Ambit Energy Logo
DC PSC# :


Horrible company with no loyalty

(1 / 5)

  I was with ambit over 7 years and just couldnt take anymore. Then give cut off notice the day after its due and even tho u may pay it the very next day because their computer automatically sends disconnect out u still have a 10$ late fee. Theres no incintives anymore didnt even get to use the points that kept me there so long plus the base charges and rates keep going up. Another scam they have is when u pay the bill they charge you right then 2.50 to pay with a card debit credit etc. for electronic processing fee they say then they re charge u on your bill I get miscellaneous for the same $2.50 electronic processing fee. Cant wait until that is on the class action and will be getting so much money reimbursed. Their no hidden taxes and fees is a joke their taxes and fees is what gets it sky high. Now their customer service..: uniformed..: thank goodness I finally left and even tho my contract was up I just got a bill for 201$ for 5 days it said . Negative 1 should have been an option with them and to think I use to pay them to be a representative independent consultant for them. What a joke

Asia McGee
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

B.S Prices/Fees

(1 / 5)

  I have been an Ambit customer since 2012. THEY HAVE PROGRESSIVELY RAN UP THE CHARGES ON MY MONTHLY BILL!! I have a ONE BEDROOM 800 something sqaure foot apartment!! THERE IS NO WAY MY LIGHTBILL SHOULD BE $219.00!! The only person here during the day IS MY DOG!! So how TF my bill progressively goes from low hundreds to TWO HUNDRED DOLLARS IN A SPAN OF TWO MONTHS!!!?!?!?! I cannot wait until my contract term is up! I WILL DEFINITELY BE CANCELING THIS SH**** A** SERVICE!! And would have already done so if i wasnt in the process of buying a home and cant have anything put on my credit!! THIS COMPANY IS THE WORST I HAVE USED!!

B. Barriere
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ambit Energy is the Worst Company EVER!!

(1.2 / 5)

  Three customer representatives kept me on long holds because they did not want to discuss my request for a refund. One customer representative refused to transfer me. Their fees are exuberant and their customer service is beyond poor.

Jon
August 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(2.2 / 5)

  Been with ambit for over 5 years, i always pay my bill on time, today is 7/31/2019 and my bill is due on 8/16/2019, i made a payment today and forgot to adjust the payment date to 8/16/2019 so i went to their website and chatted with andrea,i asked to push my payment to the correct date,she refused,said i could call my bank and stop the payment but there will be a 25.00 returned fee charged,told her you haven't received the monies as yet,no dice,refuced to help so the impression ambit left on me is that they are hungry for your money and not flexible, but i have the power to choose and as soon as this contract is over i am switching.
Goodbye ambit you have lost 1 reliable customer for your stupid inflexibility.

A mohamed
July 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A Conversation

(1.8 / 5)

  You are losing a customer today - because of your unwillingness to work with a person through a difficult situation - the only way through this will cost me money - I have worked for companies such as this and know the work around. It is sad that all you seem to care about is money and not the humans that make up your customer base. I will be posting this in as many places as I can find.

-------------------------------------

7/25/2019 9:17:53 a.m.
Welcome to Ambit Chat. Ambit Energy will never ask you to disclose personal details or non-Ambit account numbers through live chat. Please do not share personal account numbers, including credit card and social security, through live chat.

9:17:53 a.m.
Interaction transferred to Chat_TX_EN.

9:17:53 a.m.
Interaction alerting Glen.

9:17:53 a.m.
Glen has joined the conversation.

Glen
9:18:05 a.m.
Hi! This is Glen. Thank you for contacting us through Ambit Chat. How can I help you?


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:19:23 a.m.
Hi Glen - I'm am Rebecca Gates - I set up a payment arrangement yesterday - went online to make my 'initial' payment of $100.00. selected the 'other amount' option - and to my amazing surprise - after I selected 'submit payment' button - the full amount was taken

9:19:49 a.m.
I called in immediately and told my tale to the customer rep

9:20:23 a.m.
was sent to the escalation dept after my request - and was told flat out that there is nothing Ambit could do because it was a 'past due' amount

9:20:27 a.m.
and I did it online...

9:21:59 a.m.
so I am pleading here trying to figure out - because now my bank account is over drawn - even though I set up a deferred payment plan with Ambit and something glitched - I am now faced with the payment getting returned, a nsf fee from my bank plus whatever returned payment fee Ambit will tack on because you can

9:23:03 a.m.
so I'm asking one more time - is there ANYTHING that Ambit can do to fix this situation?? All I wanted when I called in yesterday was for the amount of the 'overpayment' of $257.22 be refunded so I wouldn't be in this situation.

Glen
9:23:39 a.m.
Thanks for verifying your name.


9:23:47 a.m.
I understand how difficult this may be for you.


9:24:29 a.m.
If you want to cancel a transaction with check you need to contact your bank. However Ambit will apply a $25.00 rejected payment fee.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:25:09 a.m.
How is this fair??

9:25:21 a.m.
I will still have to pay a cancellation fee with my bank as well

9:25:53 a.m.
I loose money to this idiotic situation because no one on Ambit's side of things is willing to help or fix the situation

9:26:11 a.m.
seriously - do you see how messed up this is???

Glen
9:28:00 a.m.
I understand your concern Ma'am. Unfortunately those are the policies.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:29:48 a.m.
there is absolutely nothing Ambit can do to help out in this situation??? AT ALL??

9:30:02 a.m.
Except recommend I cancel this payment and incur more fees

Glen
9:30:40 a.m.
Yes Ma'am. Because we can not cancel the payment.


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:31:24 a.m.
fantastic Glen - 5 stars for not being a real human and trying to work with a customer.

9:31:54 a.m.
there's obvious nothing else that I can do except sit here and wait for my lights to get shut off

9:32:14 a.m.
have a fantastic day Glen...know you and this company have ruined mine

Glen
9:32:48 a.m.
In addition to help you checking your account status, is there anything else I can assist you with?


A5667*** | Rebecca Gates | (214) 779-****
9:33:00 a.m.
no

Glen
9:33:06 a.m.
Thank you for using Ambit Chat and have a wonderful day!


9:33:08 a.m.
Agent has left the conversation

9:33:08 a.m.
You have been disconnected from the chat

Becca
July 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse energy company Ive ever in my entire life had.

(1 / 5)

  I absolutely hate this company. If I didnt HAVE ago use it because its the only company my Apts provide I definitely WOULDNT. They have the worse customer service!!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE! They shouldnt even be in business! HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE!

HateThisCompang!
July 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

do not get energy with them ambit energy

(1 / 5)

  i have been on 1 year contract with them and bill is at almost 300 when i dont use energy til after 6pm to 11 tells me the times we waste more energy are from 5 am to 12 pm no one is home at that time and everything is off and from 9 pm to 5 am everyone is asleep jus use one night light for my kids room and for them thats when i mostly use energy really?? i asked if they could come check there meter because i feel im being over charged and they wanted to charge me 30$ for coming to check something that its theirs why would i wanna pay more money after i have 300 light bills for a 1400 sqft home with no one during the day 4 people living here

Ambit energy
March 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheaper than competitors and $0.00 cancellation fee since I'm in Illinois

(5 / 5)

  After comparing different companies, I decided to go with Ambit. Not only because they had the best rates, but they didn't charge a service fee (like Spark) or a $50.00 cancellation fee like Constellation. Hands down, they are the best.

What I found odd was, that many companies (including electricityrate. com, and ilenergratings. com), claim they provide us with the cheapest rates, but neither of these companies provided me with Ambit's rates. Why, when Ambit is cheaper than all the other companies they listed??? I have yet to get a response from either company on why they are misleading customers by being deceitful.

Tired of all the games
February 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Who wrote most of these reviews???

(5 / 5)

  I am a Ambit customer in Illinois. I seen some of the reviews and wonder where in the world did this happen??? There is no contact, no fees, and you can opt out any time you feel you are not being treated right. I know Big Oil companies hire people to write bad and false reviews then tell you a "better" company to turn to. I am very happy saving 15 to 30% on my bill. Savings depends on time of year.

Lee
February 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

exelet...................

(5 / 5)

  Fantastic Eletric Company.....................

Andres
January 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

MISLEADING

(2.4 / 5)

  i HAVE BEEN AN AMBIT ENERGY CUSTOMER FOR YEARS AND FOR THE MOST PART THEY DO TRY TO WORK WITH YOU ( OF COURSE AT A PRICE) . RECENTLY THEY CAME UP WITH A NEW PLAN FOR FREE NIGHTS AND SOLAR DAYS. THEY ADVERTISE AN AVERAGE OF 12 CENTS PER KWH WHEN IN TRUTH IT IS 16 CENTS AND THERE IS STILL THAT PESKY ONCOR CHARGE WHICH GETS BIGGER THE MORE YOU USE ELECTRICITY. I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND WHY THEY ARE SO DECEPTIVE WITH THEIR PRICING AND HARD TO READ GRAPHS OF ENERGY USAGE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE A PLAN LIKE THAT IT SHOULD BE EASY TO READ TO COMPARE SAVINGS SO YOU CAN CHOOSE HONESTLY AND WISELY. ONCE THEY HOOK YOU THOUGH YOU ARE RAKED OVER THE COALS AND CAN NOT OPT OUT WITHOUT A HUGE PENALTY SO I ADVISE ANYONE LOOKING TO CONSIDER EVERY OPTION INCLUDING THE PROVIDER.

ROY
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched because of fees

(1.8 / 5)

  I moved apartments and set up with ambit at my new apartment. I was told my recurring payments were going to continue but they didnt and after no bill pay they shut my power off. Not a big deal, but when I went to have it turned back on they charge: $40 reconnect fee, $20 disconnect fee, and made me add a $125 deposit. I explained the situation and that I had never missed a payment and it was a mistake but that meant nothing and they still demanded payment of all. I threatened to switch service and they just warned there would be $199 early termination fee to which I agreed and paid because I refuse to give a company like that my business. Highly recommend green mountain.

Tanner
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Late fees and delivery charges

(2.6 / 5)

  I do not appreciate getting a late fee for being less than 24 hours late on paying bill. $10.00 is robbery when you are paying basically on time. I also have noticed lately that whatever my light usage is I am paying half that amount in delivery charges... so for a $60.00 usage add $27.00 in delivery fee then and taxes....it is ridiculous....

Rosemarie S.
October 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I thought I was making a smart decision...

(1.6 / 5)

  When I switched to ambit I thought I was making a smart decision. I was with TXU for years prior and was convinced of Ambit's cheaper rates. Upon doing my research, Ambit wasn't cheaper than TXU, but I decided to go with the free nights plan. It turned out to be a horrible mistake. My bill ended up being much higher than TXU. Calling customer service isn't easy, it takes at least an hour to get to somebody. And my password never worked, no matter how many times I changed it.

Sonya
October 23rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Contact?

(1.8 / 5)

  Tried for two days to contact Ambit about renewing my service. Chat room and scheduled call back just plain don't work.

Connecticut User
October 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They say they offer A/C heat sheild coverage but I havent gotten it after 4 mos or more

(1.6 / 5)

  They need to get rid of this coverage and stop advertising for this because they cant enroll you. CS has no answers. This is bad CS

Nikki Wallace
July 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont get fooled by initial offer and huge hidden charges are there

(1.4 / 5)

  Dont get fooled by low electricity bill. They have something called avg usage bill from previous year and that make you feel you are getting less electricity bill but at the end of the service they will send you huge adjustment bill. They keep you in dark about this until you disconnect the service. So unfair and wrong business practice. I would not recommend Ambit Energy to anyone.

Pandurang Yachwad
June 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What they do is legal...but it is deceptive...

(1.6 / 5)

  Ambit requires 1 year contracts, at least they did for residents of my community. I pay my bills online, but Ambit's website is down regularly after 10pm or so....maybe earlier, but that is when I finish my day and sit down and work on bills and stuff. This led to late payments, waiting for the next time the site was up. So I set up auto pay, but then my bill goes up. And then a payment fails, but I am not notified until my service is cut. Sometimes I work from home, so this is not acceptable. I am planning to move, but now that they have required a deposit, and for me to re-start a 1 year contact because of the shut off, I will lose the deposit when I move. All of this is legal. You can get bills and notices mailed, but they won't get to you in time, so paying online is still better. But keep an eye on the rate and rate changes and don't set up autopay. Better yet...don't waste your time and money on this outfit. Look at their reviews. They are profitable because of with held deposits, fees, and energy rates that change or are to their best interest, not yours.

BlueCat
June 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just dont. STAY AWAY! Two bedroom apartment, $500 a month

(1.2 / 5)

  I was on a month to month plan with them. Paid more than $800 for two months, for the months of December and January. Switched to a contract with another company, less than $30 a month. Their excuse? Prices fluctuate!

Dont ambit
June 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor service

(1 / 5)

  I was with Ambit for over 5 years and never was I ever late. Paid my bill online and one day loan behold my electricity was shut off. No notice whatsoever, said I failed to pay the current bill. No curtsy call checking to see what might have happened. It cost me 125.00 deposit plus like a $140. to get it turned back on. No grace what so ever. My contact expires his month and will not be renewing it. They better return my deposit. This is how they make interest money on your deposit.

Beverly Hagen
June 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions