Horrible company with horrible processes

(1 / 5)

  For dec billing i was on autopay and somehow my card got declined. Cirro did not even give me the courtsey of a call or email telling me that the payment did not go through and within 5 business days they shut off my electricity. I was out with my kids in the cold and trying to call them and then they tell me that my payment was declined. On top of that to cover their asses they lied they had sent an email and i get an email the next day morning saying my card was declined after i had already restored power.

I never choose Cirro energy as my provider but my account was sold to them through Pioneer Energy and now I am stuck in a contract with a company which sucks and doesn't even inform the owners and shuts down the power.

Horrible customer service and experience with the company

PS
January 16th, 2019

Thank you for bringing your issue to our attention. This is not the experience we want for our loyal customers. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1701, and contact information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not sign up with Cirro Energy....The customer service sucks!

(1 / 5)

  The Cirro Energy recently merge with Power Express and they bill me twice for one month. Once by Power Express and again by Cirro Energy, each for 15 days interval. I had a contract with Power Express to receive $80 rebates if my usage was more than 800 kwh, Power Express honored the contract and refund me $40 for 1/2 month. Cirro Energy refused to honor it even though they indicated that my contract with Power Express will be honored with same term and pricing. I spend 1/2 hours talking to Cirro Energy customer service without any resolution. This was my first dealing with them and they are terrible company. Stay away from them....

Abby B
January 7th, 2019

Hi Abby, we're sorry to hear you're unhappy with your plan. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1702, and contact information so we may assist you.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro is horrible

(1 / 5)

  I switched to Cirro in August. Everyone of my Bill's have come late. Every bill o get sent a 10 disconnect notice charge and a 15 late fee. I tried to pay my November bill online and was told my credit card expired that I had originally set up my account with. There is no place on the website for me to update my credit card nor can I chose auto pay. Every month I have to pay over phone. I should of never switched from my previous provider. I was with them 5 years and never had any issues. I switched to save money and so far I have paid 100 in bs fees.

Chris
December 20th, 2018

Hi Chris, we're sorry to learn of these billing issues. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1703, and contact information so we may look into this.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't get levelized billing

(1.8 / 5)

  Went to levelized monthly billing and they charged me the monthly charge after one week saying that was when the meter was read. Never explained that to me when I signed on.Not cool but I should have expected it.

Ronny P
December 10th, 2018

Thank you for bringing your issue to our attention. This is not the experience we want for our loyal customers. Please email feedback@cirroenergy.com with your account #, REF# 1704, and contact information.

Cirro Energy Responds January 30th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What a joke

(1 / 5)

  We were involuntarily switched to Cirro when they bought the provider we were with. After two months of not receiving a bill, welcome letter, anything, I tracked down whom I was switched to in order to avoid service interruption. They had been sending it to a completely different address. I set up an online account and it showed that I was in a contract with them until October 1st, 2018. Since the rate was higher than the going rate, I made a note to contact them. On Oct 6th I logged in to see what number to call to discuss a new plan and saw that my bill had jumped up 7 cents per kilowatt. What???? Ok, the contract is out, I'll get that fixed. I call and proceed to have the most asinine conversation. First they tell me that I was month to month and didn't have a contract. I pointed out that my online profile says that I do. He looks. Him - Oh, that just means that the rate you were paying wouldn't go up before that date but it wasn't a contract. Me - then why is listed as the "CONTRACT END DATE"? Him - thats just what we call it but its not a contract. ??????? Me - Ok, the contract that isn't really a contract ended on Oct 1st and my statement was generated on Oct 3rd but ya'll charged me the increased rate for the entire period, not just the 2 days. Can we get this fixed? Him - No, unfortunately we can't have two rates in a period. Me - So you're telling me that you are going to charge me an EXTRA $150 because I didn't cancel my contract that wasn't really a contract on the expiration day (but not really because it wasn't a contract)? Him - Well, if you sign up for a 24 month plan, I can see if I can get the rate retroactive to the 3rd. Me - And what about the overcharge on the current bill? Him - No, I'm sorry, I can't adjust that. Me - You honestly think I would sign a contract with you when you are overcharging me by $150 right now???? Him - There's nothing I can do.

By the way, this was a supervisor. I hope he doesn't have an employment contract that turns out not to really be a contract.

Heather
October 12th, 2018

Thank you for reaching out. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to investigate this issue. Will you please email Feedback@CirroEnergy.com with your account number, REF# 1503-2 and the best phone number to reach you at so we may locate the account, escalate this issue for review and reach out to assist?

Cirro Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Energy Inconsistent With Electricity Facts Label Terms Disclosure

(1 / 5)

 
Cirro Energy, (parent company is NRG [U.S. Retailers L.L.C.] which is the largest retail electric provider in Texas with subsidiaries Reliant Energy, Green Mountain, and Pennywise), bought out another electric company that I had a contract with, Pioneer Energy. In the Houston Chronicle in the Energy section on August 1, 2018, they quoted spokeswoman Pat Hammond, Cirro will honor the contract terms including the price of energy for the duration of the contracts.
On August 21st, 2018, Cirro took over my electric services and on that same date, I received an email telling me I was now enrolled in a Cirro plan called Smart Simple 36 that after talking to Cirro customer service representatives, was told consisted of 12.9 cents per kWh for three years rather than my Pioneer contract that is one year at 8.34 cents per kWh. I was told repeatedly for over a month by Cirro representatives that Pioneer Energy had submitted my contract information that showed that my contract was 12.9 cents kWh for 3 years. This was in spite of my submitting by email to: service@care.cirroenergy.com, my copies of Pioneers Electricity Facts Label, Terms of Service and Rights as a Customer. Also I was told by Pioneer that they had submitted the correct paperwork and to wait and see if they bill me correctly. I was billed according to the Pioneer contract but on the bill, it still showed my plan as Smart Secure 36. During this time, the Texas Public Utility Commission (PUC) was involved.
Then on September 20, 2018, Cirro emailed me a copy of my contract that was supposed to have been revised but it STILL showed 12.9 cents per kWh for 3 years. The following day, I received a phone call from Cirros headquarters in Plano, TX, who again told me that my former company, Pioneer Energy, had sent my contract information to Cirro, that showed it to be 12.9 cents per kWh for 3 years. Then after I showed the PUC the most recent contract sent by Cirro, Cirros management told the PUC that they had accidentally sent the wrong contract!
Cirro sent another contract but it STILL shows the length of the contract for 3 years. The Texas PUC closed out the complaint anyway, just citing them only for inconsistencies with the Electricity Facts Label (EFL) Terms disclosure and recommended Cirro provide me with a corrected EFL that shows the correct terms. This Texas PUC report was written on 9/24/2018 and I also requested a corrected EFL, but I am still waiting for the Electricity Facts Label that reflects my actual Pioneer Energy terms!
I do not understand how a legal contract that is to be honored and was specifically written into the terms of the buyout, is not cause for regulatory agencies like the Texas PUC to take more definitive action to protect consumer rights. I was in this complaint process for over a month with the Texas PUC and Cirro, but instead of Cirro immediately sending the corrected contract that very first day of the complaint, I waited over a full month to finally get a slightly modified contract that STILL was not corrected to the terms of my previous contract with Pioneer!
And still the Texas PUC closed it out!
Also a fair warning to everyone: whenever you sign up for any electricity service, it is imperative that you save a copy of your Electricity Facts Label as this is your legal contract with that company and without it, unethical companies like NRG and their subsidiaries can, at will, tell customers that the contract information received from the former electricity company is more costly and for longer lengths than what your actual contract terms actually were, and trap you into contracts that are not legal if you dont protect yourself.
So, in closing, how would you define the problem? Would you define it like the Texas PUC, as only an inconsistency by Cirro Energy to disclose what my contract terms were after the buyout? Or do you see this as a more serious issue for Cirro customers?

Tired of Tone-Deaf Companies
October 10th, 2018

Thank you for reaching out. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to investigate this issue. Will you please email Feedback@CirroEnergy.com with your account number, REF# 1701 and the best phone number to reach you at so we may locate the account, escalate this issue for review and reach out to assist?

Cirro Energy Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Signed Me Up for Unauthorized Onerous Plan During Transfer of Pioneer Buyout

(1 / 5)

  Nature of complaint: Contract Issues
Problem description:
Cirro Energy bought out Pioneer Energy and both companies stated they would honor all remaining contracts from Pioneer. It was stated on websites and emails sent to customers. However, I received an email from Cirro stating I was signed up for their Smart Simple 36 Plan which turns out to be a 3 year contract with Cirro Energy at about 13 cents per kWh. I never signed up for this and dont want it EVER! My remaining contract with Pioneer is until August 31st, 2019 at .0834 cents per kWh with no service charges and no charges if below a certain level of use (as some plans have). It is a fixed .0834 cents/kWh. I have all the relevant contract paperwork from Pioneer and submitted it online to Cirro and Pioneer Energy also submitted my contract information to Cirro. I was told the correct contract would be straightened out & in writing by August 31st.
It has been over three weeks that Cirro has taken over my service & Cirro STILL has me down for the plan THEY signed me up for; I have called & emailed so that I can set up my online account & set up auto bill pay but I cannot do any of that until they put the correct contract in writing! I also asked them when my first bill would be due & they told me to contact CenterPoint Energy & refused to answer the question. When they respond back by email, it takes them 5-6 days to respond and their answers are unhelpful and illogical & do not address their plan of when my correct contract will be sent to me. They appear obstructive in their behaviors.
Desired Outcome:
Correct contract in writing in timely manner that reflects Pioneer Energy contract terms as stated during transfer between Pioneer and Cirro. End of obstructive behaviors and more timely customer service responses that reflect problem-solving skills. Note: I did NOT choose Cirro Energy as my service provider, I did NOT choose the Smart Simple Plan they STILL have me enrolled in, and I will NOT choose them in the future when I actually DO have a choice! There is a pattern of Cirro Energy doing this to customers that were acquired by business buyouts promising the same contract rates & then later blaming the former company for not providing the correct paperwork dating back to 2011 and possibly even longer than that. This is an unethical, predatory company with a long, long history of this and other customer abuses. Where is Texas consumer protection laws? From where Im standing, they appear to be completely gone and illegal, corrupt business practices are thriving in Texas every single day thanks to removal of regulatory clout that State and Federal agencies use to have (due to legislative changes paid for by companies like Cirro and its parent company NRG with their other subsidiaries consisting of Reliant, Green Mountain and Pennywise).
They do not respond to emails any longer and even though they have all the proof they need regarding my previous Pioneer contract, they will not put it in writing so that I am assuming it will cause a late fee on purpose and the start of a highly acrimonious relationship!! I have an excellent credit rating and have no tolerance for these kinds of businesses!!! I have not signed in online as I will not agree to any service agreement with Cirro until my CORRECT contract with Pioneer is in WRITING and I have made that very clear to Cirro. The only contract I have is with Pioneer that I have actually signed and agreed to!!

Consider This 75
September 9th, 2018

Your business is important to us, and we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to look into this issue. Please give us a call at 1-800-692-4776 to speak with one of our customer service representatives or email us your name/address/account number and this issue to service@cirroenergy.com so we may locate the account and further investigate. Thanks!

Cirro Energy Responds September 28th, 2018

After filing complaints with both Texas Public Utility Commission (Texas PUC) & Better Business Bureau of North Central Texas that lasted over a month in duration, Cirro still had failed to correct the contract until the Texas PUC intervened and Cirro FINALLY after all that effort, sent a revised contract reflecting Pioneers contract RATE but it STILL shows the LENGTH of the contract at 3 years (instead of the remaining 1 year) so the Texas PUC wrote them up for continuing inconsistencies with the Substantive Rule 25.475 General Retail Electric Provider Requirements and Information Disclosures to Residential and Small Commercial Customers Electricity Facts Label Term Disclosure.
In spite of my attempts to contact Cirros customer service and their Escalation Department at email address: escalatedissues@cirroenergy.com listed on the Better Business Bureau website, no one responded back (to continued requests to correct the contract to its correct contract length)! Cirro continues to confuse the issue i.e. the actual contract terms that were to be honored after the buyout from Pioneer Energy and instead of correcting the contract to these terms, continues to alter the terms by not making the current Electricity Facts Label from Cirro accurate. Cirro says the correct things to the regulators, such as they plan to honor the former companys contracts that they have bought out but I have found that if your original contract has low rates & it is not profitable for Cirro, they will ASSIGN you a contract of THEIR choosing! HANG on to ALL your ELECTRICITY FACTS LABELS when you sign up for any electricity product (like I did), so if that company is bought out, you can prove the old contracts TRUE terms and not be taken advantage of by unscrupulous businesses. But even with my own copy, Cirro STILL would NOT change it until I had gone to multiple agencies for help. I am afraid without this paperwork, Cirro would take full advantage of the situation and assign you to a high rate, long term plan just as they tried so hard to do to me. Cirro does NOT honor contracts (as stated by this company during buyouts) when it is not profitable and has become so brazen that they now even challenge those individuals WITH their own copies of their contracts from the (bought out) former company.

Consider This 75 Replies December 31st, 1969
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro

(1 / 5)

  I did everything too have cirro for my energy provider and they never followed thur to be my energy provider. now I'm stuck with high electric cost from my old provider.

Duane
June 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible customer service and scam with all their extra charges

(1.4 / 5)

  Had Cirro for several years now. Rates have been very competitive but that's all the good I have experienced. Had to report them once to Texas Utility Commission as they had my monthly bills and payments all messed up and just kept piling on extra charges thinking I owed them money. Their customer service is pitiful and treat you like "money payment" and could care less about a customer. Only reason I have renewed is their rates but you have to call in for best renewal rates.

David in the Fort
May 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They sell you a fantastic plan and as soon as you get on it they change it!

(1 / 5)

  Was sold a plan and as soon as we were signed up they changed the rate. TXU did the same thing also. WE are on SSI and needed an affordable rate. They lie and tell you anything to sigh you up and then switch and bait you.

David
May 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor billing and customer service practices

(1.4 / 5)

  Came home yesterday to find our power had been shut off, which I thought odd because we had just paid our bill via bank draft. Called Cirro, and representative stated power had been shut off due to non-payment. When we explained that we had paid, even showing proof that the money had come out of our account, customer service still stated they did not see a payment. We received no notice ahead of time of delinquincy (which we weren't) and no notice of warning of shut off). We paid the bill a SECOND time while on the phone, via debit card, and they sent a work order to Centerpoint to turn the power back on. However, because it was after 6 pm (or 5:30, depending on who you asked) there was no guarantee that the power would be back on that evening. Multiple different customer service agents told us multiple things about whether the work order was priority or not, whether Centerpoint had 2 hours or 24 hours to turn power back on, etc. They could not even tell whether Centerpoint had received the work order (Centerpoint stated for the entire evening that it was not received). The lack of communication between the two companies, and the disparate information coming from alll of the agents, was astounding and disappointing, and we will be looking for another power company as soon as possible.

Krysten P.
April 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Use Cirro

(1.4 / 5)

  I switched to Cirro because my brother recommended them. Big mistake. I signed up during a good promotion of 8.3 KWh in February. I called to ask questions. I was going to sign up for web exclusive. The rep said she could do it for me so I did. (Don't believe them because they will mess you up.) I thought everything was set up for March 13. On March 12th I found out that my contract was cancelled. I called and spoke to someone. I was having a bad day. The rep said a mistake was made and it was cancelled because the utilities commission thought there were 3 TXU accounts. So I asked about signing on line to get the Web exclusive. I wanted the $50 credit for the first bill. As the guy was talking he gave me a different plan and I wasn't paying attention. I received an email that stated I had the web exclusive plan. To make a long story short, I was signed up to a different plan. Part of it is my fault for not paying attention but I got the email that said it was the web exclusive. When I spoke to Cirro about it, the supervisor didn't want my email. He said the voice conversation said I agreed to the smart secure 12 plan not the web exclusive. (I think he didn't allow me to hear the whole thing because I know I mentioned the $50 credit.) You would think because of the misunderstanding, I would be given some kind of discount. Now no discount and a higher KWh. I should have stayed with Ambit. I(Since I see the low reviews for Cirro, I am going to drop them when contract is up.)

tg
April 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Use your power to choose!!

(1 / 5)

  website has glitches. Call the 800 number and you will either get disconnected or it will be busy most of the time.
I've been with them for years but it's all about making money, not service. From now on I will choose a provide who values SERVICE...isn't that really all they have to sell? They don't produce power, they don't own the distribution lines...it's ONLY service...choose wisely! After having my electricity turned off due to the website not working and then getting a busy signal when I called the 800 line (after being disconnected) I'm moving on.

Unhappy Customer
April 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Jacking Up Prices

(1 / 5)

  After paying 7.4 cents for the last two years, Cirro raised my billing by 2.5 cents per kw! That's a $90 upcharge for the bill. No notification, period. And then while checking out my billing online, I see that they have jacked it up another penny per kw again for the next bill.That's a $115 upcharge from my previous rate. THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS!.

JB
February 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't use Cirro Energy

(1 / 5)

  I have been a wonderful customer for over 2 years. But if you need any plan shorter than 12 months you are majorly screwed and they don't mind it one bit. More in their pocket and the 2 years of being a great customer means nothing. If they can screw you, they will screw you. Simple as that.

MD
February 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Money not being paid to correct accounts!

(1.2 / 5)

  We have had Cirro for many, many years! I have been paying for two different properties with one check for YEARS. I have had NO problems when my payment went to Dallas. Since October,2017, they have messed up the payments. I write on checks which property goes with which amount. Plain an simple. Right? Wrong. They have messed up our two properties Oct. Nov.Dec.an now Jan. I have talked 1to 1 1/2 hours on phone Oct, Nov., Dec. an this month. I also sent them what checks were wrote. How much monies went to each property. I also wrote the date they ran the checks thru! We are paid in Full for both properties, but they keep putting money to other Accounts!!! They keep sending out Cancel notices, which if happens they will be sued an pay expenses! We are paid in FULL for both, if they would just READ CHECK! Since this happened I guess good came from the mess. We switched an will be paying 3 cent LESS a kilowatt. An only a 4.50 extra fee. Wont be paying as much an less Agrivation! YES! I would not recommend, has done a Loyal Customer that paid in Full an on Time wrong!!

Pat
February 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very poor Service

(1 / 5)

  Very poor service. They got my address wrong ,wrong meter than they turn my lights off. REALLY !

Lucy
February 1st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

3 Years Loyalty Means NOTHING

(1.2 / 5)

  I have had service for three years with Cirro, and the auto-renewal did not work, and I was not notified of the kwh doubling in December. SO, I had a $949 electric bill instead of the normal $450 one. I just switched all my rentals and home to TXU, their customer service SUCKS! I will never use them again, and will recommend all my tenants stay away from them. Pretty sad, when customer service is what attracted me to them in 2015. I asked for credit of the overcharge, and would renew their contract.....NOPE - and the supervisor was also NOPE. NEVER AGAIN. HATE Cirro!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jeff Summers
January 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not worth

(1.2 / 5)

  bad customer service. they will not let you cancel your service.

ramesh
October 24th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Worst Energy Company

(1 / 5)

  This is the worst energy company in Houston! This company is taking advantage of hurricane Harvey victims that have been displaced. They have continued to charge us for days after the storm hit when we had no electricity and we called to shut it off! Shame on you!

Adriana
October 2nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unethical company

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been with Cirro for many years. I just got my bill and they raised my rate by 36%!!!! They claim they notified me they were going to do this, but I never saw anything. They refused to correct the bill. I asked to speak to the CEO and they said they didn't know who he was!

MJ
September 15th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY!

(1 / 5)

  These guys are bill switching and generating late charges pros. Guessing they generate a large portion of profits by 'billing' practices which appear designed to generate off erroneous late fees . Every issue is instantly the fault of a '3rd' party.

Larry O
September 5th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not trust worthy

(1 / 5)

  I was cirro energy customer 2010 and 2015. They had a web site upgrade during feb or march in 2015. During the web site change, my credit card payment did not go through. I manually pay the bill later. Their miserable payment system did not treat my payment (late a little because they web site) and refer this to debt collecting agent. They also keep changing the debt collecting agent. I think I may already pay the same amount twice, they still don't treat my payment as full. So you are going to be a customer, you need to keep your paper payment at hand no matter how long. I sure did not. That's why I may have to pay third time to avoid debt collection, which shout not happen at all.

terrible company, say away
August 26th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM to collect extra cash flow via late fees

(1.2 / 5)

  Amazing, i was with Source for 2 plus years. Had been on average monthly billing / auto-pay for 2 years. This racket hijacks the account with allegedly only the info as to to where to send a bill.

Firs bill get is via snail mail (late) , double monthly bill for past 24 months and a LATE fee. Allegedly, no info was transferred over , really, you pick up tens of thousands of customers with no history ... really.

I am betting the officers are laughing out loud at how they did a switch and then added late fess to all those that had auto-pay each month. Bet they are already planning how to spend increased bonus and hundreds of thousands if not millions in late fees.

Larry
August 24th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No renewal notice and rates sky rocketed (from $200 to $500 for one month!!)

(1 / 5)

  No renewal notice. At least Stream Energy sends you a notice in advance and offers you another plan and allows you time to change carriers or elect another plan.

Poor Business Practice at Cirro
August 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraudulent Billing - Debt Collection Agencies

(1 / 5)

  I canceled my account with Cirro two years and paid it in full. Cirro even confirmed this over the phone and sent me a invoice titled Final Bill. In the past two years, I've been contacted by two collection agencies which claim I owe Cirro money. The first company closed the account because they couldn't substantiate it - since it was paid in full. Two years later, I have received a notice from a second collection agency. Do yourself a favor and stay away from Cirro Energy!

T.Cowart
August 4th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service in the billing department EVER experienced

(1.4 / 5)

  I have one year left on my foolish 2yr contract and I am considering paying the penalty to leave. The long and the short of it is I had auto-pay set up through my debit card...which was hacked TWICE. Each time I called and laboriously explained what had happened and I need to pay the account but would be getting a new card in the mail. You just know when the lights are home but "nobody's home" when you get a representative that obviously dislikes their job....and this happened each time I called. By the 5th call they refused to accept my debit card any more but would accept my bank account number...but I had to input it myself on the website which I had to beg to speak to a supervisor to explain they had me locked out of the website. Finally a supervisor begrudgingly unlocked the website long enough for me to input my account information. As my next due date approached I kept watching my bank account and the payment had not been withdrawn. so once again I called the service dept. I started off asking for a supervisor and the young lady refused to connect me. I tried to explain the situation to her and she said not worry the payment would come out on the due date. I explained that "today" is the due date and she assured me it would come out. 2 days pass... I called back and spoke to a relatively nice man and he informed me my payment did not go through because there wasn't enough money in my account...which was ludicrous. He did let me speak to a supervisor who apologized to me every other word but told me I was blocked for bank card or back account ...so I asked to please verify the number that was input...Sorry he couldn't see the number just the last 3 digits. I had to go to the website and verify it, but I protested I am locked out and cannot verify. After my desperation was finally clear to him he released the account for that one payment but told me I was now going to have to pay my account in person at Walmart or Kroger...so I begged to be released from my contract. I told him it was obvious they really didn't want me as a client so please release me...no can do he said...If you are thinking of Cirro...just say no!!!!

Leslie McCain
August 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it

(1 / 5)

  Source left the residential market, and transferred me to Cirro. Their version of average billing is not average billing. Callbacks promised never happen. I was put on hold for 25 minutes today after I asked for a manager.
Would not waive cancellation fee so I could go elsewhere, yet they cannot provide billing platform I had when they acquired my account.

Bill H
July 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't go with Cirro...

(1.4 / 5)

  I submitted the request on 5/25 for a switch effective 5/31. I received confirmation e-mails from Cirro and Texas Electricity Ratings. As of 6/7 the switch in providers had not occurred and I could not create/access my new Cirro account. I called Cirro and was told there was an error i the system and my switch did not go through. Rep could not seem to understand my frustration and why the switch failure was not my fault. He asked me to re-submit request. I advised it was not my fault and I would not, he would affect the switch. He confirmed via telephone voice recording the switch to Cirro. I subsequently received confirmation from former provider of my selection to remain. I also received confirmation from Cirro of the switch. I have written Cirro Customer Service twice. Finally, on 6/27 my account was switched to Cirro. As a result of Cirro's failure to execute my former provider billed me for an additional month.
I am wholly unsatisfied with Cirro and their ability to provide adequate customer service.

Dennis
July 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst experience EVER

(1 / 5)

  Do not be taken in my their door to door guys. They sounds great. However I had to call the company, luckily, for a second meter that the rep promised to fix and just dropped. They would not honor what their sales rep promised or even get close to his promise. I spent two hours on the phone to finally get a promise for a supervisor to call me. No one has and its two days later. I changed my first meter and am so glad TXU called me and actually beat their rate by 2 cents a kWh for both meters and got it transferred back. Be very careful when dealing with these little energy companies. The big ones can beat their rates and have been around a long time.

Dianna E
July 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst!!

(1 / 5)

  I'm so happy i dont have to deal with this company anymore!! Alot of hidden fees and the bills are outrageous. When you call they are no help and have no respect for their customers!! I would never recommend Cirro, NEVER!! I just went back to Bounce Energy and got my first bill in the mail. I cant believe i ever left them. Do not get Cirro!! Please do you research before committing yourself to such a horrible company!

Chloe
July 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I am done with cirro Energy

(1.6 / 5)

  I would never recommend this company to anyone.First year it is average but if you renew 2nd time it was awful . So expensive. Before the first time contract end they send lots of email for reminder, after that I renew for three months they did not send any emails before contract end. I got surprised when I saw the bill. I ask the costumer service they told me your contract end and it starts monthly plans.My usage less but I paid more $25 dollars .

CMK
May 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Zero energy - how appropriate!

(1 / 5)

  This company must not have a phone, because after being a loyal customer for years, they shut off my power without notice. I had my account set up on credit card auto pay, and after I lost my card I forgot to update the number. 2 weeks after the due date for the payment, they shut off my power without notice. No phone call, no email, and just an innocuous looking piece of paper that looked exactly like the notice they would send to report that my credit card had been charged. CIRRO ENERGY IS THE WORST POWER COMPANY IN THE WORLD! DO NOT USE THEM!

Long time customer treated like garbage
November 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  OnCor made a mistake when changing my meter and transposed numberss resulting in my getting someone else's electic bill. Cirro would not budge in helping make a payment just telling me I had to pay the entire bill.$500 for a 1 bedroom aprtment when my bills have never been over $200 and mostly beneath that. They (Cirro & Oncor) even admitted the situation was not my fault. (After to speaking with Oncor to be sure I was telling the truth) Had to forgo an airline ticket to see my dying father so I could pay their bill or be disconnected;l What a way to treat a long time customer of 10 plus years who has always paid her bill ontime and in full. Very poor service!!!! (Oh, and try not to have your customers on hold for 15-20 minutes) When you get the correction from Oncor you better give me the full credit back including the $10 you charge to send out a disconnect notice. I'm going to be sure everyone knows how poorly you treat people.

Karen Coyne
November 2nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'm finished with Cirro

(1.6 / 5)

  Cirro Energy is not the company it once was. I liked them when I first signed up, but things have gone downhill. The problems began when I moved to a new residence. I transferred my service to the new home, and endured endless problems with billing. The previous owner of the home also used Cirro, but didn't properly cancel the service like they should have. Cirro then tried to get me to pay their bill, even after I sent them documents showing the precise date that I took over ownership of the house. Worse still, their customer service department repeatedly gave me inconsistent answers to questions and could not resolve my problem. They made promises, then failed to keep them. I am finished with them as an energy provider and plan to find someplace better.

Disgruntled in Katy
September 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hidden charges come back later

(1 / 5)

  Transferred service to another company and, at the time, was assured all was paid up. Over a year later, I start getting calls from a collection agency. Turns out Cirro had additional charges they neglected to tell me about. Now it's too late to go back and challenge. Poor customer service. STAY AWAY FROM CIRRO!!!

R
August 10th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reviews are spot on

(1.4 / 5)

  WOW, a lot of reviews are spot on! Cirro has been the worst provider I have ever had in my 27 years of paying the electric bill. I happened to find this web site as I was searching for a new provider.

Go with anyone but Cirro. I have been paying more per KWh and terrible customer service. If you miss the due date they charge 10 dollars plus a late fee.

They will cut you electric service off within 24 days of the end of billing cycle. I missed one month payment, do to my oversight. Before I got the next months bill they had already disconnected power. Unbelievable!!!!

If you are late with a payment expect to be gouged with a "disconnect notice fee" yes a 10 dollar notice for letting you know you are passed due plus!!!! the usual percentage for being late. I understand the need for timely payments but to send an email to you they charge ten dollars!!!!

Scott
June 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible online experience

(1.8 / 5)

  I was with Cirro Energy for nearly 10 years. On year 8, the credit card that was assigned to the account had been stolen so i had to set up auto billing with another card. I tried to do so repeatedly online. I would get confirmation that it was all set up and "good to go" and then a month and a half later, I would get a late notice fee. Then when i tried to pay online each month, it kept making me pay late fees even when i wasn't late. I asked multiple customer service reps for help, but the answer was always no. I switched companies because of the difficulty I had with Cirro's online auto pay system. Ridiculous!

Lori
May 3rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unhappy

(1.2 / 5)

  They very good light company when you pay your bill on time. The bad part is after so many disconnection notices they quick not to give you a payment plan.

Berena tijerina
March 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

If you want loyalty... get a dawg!

(1.6 / 5)

  So my 2-year fixed price agreement ended in August.

I take responsibility for not seeing the email that Cirro DID actually send out... between spam and 100's of emails a day, stuff happens.

Wat I don't understand about these companies is that when a contract lapses, and you basically gouge your (former!) customers with crazy month-to-month rates, how many customers are going to hang around?

And then, as the final "adieu, so long", they slap a "Disconnect Recovery Charge" of $25 on the last bill. And THAT's the piece that gets posts like this, along with whatever I can accomplish on Social Media with a few spare minutes during my day.

So, to summarize, I would recommend that () everyone checks when their contracts expire, and (b) check our powertochose.org. Don't hassle yourself with any kind of loyalty to any of these companies... make sure that they know how to do business, and go with the cheapest one out there!

Have a great day!

russ

Russ
November 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Late Payment Posting

(1 / 5)

  I have paid my account thru online bank payment system. Everything was good until the last two months. The bank indicates they submitted the payment for it to be received on time. This work great for 4 months, now all of a sudden they do not pot the payment until two weeks later and after it is due. Poor record keeping in my opinion.

Terry Anderson
November 8th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not good anymore

(1.8 / 5)

  Like others we have been with Cirro for 5 years and have never had any trouble until 3 months ago when I had to contact customer service due to a billing problem. The worst customer service process! Have to enter your account number and address to get to a service rep only to have to give it to them all over again. The service reps have their hands tied and can't help so you have to wait for a supervisor. It took them 2 months to remove a late fee and over 2.5 hours of phone calls...ridiculous. Move on to a different company...they may have good rates but too much competition out there to settle for bad customer service.

Alyssa George
October 30th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service I've Experienced

(1.4 / 5)

  I renewed August 5, 2015 over the phone at 9.9 cents/kwh and they do not have any record of it. I got my bill for September and it is now at the rate of 16 cents/kwh because they said they have no record of me renewing the contract. This is the 3rd major problem we've had in the last 3 years. I'm switching providers today. I would recommend you go to another provider as soon as you are able.

Paul
October 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run Away

(1 / 5)

  I wanted to make sure that I got my bill paid on time so I paid my bill excluding $20.00. My thought process was that I would go by the bank an put 20.00 into by bill account and add that amount to the payment the following day. Well of course I forgot and got busy so I did not do that. weeks later I came home to no lights. I called and got the after hours answering service who then informed me that I was cut of for non payment. I then explained that I had paid and told him the date and amount of the payment from my bank statement. He then informed me that I was disconnected because I was $20.00 short on the payment. I told the guy that I had never heard of a company doing that before. He then told me that he had someone who only owed $5.00 and they were cut off. Well that 20.00 ended up costing me a whole lot more after re-connection fees and food replacement. I bought out of my contract and went with another provider after that.

Ben
June 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience

(1.4 / 5)

  Worse customer service. Lost our online payment multiple times, overcharged us, and they're customer service reps never took notes on all the calls we had to make to them, so each call we had to start over.

Lisa
June 5th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

customer server is horrible and they charge more

(1.2 / 5)

  Terrible customer service, I've been with them from past 5 years, back those days, its a different company (Kinetic energy) and their customer service is really good. Don't know what happened to these guys from the past 3 years its getting worse and worse! we need to blame their customer service hiring policy!
1. I've requested a move of my service in online! and after a week I called them to confirm and they told me the order got canceled (they didn't gave me the reason), again I placed the order through them on phone and they promised me the services will available at new address by the time I move in.
2. I moved in to my new location and called them back for confirmation and they told me they don't see any order for that! every time when I called its a back to square one story. And one guy name Carlos told me he will not transfer my call to his supervisor, when I requested him and the reason he gave me is, I'm not their customer (though I paid monthly bill that afternoon)
3. I spoke with half a dozen people there and every one will put me on hold for more than 30 mins before finally transfer the call to other department! its never ending story.

I fed up with these guys and closed my account and transferred to new provider.

Friends, Cirro is not like old cirro! please move on! they charge more and customer server is horrible.

sasi ravella
June 2nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The reviews here are accurate; wish I had looked here first!

(1 / 5)

  Thank goodness my contract has ended with this "company". I only wish I had reviewed this website first and avoided the hassle. First and foremost, the people who write about not being able to talk to anyone in Customer Service is VERY ACCURATE. I cannot tell you the HOURS I spent on the phone with agents who had no clue what was going on, and there was NEVER a supervisor available. I frequently spoke with agents in Longview, TX and it sounded like there was always a party going on in the background rather than a business. I was told different things on the phone everytime I called, but no one ever wanted to put anything in writing. I now know it was because they were lying non-stop so they could deny what they said later. The biggest problem in my scenario is that I have a RESIDENTIAL agreement with them, but I was charged 12 months COMMERCIAL delivery charges because they said it was Oncor's decision. The building where I reside was at one time a church with a parsonage. They can see it is only residential now. I was the one who had to do all the leg work and conduct follow thru with Oncor. In the meantime, Cirro just kept pointing the finger at Oncor and robbing me commercial rates. So I have a "residential" agreement, but am really being charged commercial rates. Hmmm....can you say fraud? And even after I pointed all this out to them, they still sent me another residential agreement? Next letter is to Public Utility Commission. Everyone makes mistakes, but a real business has someone there to talk to to work thru problems and then honors what they tell you they will do on the phone.

Lisa M
March 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

don't use this thief company

(1 / 5)

  I been using this company since 5 years ago every years I renew my contract it's no issue but the last year before when the contract its finish the charge me last 3 month double Brice

Tariq jaber
March 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  They changed me from a competitive rate to an almost double rate without warning stating that my plan was now a flexible plan and the rates of electricity were higher, while still offering a much lower rate on a flexible rate plan on their website. I ran into some financial problems and called to see if some arrangements could be made and they were extremely unhelpful and unsympathetic even though I had been an on time paying customer for years. I have had it, and am switching services and so they sent me a final bill for January that is over $200 dollars higher than my December bill, and I wasn't even home most of January. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS COMPANY!

Ken Shelton
February 5th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No More

(1.8 / 5)

  As a preamble, I have been a Cirro customer for years and have an excellent credit rating. Cirro's bill has a due date of the end of the month and if it is paid one day late, you receive a cutoff notice and additional late charges. Over the years, this bill has been missed just because we normally don't pay bills at the end of the month. We requested that the due date be changed to the first of the month.

Seems like a simple request that should make everyone happy. They would get paid on schedule and we would not over look the bill. After being refused twice by their front line customer service. I requested a supervisor, who agreed to change the due day. Within a hour I got a call that this could not be done despite the supervisor's agreement, because of my poor payment history. Never mind that they have always been paid within a few days of their due date and I have been a customer more than 6 years.

So the only question now, is do I quit now or way 6 months until my contract is up.


Feed Up
January 20th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro System Conversion Problems

(1.6 / 5)

  I've been very happy with Cirro Energy for several years. My contract was up for renewal in November, so I tried to renew in October. The site wouldn't work, so the CSR told me to wait about two weeks until the system conversion was done. I renewed on October 18, 2014, and received a confirming e-mail. As of December 1, my contract shows to have expired, my renewal seems to have never happened, and now I am being billed at the market rate. I was just on hold for 30 minutes, only to be told they would have to put my account in investigation mode, and it would take another billing cycle for them to call me back. So far, the NRG sale has Cirro totally screwed up.....

Tracy Evatt
December 1st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

One of the worst

(1 / 5)

  Horrible Customer Service. To make a long story short I was calling to set up new service and the customer rep actually told me she was to busy and didnt have time to go over their cheapest plan rate available. She said they have lots of different plans and could give me the plan they are trying to push to everyone but did not have time to go through each plan and figure out which one has the lowest rate. Unbelievable. I manage about 100 homes and 3 business and changing my provider for all of them. Upper management really needs to figure out who there best customers are and stop jerking them around. I will never recommend anyone to cirro. I will go out of my way to make sure everyone knows how poor of a company they run.

Tommy
October 24th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Warnings

(1.6 / 5)

  I had a great experience with Simple Energy. Cirro bought them and this was a decent experience until they were purchased by another bigger electric company. I locked in a year and then lock in rates were not attractive for this year...so left to market rate. Bills more than doubled. Previous summer I used more energy and bill was...half the price. About 15 cents a kilowatt hour. I called and asked why they did not charge me the current market rate..why this inflated value -- no answer. (Silence on their end). When I asked what their best - lowest lock in rate/contract was. They cited me a horrible rate -- worse than what was available online through their website. When I called them out on it..they said yes -- we have that. They prompted replied with a worse offer as a counter to the "best deal". When I replied with why they did not give me the Lowest rate initially -- they failed to respond. They eventually replied -- would you like to sign up for the 2 year (bad rate they first shared with me). I told them they failed to address why they took advantage of me in the month to month plan, and then would not share with me the lowest rate when requested -- and that I would be switching companies. A week later -- my online profile with that company was deleted...I will have to most likely wait for the bill in the mail and pay it manually.. I was never rude with them. Never paid late. I just wanted to know why I would pay much more than the market rate.. then if it was worth locking in..what could they offer me. I feel the change in management has led them to some foul practices. I would not..would not use them. There are better rates with better service. I signed up with Bounce for month to month...promo rate is 5.6cents. I called them about the market rate.and they said it varies..but did not expect it to vary too much from 8-10 cents in the next month. I have never left a utility complaint before ..but I wanted others to hear this -- it may save you a $300 bill.

Mr Gerk
October 7th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HATE!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  worst company ever!!!!!! went out of contract and am paying .20KWH

MB
August 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  I cant wait until my contract is up with Cirro, I have never had worse customer service. After months of trying to get them to take care of recurring payment problems, they still turned our power off at 6:30 am with no way of being able to turn it on until after 9, on top of leaving me on hold for over an hour. Once I finally got a hold of someone she would not listen to the problem. I felt I got nowhere on fixing my concerns.

Lacey
June 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No power over Labor Day

(1.8 / 5)

  They turned my power off over Labor Day Weekend. No remorse, no regard to the fact it was a three-day weekend. I will admit I was at fault...missed the payment deadline by two days. My bad. But Labor Day Weekend? Really folks...and someone told me, I have not confirmed this, but apparently they can't even do that sort of thing if the temperature is over 80degrees. Either way...if you can't help a person out like that then no thanks.

Matthew
May 9th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Say NO to Cirro

(1 / 5)

  Company Service is non-existent. If you call before 9:00 a.m. or after 6:00 p.m. (i.e. when you can call because you work!!), all you get is a call center that can offer no customer service, reads from a script and insists there is no supervisor on duty to assist, after incompetence is clear with the rep you are talking to. If you set up auto-pay and there is a problem with the card because it expired, or you had to cancel because of fraudulent activity in connection with the card, they don't notify you - they disconnect without proper notification of intent to disconnect. Sick of their lack of service!!!!!!

Bugged
March 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid like the swine flu

(1.6 / 5)

  I would never recommend this company to anyone. If you have an issue good luck working with their worthless customer service department. Please do not sign up with them regardless of the pricing.

mike smith
March 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

christie

(1 / 5)

  They turned my power off and said I didnt make a payment. I had, after I paid it over the phone, I found they had cashed my check. I called back to say you double charged me and I want a refund. The email was a joke. Client services stink. The response was you have a payment due in two weeks so we'll keep the payment. Then said my 25 dollar creit would go towards shut off fee. I wasnt late so why should I pay this! Im swithing. Never going back!

Christie alford
March 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What have I gotten myself into?

(1 / 5)

  Customer NO+Service is what I have experienced. Today I was on hold for about an hour, finally getting someone to answer, and then being told that customer service was closed today. (Monday) I asked why? The lady said she didn't know, she was just helping out. This is insane. My rate is higher than I agreed to. They have the rate printed in super small print on the bill. Can't wait to dump this rip-off company. I am only locked in till June 10. I wish there was an electric company that I could walk in, ask questions and pay my bill. I am so aggravated!

Jan Dineen
March 3rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

awful Billing and customer service

(1 / 5)

  This tired company will double charge your account and then refuse to give you back the money they stole. I do not recommend this company to anyone. I've had their service for three years and each successive year issues with them have become more numerous. Save yourself a few headaches and go somewhere else. I have never felt the urge to leave a negative review about any company, but this place inspired he yo doll out to warm others of the BS you will experience as their customer.

Sam
September 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!

(1 / 5)

  The customer service for this company is a complete joke. I had automated billing and when my card expired I called them a month in advance to notify them of my change in payment with my new card. They did not make record of this change so I called back the next month and gave them the new payment information again, then it happened the next month and the next!!! Then when I submited my final payment they charged it to the wrong card AGAIN and sent me to a collections agency. This is the worst run company ever, I willl never recommend their services to anyone.

Meredith
July 22nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wish i could get out!!!!

(1.4 / 5)

  I am a new customer of Cirro and i ALREADY hate their service. First of all my lights have been cut off twice, due to non payment. the first payment,came in, the day they cut light off ( how convient for them) The second time my service was interrupted, I had a death in the family and was off paying a payment plan that was set up because the first check that was sent to them was lost, but after making the payment i found out they did receive the payment just posted it to a wrong acct. I hope that they resolve all their issues and i hope that i can get my over payment back. i don't need them to just credit my account. Alod they are making me research the history although i have did my part. Cirro I REALLY HATE YOUR SERVICE...PLEASE LET ME OUT!!!!

kEISHA
May 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NO TO CIRRO

(1 / 5)

  I recently switched to a new carrier. As soon as I made the switch, I received the highest electric bill I have ever been billed for. Coincidence? They are a horrible company to deal with. I will pay a higher price with someone else an avoid Cirro at all costs.

Robert
February 8th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor business practices -- sends all exiting customers to collections

(1 / 5)

  I have just experienced the worst experience with a business in my lifetime with Cirro energy.

Their standard business practice is to not send final bills to exiting customers. Your only notice of an outstanding balance will be an unpleasant contact from ProCollect, the collections agency which serves as Cirro's accomplice in ruining your credit.

Avoid this energy company at all costs.

David B
January 25th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst customer service - USELESS

(1 / 5)

  Customer service rude and not helpful or forthcoming even when you are clear about what you need and wanting to know what the next step is. Was told to call Oncor myself. Oncor tells me what the next step is and that CIrro has to send the reconnect order. I call Cirro back to verify that my reconnect order was sent since 1st customer service rep did not mention it. Second customer service rep verifies that the reconnect order is automatic and was sent. Smart meters don't take long once Oncor gets the order. He basically told me what the 1st rep should have said and what the Onocr rep actually did say. Cirro rep even puts an expedite on it for an additional fee, of course. I wait 2 1/2 hrs call Oncor to verify if they have received the order yet from Cirro. No nothing. So much for expedite! Oncor says I should call Cirro back and stay on them. I call Cirro back. Bounce through the IVR. Every "rep" I speak to has limited to no access to my information and doesn't know why the order has not gone over to Oncor yet. The advertised "24 hrs" Customer Service center closes at 8PM. "You can call back in the morning 730AM. I'm just the payment processing center and can't help you. Sorry I have seen this happen before where the customer has a current a account and yet no services for days." UNACCEPTABLE Cirro! I will be taking my business elsewhere. DO NOT USE Cirro as a service provider! Poor service, incompetence, the run around and lies is what you'll get. Their own payment processing people even admit to Cirro's failings and incompetence when it comes to customer service. Piss Poor!

Joyce
October 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

(1 / 5)

  After specifically asking Cirro to start my service on a certain date, they started it the FOLLOWING DAY!
This caused my old provider to charge me a $200 "early termination" fee. Needless to say, I canceled the Cirro agreement.

Cirro's customer service really sucks.

poppapug
September 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Stinks!

(1 / 5)

  The worst service ever! We started getting weird bills that didn't make sense. We paid all our bills on time, even when we got a bill that said they owed us money! We knew better and since we were using balanced billing we sent our payment in just the same. Then we got a disconnect letter, even though we were paid in full. That was the last straw, we dropped them! Stay away from these guys, they don't know their heads from their bottoms.

Henry Chavez
August 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Very bad customer service. I had cirro at my old address and transferred them to my new one. They never sent me a reconnection fee notice and they sent a disconnection notice 2 days before they want to disconnect. They have horrible customer service and have BAD record keeping! I'm definitely switching!!!!

Lance
August 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible Service

(1 / 5)

  upon signing with cirro I was told there was not a TDU delivery charge, just their rate per KWH. Then upon receiving my first bill they put the TDU charge double the amount of the electric charge. When I asked for them to pull up the recorded conversation. I was told they wont pull those up unless legal action is taken.
and if I break contract I will have to pay each months remaining delivery charges......Do not use cirro......

S.T
July 13th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service

(1 / 5)

  I switched from this company and they promptly sent my account to Collections without making any attempt to reach me. Even their C/S agreed they lack business best practices
Please avoid this company

Ted Olaye
June 22nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run as fast as you can to get away from these crooks!

(1 / 5)

  I was switched from Kinetic to Cirro and was told in writing that I had to do nothing and my contract would remain in place. I just happened to logon yesterday to change my form of payment and it said my contract had expired even though I just renewed with Kinetic in January (also have a 12 month contract in writing from Kinetic). Cirro put me on month to month with no notice, so my bill is now much higher AND they did not continue average billing as I had with Kinetic. When I called, I got nowhere as the rude C/S person Jessica basically said it was Kinetics fault and there was nothing she could do. Asked for a Supervisor and of course, there was nobody available. I have filed a complaint with the BBB, but I am sure that will go nowhere. They are crooks...stay away!

K.Wilkinson
June 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(0.9 / 5)

  Never had an issues with Cirro energy until they decided to charge us several days early on a bill without sending us a statement first. After several overdraft fees and horrible customer service incidents we're fed up. Never have we gotten a reasonable reason as to why and we cannot get a supervisor to call us back despite having asked for one three times(their supervisors wont take a call at the call center they have to call you back at a later date). At this point its in mediation with the BBB which they are a member of. Hopefully that will get some action but were not crossing our fingers. Could be a decent company but their customer service is consistently terrible. Id rather switch than deal with another day of this.

Rob
January 31st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Seriously?

(1.5 / 5)

  They bought a good company we never had trouble with and we have had nothing but complaints about Cirro. Bad customer management and no customer service.

Dan
October 31st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lazy, RUDE... you get what you pay for.

(1 / 5)

  The price is GREAT! However, costomer service needs an attitude adjustment. I transfered my service to a new address and shortly after called to switch credit cards on my auto draft account. 2 months after the card switch I recieved disconnection letters because the account is being charged to the canceled card. When I called to figure it out I was transfered to what seemed like a superviser. She was short and snobby in her explaination of what happened and when asked, for the third time, why my credit card had'nt been switched like I'd requested, her answer was "Look its not writen in here that you switched it." My response was "then how could I have been charged the final amount on my previous address if the card wasnt switched?" She had no answer and told me I had until the 2nd to pay the balance. And then "Have a nice day" Click NEVER ONCE did I get an apology. If the people answering phones represent your company then my opinion of your company is RUDE, quetto and uneducated.

Pissed Off
August 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BILLED after account closed!!!

(0.9 / 5)

  unbelievable - after my good supplier sold to Cirro. Switched and paid Cirro, over paid even. SO CIRRO sent me a bill after couple of months saying late payment and that I owed them six cents...... What they got paid on time, over paid by 1.07$ and now this
I switched to Reliant as they have their billing act together

Bob
August 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointed

(1.4 / 5)

  I had Simple Power for the last two years and was completely satisfied with
their service. Since Simple Power was purchased by Cirro my bill has jumped
from 100 dollars to 250- 300 dollars!! The first month of service with Cirro I
received three different bills each statement increasing in price. After calling to
try to find out the reason for the increase I hung up still clueless in what was
going on. I am switching as soon as my contract is over. I DON'T recommend
them to anyone.

Anoynomous
July 24th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Bill Problems

(1.4 / 5)

  Watch out here. Was with Simple power Great Company but guess they had problems. Anyway I have received 3 bills in June. One with $0.00 balance. 2nd with $5.00 balance and the 3rd with a $140.00 balance. On the last bill it said the 5.00 bill was already past due. But, the bill due date is the 27th its only the 22nd. Call them and yes they already received my 5.00 payment but why does it say its past due and you have added it to my new bill.CSR did not know why and would take this to a supervisor. This sounds like I'm going to have a Billing Nightmare if I stay. I will be switching, hope I can find another Simple Power. Also, they don't except electronic fund tranfer from your bank so be prepared to mail paper checks again or pay them over there website.

Jack
June 22nd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They have gone bad.

(1.2 / 5)

  The first two years they were great, but the last few months they have stopped sending the bills out. We just get termination notices with no warning. We expedited a payment from our bank and they claimed they never recieved it even when the bank says they did. Naturally they then charge us extra. Stay away, they are becoming scam artist.

Stay away!
June 11th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Simple Power To Cirro

(1.6 / 5)

  I had been with Simple Power for two years, Wonderful company, low rates, a simple billing and automatic credit card payment system, an understandable bill with everything bundled in to one total.

Every month my bill consisted of Kwh used times rate(.091) equalling amount owed plus taxes of $1.50 to $2.00 or so.

Then I get a letter saying Cirro has bought the company. Went to the web to check out their Terms of Service and Electricity Facts Label. Incomprehensible. Phoned them and after half an hour was little the wiser.

I THINK that if I stay with them after my Simple Power contract expires I'll get a rate of .0856 per Kwh and a bill like this:

Usage + $5.25 Base Charge + TDU pass thru or whatever of $5.87 + Taxes.

I checked how this would compare to an old Simple Power bill using 475 Kwh.

Simple Power $45.09
Cirro $53.17

PS: I also checked out TXU, Reliant and about 10 other providers. Even more incomprehensible than Cirro. TXU and Reliant terrible.

DickW
May 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up for CIRRO service and found the billing to poor at best - sometime receiving as many as 9 bills in a single month. The gotcha is cancelling the service as they charged me $597.00 to cancel the service of which I refused to pay. They have sent my failure to pay this fee to a collection company where they lie that you didn't pay your bill. they never say it was excessive fees. Avoid this company at all cost

james cobon
February 14th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Questionable Contract Renewal Rate Quotes

(1.8 / 5)

  Switched to Cirro a year ago for a better rate, .135 to .10. Got a letter informing my contract was about to expire and they were offering a new special offer rate of .091 which was slightly higher than their .089 EFL rate on the internet. So I called to see what they were offering. After discussion with Service Rep. he quoted a rate of .083 which I accepted in a heart beat. A few days later I received my new contract with the EFL indicating my new rate at 1000kWh usage at .089. After doing some math, I determined that the $5.85 TDU Pass-through Customer Meter Charge was not included in the .083 quote. Even the .083 quote is incorrect, when you factor out the TDU Pass-Through charge the rate is .0836. I talked to customer service and a supervisor who stated she would listen to the recorded acceptance called and call me back. Did not happen, so I canceled the contract with in the 3 day grace period and had it documented by e-mail to cover any question as to my rejection date.

Bob
December 16th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible billing and Customer service

(1.1 / 5)

  I would not recommend Cirro Energy. Although their rates are seemingly low, (I was never sure why we did not get the promotional rate on all our bills), their billing procedures and customer service are really poor. I have had to call them almost every month to correct errors. They say they are corrected but they reappear the next month. I got different answers from different CSRs; they don't seem to know their facts very well, and are not well trained. For some of them English is obviously not their first language. I finally had to get with a supervisor to try to get it all fixed, which took about three weeks. She never did call me back, I had to call her again, and my latest bill was still wrong! I am not calling them this time, I'll just pay the incorrect bill and I will switch providers when my contract expires. My advice is to avoid Cirro and go with another provider, even if their rate is a little higher.

Edward Bellion
November 30th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Did not like at all!!

(1.1 / 5)

  they never mentioned a electricity delivery charg. ei... 76.00 of electricity comes with a 36.00 delivery charge. I also recd my bill late every month. avoid.

Tyler garrick
June 21st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cirro Energy provides really poor customer service

(1.6 / 5)

  Cirro Energy provides really poor customer service. I thought TXU was the worst, but I was wrong. At least TXU knows how to bill you properly. Even though I have had autopay activated with Cirro for over 15 months, they still for some reason bill me late charges routinely? and send me 7 day disconnect warnigns for non-payment about every 3 months? WTF? Stay away from Cirro.

An Experienced Cirro customer
May 2nd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip-Off

(1 / 5)

  This particular electric companies rates, have increased in the last 4 mos without explanation. When you call to ask the Customer service reps what is going on they just tell you "your kilowatt usage has increased. It's a horrible company.

Ms. Stanley
April 12th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not so fixed rates

(1.2 / 5)

  the "lock rate" fixed rate plan is actually a variable rate based on TDSP
rate. SOOOO...you can not say you got a fixed rate. other than that...bills
always showed up on time! Can't see that they have any other function.

j
January 31st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions