975 Reviews and 441 Replies for Constellation

Constellation Logo
DC PSC#:

Category Average Rating
Pricing and Plans 3.45
Order Experience 3.52
Customer Service 3.36
Billing Quality 3.37
Likely to recommend? 3.22

Washington DC Energy Ratings Score:

( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low



This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Constellation

Beware

(1 / 5)

  I have been trying to cancel service since July 26.

I set up a move out they shut off early. Got it back on now refuse to turn off.

They are rude.

I get the run around and broken promises. The minute I mention puc they hang up and say they will leave it on. They have refused to disconnect and I do not live there. Now I switched my new hone and ready to fight paying that bill for old address or the eft fee.

PJ
August 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Experience

(5 / 5)

  Easy to sign up all aspects of service originally promised have been met so far, making for a great experience.

LLC
August 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

OK while you have them, but stink when you decide to leave

(1.4 / 5)

  Had Constellation for a couple of years. When it was time for renewal, a competitor gave me a MUCH better rate. They delayed the switching dates and charged me about triple the therm rate for the extended period I was stuck with them. I called when an unexpected bill came in that showed me as STILL being a customer of theirs, but was given less than zero help.

Atlanta - Former Customer
August 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electricity

(4.6 / 5)

  Conversion went smoothly and I savemoney

Margaret Berold
August 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

new customer

(4.4 / 5)

  took time but worked out well

new customer
August 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run....don't just walk away from Constellation.

(1.8 / 5)

  Was sold & promised water heater protection until needed it, then lo and behold, told that Constellation doesn't have a service provider to honor the commitment. With repeated attempts to get to the bottom of why sell something you can't provide, I was told that some of the areas they promise it to they don't have providers but it doesn't stop them from promising or moving them forward to locate and maintain a service provider in their areas where water heater protection is promised. Georgia Gas Savings rep recommended that Constellation was the best deal, partly the cost of terms and part through the water heater protection. I've been thoroughly disappointed with how everything has gone after the order was place & the service turned on. Constellation, why promise what you know you can't deliver? This aggravates customers to no end and gives fertile opportunity for disgruntled customers like me to air grievances. Shame on you!

Bob Faver
July 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Going with something new.

(5 / 5)

  rying something new. So far - 3 mo - going good.

Sheldon Roush
July 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Currently pleased

(4.6 / 5)

  Fairly easy to complete service.

John
July 21st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lack if transparency

(1.2 / 5)

  Called July 19 about 3PM with the intention of leaving GEXA. Plans and most reviews were pretty good. I asked the agent three very simple questions. Took 20 minutes to extract those answers. The questions were these. What is the price per kwh at 1000, 2000, and 3000. Was told the numbers would vary from the quoted rates. So I asked the questions another way. What is the highest kwh rate I would pay between 1000 and 2000, 2000 and 3000, and 3000 and 4000? Finally got answers after just flat insisting on them. Final question was: Will you send me those quotes in writing. Agent stated they would only send the 1000 kwh quote. Spoke to supervisor Daniel Garza. Again, went around the world to finally get the quotes I needed. However, would not agree to put the maximum kwh price in writing. Really disappointed in the lack of transparency on these calls. Would have signed up in 10 minutes if getting answers were not the equivalent of pulling a wisdom tooth whose roots were wrapped around the jawbone. What a shame. Was prepared to become a Constellation customer. Guess I should have tempered my expectations before I called. Really sad.

Terence Gary
July 19th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good set up experience

(5 / 5)

  The ordering, online account set up, and billing process was easy and convenient.

Lazar Harris
July 11th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Promise Water Heater Protection and when needed they said, "We made a mistake." We don't service your area."

(1 / 5)

  Signing up with Constellation was a 'no-brainer'. Was the best rate AND a water heater protection plan! I was delighted...however, delight turned into disgust about three weeks into the contact/service period as I had a need for someone to look at water heater. Called for their service as was promised in their contract:
As a protection plan customer, there are n deductibles or co-pays and you'll pay $0 for covered parts and labor up to $2000 per contract year. Plus, you'll receive unlimited service calls and priority service scheduling from our network of local, licensed technicians." I believed this contact as it was signed by Kevin Klages, Senior Vice President however, when I called the main customer service said I was out of their service area. I took issue with this and was directed to the number to call for service on covered equipment and was told the same thing that they made a mistake and don't service the area. They need to "own" their mistake can cover the costs of the service call and repair of what was their 'covered equipment'. I called to share my displeasure with their outcome once my water heater was repaired. I asked for compensation to cover the costs. I was promised on Thursday, 7/1 by customer service that a supervisor would call me back. It is Wednesday, 7/7, nearly a week later and no one has called or attempted to call me from Constellation. I called again the morning of 7/7 to again voice my displeasure at the 'no customer service' in resolving this issue and I spoke with supervisor Ms. Verity, who referred me to another department that handles service on covered equipment - the service they say I don't have. LOL

Bob Faver
July 7th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Where are they?

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up for Constellation to be my carrier. Several times they attempted to contact me. I called them back. They asked me for the meter number which I read them every number on the meter I could find to no avail. I suppose Ga. Power never submitted it. I have yet to receive a bill. I'm only using gas for stove top at this point which, I'm sure, is minimal amount. Later I plan an on demand water heater and whole house power generator. It would be nice if Constellation would come by, get the meter info and set up my account. I'm not at home frequently but they wouldn't need me there to get the info they need. Meanwhile, I'm receiving free usage which I wish they'd get corrected. Because of the hassle, I believe they should set my account up without a connection fee. Just bill me for the gas I've used since inception. I want fixed rate billing, not variable as I do not care for surprises.

WTH?
June 29th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Went back to them

(5 / 5)

  Previously liked them ..a few years ago but the plan to reup wasn't sufficient...now back

Julie
June 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

very satisfied

(5 / 5)

  easy, and fast

John
June 23rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My first year eval

(4.8 / 5)

  My first experience with your company has been positive. Id like to renew

Rebecca (Beckie) Hawkins
June 23rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Constellation are ripoffs, charlatans.

(1 / 5)

  Constellation has a history of ripping people off at the end of contract. They raise your rates and are no longer competitive. Then when you switch marketers, and arrange to change to another, even if you arrange the switch on the contract end date, they try to rip you off with an early termination fee.

CheatedByConstellation
June 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  Service not turned on as requested and agreed when I signed up for service so power was shut off when contractors trying to work. Customer service phone number required 20 minutes before I reached someone. Customer service claimed it was Oncor's fault. Oncor confirmed Constellation never submitted request. After 2 more hours, learned Constellation is a manual process and they didn't submit request. My contractors and I lost 4 hours of our day troubleshooting ourselves and waiting for power.

Mike In Dallas
June 1st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Owner

(5 / 5)

  This company cares about there customers and works with us threw our hard times

Christine ferrel
May 31st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Owner

(5 / 5)

  This company cares about there customers and works with us threw our hard times

Christine ferrel
May 31st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

How Irritating Can You Get?

(1 / 5)

  From the moment I signed on with Constellation, I was barraged with constant emails, phone calls, and snail mail to get me to do install their junk stuff, promote them to my friends and relatives, and just being a general nuance. I told one of their staff that if they don't leave me alone, I going to cancel with them choose someone else even if it means higher rates. That finally stopped the ongoing irritations.

I don't want your stupid stuff
May 18th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions