Do not use this company!

(1 / 5)

  Over 30 minutes hold time to speak with customer service and they do not offer recommendations for issue resolution!
On line bill pay account is always locked and unable to process or submit payment!

Disappointed customer!
September 27th, 2019

We are sorry to hear that your experience was less than outstanding. Keep in mind if you have trouble getting through on the phone, you can connect with one of our Live Chat agents from our website at www.directenergy.com. Thank you for the feedback regarding the website; if your account is locked out, we can certainly assist with getting that resolved for you. Thank you for the review, and we hope you enjoy your holiday season!

Direct Energy Responds December 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(5 / 5)

  Direct Energy had the best price for my needs and they provided all they promised.

Rosiern
September 25th, 2019

Thank you for sharing this review based on your personal experience, Rosie! This is exactly what we strive to achieve for each and every one of our customers, so we love to see the affirmation. We thank you, and wish you a wonderful weekend!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No communication

(1.4 / 5)

  Hadn't received a bill in 3 months and couldn't understand why until I was notified of a change in my provider to another company, problem is, I did not authorize the switch to another company. I never even thought about switching until this whole fiasco. I was charged $40 after the situation was resolved, for what? I don't know. Looking to leave them asap.

Erica E.
September 17th, 2019

Hello, Erica. Finding out that you have been switched to another provider, without requesting the move, must have been incredibly frustrating for you. We are sorry to hear that this was your experience, but please keep in mind that Direct Energy is not able to initiate a switch on behalf of one of our customers. Any type of switch would have been initiated by the new company, so we would recommend contacting them for additional details. Thank you, Erica, and enjoy your day.

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Grifters

(1 / 5)

  In the month of August I was gone from the 7th to the 25th, received a bill for $108. and some change, my previous bill for the entire month was $111. and some change. When I left I turned off the air conditioner, not even a fan was on. So how do I end up with a bill that high. Told the csr that I was not home when I noticed the high usage and I wasn't home. I will not recommend this company to anyone. If I could give this company zero stars that would be my rating. Csr's are sometimes hard to understand, poor English. To ensure that I will not have to pay for early termination fee, I'm moving to an all bills paid apartment. People be ware of these people.

Janice Williams
September 14th, 2019

Hello, Janice. We are sorry to see that your experience thus far has been less than outstanding, and that it has caused you frustration. We agree that the scenario you described in the review doesn't really add up, and we would like to take a closer look with you and see if we can get things resolved. We were unable to locate your account with the limited amount of information provided in the review; if you would like to have us take another look at the account, please engage with one of our Live Chat agents via www.directenergy.com, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST. Or, if you prefer, email us directly at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, Janice, and we hope to hear from you!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Solicitation

(1 / 5)

  I had a representative stop by my house today wanted me to change my gas and electric plans to direct energy I asked for more information and contact info upon doing this the solicitor became angry and stormed off and told me to enjoy my variable rates great business model direct energy send solicitors out around dinner time and have them tell off possible customers

Matt
September 12th, 2019

Hi Matt, and thank you for letting us know about the experience you had today. This is clearly not the behavior we would expect from our door to door personnel, or any other employee, for that matter. We are sorry that you were treated disrespectfully, and appreciate you taking to alert us to the situation. Thank you, Matt, and have a great night.

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

0- HORRIBLE SERVICE & COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  0- HORRIBLE!!!! STAY AWAY, they are a RIP OFF and they LIE!!!would give it a 0 but can't it just let me give it a 1 My bill is so high and no one is at home from 7am -6pm and supposedly my day time usage and free night time are almost the same that's bull can't understand that my thermostat is set @ 82 while no one is at home and @78 after 6pm while at home There costs for kWH are not true. Barley switch and the bill scared me off wish I hadn't switch with them thinking they had a good deal, NOT!!!! Called customer service and they just wanna switch you plans

Martaarechiga60@gmail.com
September 11th, 2019

Good afternoon. We hate to hear that your bill was higher than you had anticipated, and can certainly understand the frustration that goes along with the situation. Our intention is always to operate in a truthful and transparent manner, so we take any suggestion of lying or misleading our customers very seriously. We were not able to locate your account based on the limited information connected to the review, so we would ask for you to contact us directly with your information. We are happy to look into this with you and see if we can clear up any outstanding questions or concerns. We would also like to review the account and your usage, to ensure that you are on the plan that best suits your needs. Please contact our Customer Service Department toll free at 1-866-348-4193, Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. CST and Saturday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST. You may also engage with one of our Live Chat agents via www.directenergy.com if you prefer. Chat agents are available Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. CST. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DE

(4.4 / 5)

  It looks like a nice service and distribution.

DE
August 13th, 2019

Thanks, DE! We appreciate the support!

Direct Energy Responds November 7th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Promotions are false BEWARE

(1.4 / 5)

  I wanted to search other options for my electric bill. I signed up for the 12 hour fee nights with echo dot in May. I never received the dot so I called and they gave me a $25 credit. My prior company was great just checking options. My highest bill in the heat of the summer was less than $400. My first bill was over $500. WHEN I CALLED THEY TOLD ME BASICALLY THATS YOUR BILL. I immediately called my prior company and reenrolled with them. The disconnect charge saved me well over a thousand dollars more than the cancellation fee. Beware their promotions are false. My one month bill with them was almost double my prior carrier.

Unhappy customer
August 11th, 2019

We are sorry to see that our partnership together ended on a negative note. This is not the experience we were hoping for you. If there are any remaining questions or concerns regarding the account you referenced in your review, please do not hesitate to contact us. Our Digital Support team is available through Live Chat https://www.directenergy.com/ and Social Media https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/. Thank you for your time. - Megan / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Weekends on Command Plan

(1.8 / 5)

  Worst decision I have ever made when it comes to choosing an energy provider. We signed up for the nights on command and then when I logged into my account it said we signed up for the weekends of command plan. I had not even heard of the weekends on command plan before and was upset then confused. We tried calling about that but decided to just stay with the plan because it was more convenient. Our bill the first month was $37.00 and our landlord and neighbors said that is pretty normal and at most the bill gets to $60.00 with their energy providers. The bill then jumped to $123.00, then $137.00 the next month. I tried calling to see if this was a mistake because we are not home most of the day during the week, and do not use lights during the day when we are home because we have so many windows. We even unplug almost everything in the house! The only thing we leave on all day is one window A/C unit for our dog. Our house is barely 600 sq ft, with no central heating and cooling, so this price was outrageous. We tried calling to see if there was a mistake but the lady on the phone just kept trying to explain how to use the website... I know how to use the website. She was no help at all and we are switching. We were told it would be a $139.00 cancellation fee which we were fine with, but then decided to tack on 6 different fees to that making it $217.00! Seriously, this energy company has terrible customer service, is over priced, and will screw you over with crazy additional fees never mentioned in the contract.

Noel
August 7th, 2019

HI Noel,

We apologize for the confusion regarding the Weekends on Command rate plan. The free weekend time frame is from 6pm Friday until 1159pm Sunday CST. Non-free weekends are 12am Monday until 559pm Friday CST. You are charged during the non-free weekend time frame and you receive a monthly bill credit for the free weekend time frame. If you would like further clarification on this rate plan or wish to discuss alternative rate plans with a lower cost, please feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat.

Direct Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

False advertisement

(1 / 5)

  The free nights are not free. Do not fall for this at all. My bill has never been over $250 and now its over $400. I asked to why and I was told it was because the free nights are double the amount of what a regular price is. The direct energy agent was the one that did the figuring and could not explain why it was different and would not adjust it or let me speak to a supervisor.

Keith
July 27th, 2019

Hi Keith,

We certainly would like to apologize for any confusion regarding your rate plan. With your current rate plan, your daily free usage period is 9pm to 859am CST and you are charged for usage from 9am to 859pm CST. Regarding your monthly invoice, you receive a charge for the total usage as well as receive a credit for the free usage period. Here is a link to assist with reducing your electricity usage: https://www.directenergy.com/learning-center/energy-efficiency Should you wish to discuss alternative rate plans with a lower energy charge, please feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat.

Direct Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Took over foe Bounce

(1 / 5)

  Horrible C S unit. Couldnt answer any questions about the transfer they initiated due to buy out! Chat service is slow and poor. Basic account questions couldnt be answered.

AO
July 23rd, 2019

We sincerely apologize for the experience, and we want to make sure that all your concerns are addressed. If you have further questions, please let us know by sending them to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your full name, service address and account number. We look forward to hearing from you!

Direct Energy Responds August 12th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not use

(1 / 5)

  When my electric provider exited the market last May, I was forced to go to a direct energy company. After 2 days I found another provider due to the rate I was offered. Since then, my identity was stolen by a person who had access to my social and opened up a fraudlent account online. They didn't pay the bill for 3 months and it went on my credit rating. My credit rating dropped 120 points for a $181 charge that wasn't even mine. They let anyone enroll online and don't need to show any proof, but to clear this up on my credit rating I need to provide 5 different documents, including a notarized statement and a police report. That is just irresponsible to not ask for proof at the time of opening an account. So if they get your information, don't be surprised if your identity is stolen and you have to suffer my pain.

Victim of identity theft
July 19th, 2019

Good Afternoon,

We apologize for the inconvenience and negative experience leading to your identity being compromised. Enrollments may be processed on our website, by phone or with a door to door agent. With enrollments, we do require date of birth, name and social security number to run a credit check and determine a potential deposit amount. In the event, that the information is invalid or does not match up, we will request additional documentation to verify the identity of the account holder. In the event that fraud has occurred, we advise visiting the following link for assistance: https://www.directenergy.com/TEXAS/CUSTOMER-SUPPORT/FRAUD

Direct Energy Responds August 5th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Trash company

(1 / 5)

  I paid my account in full $217 and some how they still sent a disconnect notice to center point. Thats a trash ass company. Come home to no power. And now there close so i have to wait until they open to get my power back on.

Pissed off
July 16th, 2019

Good Afternoon,

We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience with our company. We do issue a disconnection notice with the amount needed to prevent disconnection prior to the disconnect date. Services may be disconnected at any time on the disconnect date as stated in the notice, once payments have posted to the account, we advise it can take up to 4 hours for service reconnection based on the local utility.

Direct Energy Responds August 5th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

House call

(1 / 5)

  Had a fellow come to the door, he did introduce himself, I saw where he was from and stopped him from going into his speil, told him I was happy with whom I'm with. Got a little testy, asked me if I didn't support the troops. I told him of course I do. He told me this was his second job since he got out of the service, I thanked him for his service. I still can't figure out what him being a veteran has to do with me not wanting the services (Direct Energy) he was wanting to tell me about. Told me it was ridiculous for me to stay with whom I am with. His name was Joseph. I didn't want to rate this, but it made me.

Betty
July 13th, 2019

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We would like to investigate this further for you. Please contact us and provide as many details as possible regarding the agent such as his name, badge number, date of the visit and your address. We will forward it to the appropriate department to investigate the sales practices of the agent.

Direct Energy Responds August 5th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service and knowledge of service plans

(5 / 5)

  My agent Amanda, was amazing. She has extensive knowledge of the service plans, and helped me compare the plans to find the one that was best for my family. This type of customer service makes me happy to have direct energy as my energy provider. Thankyou Amanda

Tanisha
June 28th, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful review, Tanisha! We will be sure to contact Amanda and her supervisor with your positive feedback! Have a pleasant day.

Direct Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Email said

(1.8 / 5)

  Not one email about missed payment despite having electronic billing. Even got an email saying thanks for your payment. Then 10 days later they shut my power off after sending one letter. Didn't read it because I have autopay and I read the emails. Pretty ridiculous to send me thank you for payment emails and then cut off my power. I will never use this company again.

Direct Energy is the worst
June 27th, 2019

Good morning! We see that you gave us a 1-star rating. We send notifications each time a payment is declined or payment information needs to be updated. In the event, that the account becomes past due, we may issue a disconnection notice advising to submit payment by a specified due date. If there is anything that we can do to help improve your experience with us, please feel free to reach out to by phone or live chat.

Direct Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service To A Brand New Customer

(1 / 5)

  After contacting Direct Energy over the phone for my very first time, after being transitioned from my previous company and put on a very high rate month to month plan, I waited on hold for 10 mins to speak to a representative about my service. Once a rep was available, I explained the need to lower my price per kw, because 16.5 seems extremely high to me considering the other company's offers in the area at 6.5. I was then informed that the only option available to me, to get 11.5 before oncor fees, would be to sign a 2 year contract with them, even though I have been on a fluctuating month to month for over 3 years. When asking about that rate at a month to month, the rep stated that they could not offer that to me based on their policy. I asked if customer service was their priority over policy and she said no, that the policy was more important. She did not try to retain me as a customer and only tried to get me to sign a 2 year contract with a company that I have just started with, instead of offering me something that tailored to my needs. That is the most terrible customer service for an electric company especially when the competitive rates are so much better. Instead of trying out this company, I will be moving my services to another one who cares about their customers needs instead of a contract where the business gets paid regardless of valuing the customer's needs. I was also not offered any of the promotional things that they apparently offer to new customers, free echo dot's and such that I noticed on their welcome page.

H
June 24th, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We certainly apologize for the frustration that this experience has caused and want to help make things right. Renewal offers may be reviewed in the online portal by selecting Account Management then selecting "Renew Your Service or Switch to a Fixed Plan". There are multiple plans to review in the online portal that consists of different promotions. Please keep in mind, as with many companies, rates are subject to change each renewal period based on the market. Should you need any assistance, please feel free to reach out to us by phone or live chat.

Direct Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad experience after 3 years

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been Direct Energy customers for 3 years, when I decided to move to my new house I called them (30 days before moving) to transfer my service to my new location (75056) but the representative told me the service is not available on that area and they don't charge me for early termination. When I saw my statement they charged me $135 for early termination, I called again and the representative checked my new zip code and agreed to waive this fee. Finally today after checking my credit card statement I saw they charged me $135. Really frustrated with their customer service.

Ali
June 20th, 2019

We certainly wanted to take a moment to apologize for the less than exceptional experience. Upon review of your account, the early cancellation fee was included with your final invoice. A waiver request was submitted and a credit of $135.00 was applied to your card on file as of 7/8/2019. Please be advised it can take up to 10 business days for the refund to show on your account.

Direct Energy Responds July 15th, 2019

I confirmed I received my credit, regardless of what I mentioned above I was totally happy with Direct Energy service but unfortunately they don't offer service in my new area.

Ali Replies July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(4.8 / 5)

  The Customer Service Chat Representative "Amanda" Was Very Helpful and Was Very thorough. Thank you Amanda.

Rhremodel69
May 21st, 2019

Thank you for the wonderful review! We will be sure to contact Amanda and her supervisor and provide the positive feedback!

Direct Energy Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Super fast and easy live chat!

(5 / 5)

  I was just concerned about when I'd be receiving my free Amazon Echo Dot, so I went in to live chat. To my surprise it was rather fast and easy to use. Cres got back to me quickly to answer my question. I thought I'd have to call and be on hold to speak to someone since mine was a new account, but I didn't and I was satisfied with the answer and service I was given!! Thanks so much for making it so easy!

K. Whittington
April 25th, 2019

We appreciate the positive feedback! We aim for excellent customer satisfaction and we are happy to hear we were able to satisfy your energy needs. We will be sure to inform Cres and his supervisor of your feedback as well!

Direct Energy Responds June 17th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions