 per month. After renewal they sent me information on average billing I called in to pay a bill and requested information about average and was advised that it should help me lower my bill and prevent my bill from going up and keep my bill at about the same amount each month. So that sounded good and I advised the rep to go ahead and sign me up for it. But lo and behold since activating the average billing my bill as tripled. I have been calling in each month and was Informed since were in the winter mu usage had gone up but I have had them for over a year meaning I been through a winter with then and my bill was never that high before. I finally said okay can remove this average billing because it seems to have impacted my billing. Only to be told that would mean I would have over $340 owing that would have to pay on my next bill. So this led to further discovering that this average billing actually creates a debit amount each month that they add to future payments which ultimately increases your bill. So not only has my billing tripled but I now have money owing because of this average billing and I have never missed a payment and I always pay my bill on time.
I asked for a channel to address my concerns. I was sent to a supervisor and explained that what they aware doing was wrong and this has a negative impact on peoples livelihood.I was basically told that there is nothing they can do to help except provide a payment plan for the money that had accrued I asked for a resource to raise my concerns and I was given a P O Box Number for Houston. O top of this they now want to to incur additional expenses to get a letter to them to let them know they should be providing customers with fil and adequate information before offering a service that actually increases costs.

Kurangwa
March 25th, 2021

Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1841 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds March 26th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thank You Green Mountain

(5 / 5)

  During the winter storm here in Texas I was so nervous that my bill would go through the roof.
I was one of the lucky ones who did not lose power. I'm a senior and was very very concerned that I would experience price gouging. I did not and I can't tell you how proud I am to be a Green Mountain Energy customer because if it. As we know, other electric companies did try to price gouge.....So sad and so wrong during a time of great devestation....
My complete and sincere gratitude and compliments to Green Mountain Energy for their
honesty and obvious care and concern for their valued customers...
Thanks again and job well done
Green Mountain.
I will continue to recommend your services to family,friends and others...

Ms Sherry
March 19th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Happy with Green Mountain Energy

(5 / 5)

  I normally never, ever take the time to write reviews but after seeing so many bad ones, I felt compelled to share my experience with Green Mountain Energy. I have been a completely happy customer with them, and their customer service is beyond great. No hidden fees, prices are exactly what we agreed to. I highly recommend this company. Also, during the Texas freeze this year, we NEVER lost power save for the couple hours in the middle of the night due to mandatory rolling blackout.

Happy Customer
March 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will Rip you off

(1 / 5)

  CAUTION: this company makes it money scamming you. They are sneaky. My contact ran up with them and they will only "send" you two letters which I never received, not certified mail or anything. From there they will raise the prices TRIPPLE the average cost and then you will never hear from them again. This went on for over a year till I caught the price increase. DO NOT USE

Clint
February 26th, 2021

We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1840 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 26th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love Green Mountain Energy

(4.4 / 5)

  I've been with them for over 5 yrs. no gimmicks. not the cheapest rate but best bargain overall when you have stability of fixed rate and no unexpected fine prints.

Truli
February 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away

(1.4 / 5)

  Over charge for everything and sneak in extra fees all over. Very bad business and I regret using them.

Dissatisfied
February 12th, 2021

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1836 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 12th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hidden Pricetag is FAR GREATER than advertised

(1 / 5)

 

Adrian
February 7th, 2021

Hi Adrian. We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1838 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 15th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I wish I had read other reviews first

(1 / 5)

  I selected Green Mountain because they used wind mills, I am not sure now because they are not truthful , I paid my bills on time for a year. Last month they disconnected me for being a few days late. Everything in refrigerator went bad. The rate they gave me was much higher than what I was told.

Louis
February 7th, 2021

Hi Louis. We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1839 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 15th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1 / 5)

  I never sign up for a contract with this company so how the hell are they on my dlc power company bill and at that their charging me more than my regular power company and to top it all of we call them 2 time to tell them to stop billing us and they did not listen so I recorded the last conversation so nun I can take it to my lawyer and sue them for all the money they stole off me

Don
January 28th, 2021

Hi Don. We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1835 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.

Green Mountain Energy Responds February 3rd, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1 / 5)

  I agree with Green Mountain Energy being a complete scam we never signed up for it not one bit and never knew what it was at all until my electric bill was raised by more than double and we called our power company and they said the due to the extra amount was because Green Mountain Energy but once again we never signed up for that I have no clue how they got onto our power bill we never signed up for them I can't stress that enough so my wife got a hold of somebody from Green Mountain Energy and we told them kindly quit charging us we never signed up for you guys we do not want any thing to do with your company and guess what on my next pay they bill me again through my Duquesne Light so this time when I call them I'm going to have my lawyer contact them and I will sue them for everything they charge me which is well over $2,300 until we finally caught on their their scam do not trust them

Don
January 27th, 2021

Hi Don. We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1835 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.

Green Mountain Energy Responds January 28th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Blatant Thievery

(1 / 5)

  Do not be fooled by this company. When they u expectedly and viciously raised and doubled their monthly payments we were outraged. Because no matter what we still have to pay the exorbitant rate which Im wondering is legally allowed. There has got to be some criminal element involved. If you are receiving their plan, run away as quickly as possible. If you are considering this company here is your warning. Dont do it!

Unsatisfied customer
January 22nd, 2021

We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1834 and additional information.

Green Mountain Energy Responds January 26th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions